We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice! Can't believe it was a motel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sunset Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky Mount, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice! Can't believe it was a motel!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Travel Background: over 100 nights in hotels a year, domestic and international.
We stayed here 2 nights, 11 people, 3 rooms. Everything was great, location was awesome. I wish it were closer to Yellowstone (1:45 to Old Faithfull), we would have cancelled eslewhere and stayed the whole vacation here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    303
    131
    57
    21
See reviews for
294
343
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

My room was closer to the street than I usually prefer, but it was nice and quiet anyway. On a cross-country road trip, I got tired of lugging my stuff up and down stairs. This place is all ground-level and my car was 5 feet from the door. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the Internet worked well.

My only complaint is there isn't enough room to eat the included continental breakfast in the morning. Too bad the owners don't put some tables outside for the over flow.

I really liked Cody. Had a great meal at the Irma and a lot of fun at the rodeo, which operates every night at 8 PM from June - Aug. And the Buffalo Bill Museum was fantastic. Next time I am in the region, I'll try to stop in Cody.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuzzingAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Nice hotel. Clean, beds fairly comfortable. Liked to be able to drive right up to my room to unpack the car. Another thing that was real nice was a front and back window in the room to let the nice fresh air in. Breakfast room too crowded to eat in so grabbed yogurt and went back to the room. My daughter was upset they didin't have the waffle maker like some of the other hotels and I must admit so was I.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Diane319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Best Western in Cody from the outside looks like the old hotels built in the 50's. One floor attached units. But it was modern, clean, & quiet. We asked to see the room first & were told we would be pleasantly surprised and we were. Nice two day stay in a very clean motel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkeller35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We really wanted to like this cute little motor inn, but we had the worst sleep of our lives in this room.
We got in fairly late, after an extremely trying day and a really long drive (caught in a >1 hr buffalo jam on our way out of Yellowstone Park) and heard staff say the motel was totally full. Had booked a non-refundable internet rate of $127.50, which seemed very decent.

The room had a strong odor of air freshener / baby powder when we first went in. As the night went on, we smelled the terrible smell this was intended to cover up - it smelled like urine &/or feces. The combination of the smells had us sleeping fitfully all night - we had the windows wide open and the air conditioner on, but it didn't make much difference. We were so exhausted from the drive that we couldn't face moving to another hotel / dealing with the staff, and from what we'd heard, there were no rooms for us to be moved to.

I reported it to the front desk staffer when we left - emphasizing that I was not trying to get any $ out of it, but it really needs to be taken care of (and it does annoy us that there was that air freshener smell - obviously they know there is a problem). I suspect the carpet &/or the wing chair need to be replaced (we were sniffing around the room, trying to find where the smell was coming from). It is a shame that someone (or their dog) did this to the room.

If they try to put you in room 140, tell them you need to go check it first, or insist on another one. If that baby powder smell is really strong, they likely haven't fixed the undercurrent (which took us a bit of time to discover, as the air freshener is so strong).

Otherwise we would have loved this motel - wireless worked well, there was a fan in the bathroom, the paper goods were soft, they had enough condiments for the in-room coffee, and the property was just nice overall, in a lovely old-fashioned way (one weird thing is the shower, which is tiny, but kind of has a mini tub at the bottom). The room we got totally ruined it for us, unfortunately - and it made us a bit gun-shy of Best Westerns for the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eey777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSunset, General Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
First off, thank you for making us aware of the problem with this room. Shortly after your stay I had my houskeeping staff looking into the situation of room 140. We were able to correct the problem and the room is now rentable again. I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory and hope that if you are every back Cody, you will let us provide you with another chance to give you the exceptional service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
1,127 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The motel is really extremely well done. Initially driving up to our room the outside appears as a motor lodge but inside everything has been updated in with great taste The decor and furnishings are a very good quality and the result is a great motel experience. The grounds are very clean and the lobby area is very well done. Additionally they have a very good continental breakfast. While only staying one night we really appreciated the quality of the room and all the amenities. Very impressive and very comfy, cozy and clean!

Room Tip: We like our room at the end for privacy and convenient to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We decided to spend the night in Cody while visiting Yellowstone. We choose this hotel based on availability. We were pleasantly surprised how nice it was. Old style outdoor hotel with drive right to your front door. Quiet even with the hotel being full that night.
Close to everything enjoy the cowboy show and rodeo that night just 5 min drive from the hotel.
Great service at this Best Western.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiLiBellevueWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,003 reviews
1.1 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
0.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Cody - Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunset Inn

Property: Best Western Sunset Inn
Address: 1601 8th St, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Motor Hotel Cody
Best Western Sunset Hotel
Best Western Cody
Cody Best Western
Best Western Sunset Inn Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing