We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This motor inn deserves better reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Sunset Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Can't understand why so many folk were unhappy with this place. It was a little expensive but was well appointed and very clean. We had a room well away from the road so was very quiet. The breakfast was ample and the Internet worked well - not always the case. We found the staff helpful and pleasant and pleased to be thanked.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Balmillig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Rooms are sprayed with some kind of perfume or carpet fresh, such that if you have an allergy you may have a respiratory problem. We supposedly had an "upgrade" but it AC was noisy and recycled the perfume, the room has a patio which opens to patios of other neighbors, they were Smoking so much and talking so loud that you could hear them and even smell the cigarette smoke with the door closed. There was fast food trash someone had thrown in the parking space in front of the hotel that was not picked up . Did not realize there were better places to stay until we drove around Cody. This place, though older and somewhat refurbished has potential, with a little attention to detail it could be more appealing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConsultantCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Relaxing after our Yellowstone experience. Clean and very large room I especially liked the patio in the back of the room with access through our room. Close to down town. Didn't realize there would be so much to see in Cody and staying close by to everything was handy. Nice pool and whirl pool.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Nice location. Room was nice size and clean. AC was very loud. Good value for a 1950s style motel. Not exactly what I am used to or expected. Not everyone will be as concerned with the style or appearance, but it was still a good place to stay in Cody.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chief1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at this Best Western. Our room was very nice and spacious. They had an excellent breakfast each morning -- something for the person with a big appetite, and something for the person who wanted a lighter meal. The hotel is walking distance to the Buffalo Bill Museum. The pool is nice, and the complex also has a laundry area which was very helpful. I would certainly stay at this Best Western again.

Room Tip: Our room had 2 beds (queens) and it was quite large. My sister and her husband stayed in a king room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Best Western Sunset is a very average hotel. It is well kept, but needs updating. It is definitely the "old style" motel where the rooms open directly to the outside. Since Cody is a "destination point" for the motorcycle crowd, don't plan to sleep late as they crank-up their engines early and it comes straight through the walls! The breakfast room is quite small and very crowed. On the positive side, it is very close to the Cody Museum and within walking distance of downtown. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This Best Western located in Cody, Wyoming worked perfectfly for my brother and me as each of us like to have our own rooms. The desk clerk suggested a "suite" which had two of each for bedrooms, bathrooms and other amenities. This allowed us to stay together. An unusual setup. This is a huge complex and grounds, and, despite being an older motel factility, it is extremely well taken care of with all the modern touches and decor. The adjacent Sunset Restaurant was very good as well and we were able to get 25% off a prepared breakfast in lieu of the standard lobby breakfast. A very nice experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.6 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#4 of 29 in Cody
1,070 reviews
1.1 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Buffalo Bill Village Resort
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunset Inn

Address: 1601 8th St, Cody, WY 82414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range: £93 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Motor Hotel Cody
Best Western Sunset Hotel
Best Western Cody
Cody Best Western
Best Western Sunset Inn Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing