We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor lighting” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Sunset Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Western Sunset Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Poor lighting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel don't maintain their lighting in the guest room. I called once I arrived the room. There was nothing done before I leave. The room smell no good. The light in room is very dark and without proper maintain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank chihsuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We receive great reviews on how bright our rooms are as we have windows on both ends of the rooms. Please be sure to let us know if you have any problems with your room the next time that you stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    288
    126
    55
    20
See reviews for
279
323
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davison, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very clean,comfy and modern. The staff is very professional and friendly. The beds are great. The breakfast was very good too.Omlets,fruit,etc..Our teenagers used both pools( indoor/outdoor). The really enjoyed that. My husband used the work out room as he is a gym person, he loved that. I loved it because it was everything I hoped to be. Cody is a great place too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we were everything that you had hoped for. It is great that there was something for everyone in your family. Our pools are always a favoirite among guests. The maintenance staff cleans them daily so they sparkle. We are glad your teenagers were able to take advantage of them. The fitness center is always a great feature for our guests hat enjoy working out. We are happy that your husband like it. Cody is a wonderful place and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had been on the road for nearly two weeks and we were hitting every confirmed hotel reservation with ony two to go, until we got to Cody...I jinxed myself! I had made a reservation at the BW Ivy Inn (a few blocks up the road) for 7/18 or so I had thought. It's a beautiful newer multi story hotel on the main drag. It was a long drive that day and we were happy to pull into the hotel to check in. It all went down the drain when to my horror, the gentleman at the desk said that we missed our reservation that was for 7/17!!!! and that they were sold out for the night. Panic set in knowing 1) this is the East entrance to Yellowtone and that we might not be able to find a room and 2) we lost $233 for a missed stay :( The clerk was so nice and understanding and he offered to call their sister hotel right down the road the Sunset Motor Inn and held a king bed room with a rollway for us. He said we would have to talk to the manager about getting a refund for our missed stay. Fortunately, I had all of my paperwork and itenerary back from Feb 2014 when I booked. It was a total error on my part. We hustled over to the Sunset Motor Inn and asked for Karen, the manager. She was the best! She said the most she could do was comp us for that night's stay and we jumped on it.

Karen hooked us up with a 3 queen family suite that was beyond awesome! As road trippers, here's what we loved about this place..

- if your on the 1st floor you can park right in front of your room. Made for easy access to our truck for organizing, etc. There are only two stories so even if you're on the second floor, you still have very easy access to your vehicle.

- The room was perfect for us. Our 11 year old son was overjoyed to have his own queen bed instead of a sofa bed after a week and a half!

- Beds, sheets and and pillows (this is the biggest plus in our book) we're the MOST comfortable in all of the hotels we has stayed in so far, hands down. No, joke. And ther were plenty of pillows. I always have to call for more, but not this time.

- A/C worked like a charm in both rooms.

- Nice clean bathroom.

-AWESOME pool!!! There's also a small jungle gym/slide area for the kids by the pool in a park like setting.

-Road trippers!!! ALERT! The biggest and best guest laundry room I have ever encountered at any hotel. 6/7 washing machines and dryers. No need to camp out in the laundery room at this place. And at a great rate!

-Good FREE breakfast. The usual hotel fare. Bagles, eggs, sausage, muffins, yogurt, ceral, etc. I'll never complain about a free breakfast!

-Free wi-fi woked great.

This was one of the best night's sleep we had on our entire 2.5 week road trip. Thank you Karen and staff at Sunset Motor Inn!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellek745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Wow! Thank you for the amazing review of our motel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your long trip. While it is unfortunate to hear that you missed your original reservation at our other property by mistake, we are thrilled that we were able to book you into a large 3 queen family suite. We are happy that your 11 year old was able to enjoy a large queen bed to himself. This must have been a real treat after sleeping on a sofa bed. Your review hit all the favorites that we hear about from our guests. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to our entire staff. It is always nice to hear when a guest enjoys their stay and we are doing a good job. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This motel is older style where you park very close to your room. This motel supposedly had wifi but my wife and I never were to connect to the Internet. We did not have trouble with this elsewhere. The breakfast seating area is small for the number of rooms that they have. Ask if you can share a table.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanograham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your time in Cody. Our motel is the type where you park outside your rooms and many of our guests comment on how they like this convenience. We hope you did as well. Please be sure that if you ever have any trouble connecting to the Internet that you call the front desk. We are staffed 24 hours a day and would be happy to help you. We also have 24 hour IT tech support. Our breakfast area can become quite crowded in the morning. We are brainstorming ways in which we can expand this area to accommodate more guests at one time. We also do offer additional seating in our court yards. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delano, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The layout of the rooms has an old fashioned feel, but is quite convenient. Our room was clean, comfortable and attractive. Staff was unusually attentive, even calling about a half hour after check in to inquire about our comfort and to answer questions.
It seemed that most of the rooms were rented and the parking lot was quite full, but our room was quiet. We enjoyed the stainless steel spa and the outdoor pool looked welcoming.
The breakfast, while fairly typical of those included with a room seemed a cut above. Better quality than usual and circulating staff keeping the food stocked and the tables clean.
Especially appreciated the very close proximity to the museum

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Thank you for the very nice review of our motel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room. We have many extra amenities on our property and we are also happy that you were able to take advantage of them. Our maintenance staff work extremely hard to be sure that the pools and the hot tub are clean as you noticed. We do have a large deluxe continental breakfast and we are happy that you enjoyed it. Our breakfast attendant is a busy little bee in the morning making sure we keep all our items hot, fresh, and stocked for our guests. After all, breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we know that for sight seeing or traveling that a good breakfast is just what is needed. We hope you will come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

It's a nice place in a popular tourist town. Let's face it none of came here to sit in a hotel room. Rooms are clean and everything else was as advertised. We did not have the continental breakfast as it was day three of our vacation and we were looking for something more substantial.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve52246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your room. We hope that you were able to have breakfast at The Sunset House Restaurant and use the discount that is offered for breakfast to our guests. We understand that after a few mornings in hotels our guests may need as you said, "something more substantial", and so we offer 25% off for breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel was at an excellent location, great value and very comfortable! No smoking which is great and convenient with two pools. The internet is pretty fast and reliable, the grounds are well maintained we were very happy to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alejandro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWSunset, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Sunset Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
Thank you for staying with us at our motel. We are glad that you had a great stay. Our entire staff work very hard to be sure that our grounds are well maintained and our rooms clean and comfortable for all of our guests. We hope that you were able to use our pools while you were here with us. The location of our motel is perfect and we receive this compliment by our guests very frequently. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cody hotels
1.5 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.1 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
A Western Rose Motel
#11 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.0 mi away
Buffalo Bill Cabin Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Cody Legacy Inn
Cody Legacy Inn
#10 of 29 in Cody
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sunset Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sunset Inn

Property: Best Western Sunset Inn
Address: 1601 8th Street, Cody, WY 82414-4134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sunset Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Sunset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunset Motor Hotel Cody
Best Western Sunset Hotel
Best Western Cody
Cody Best Western
Best Western Sunset Inn Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing