We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Three of us stayed for 2 nights in the eagles nest at the end of June. Overall very nice experience. Just misses the 5 star mark for us the cabin was way smaller then we expected and with no porch to hang out on like the other cabins around us. The cabin was very clean. It consisted of 2 bedrooms with a bath in the middle. Queen size beds with a writing desk. We used the chair as a night stand. A small bedzide table would have been nice.
We ate at the resturant 3 times. It was the best food of our trip. We ate dinner twice. The dip sandwhich is wonderful. The best meal and bargin is breakfast. If you are a bacon fan be sure to score some at the lodge it is some of the best bacon around. My aunt is a vegatarin and a very picky one at that and our waitstaff went out of their way to have something made for her.The staff was friendly, very helpful and most important to me is you could tell they enjoyed working there. Nothing more of a downeron vacation then someone grumpy, bored and hates their job this is not the case at the lodge and happy people translate to happy camper.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristoIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    65
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
137
127
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay. The lodges were comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The horseback riding in the mountains was fantastic. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and the service terrific. The lodge is only a few miles from Yellowstone's East entrance. We found Shoshone Lodge and Guest Ranch to be a very peaceful and relaxing place away from the crowds in Yellowstone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch was highly recommended by Trip Advisor - and now I understand why! It was exactly what you would want from a Wyoming ranch! The cabins were small but very clean and comfortable. The lodge itself has a restaurant that served some of the best pie I've ever eaten. We greatly enjoyed the breakfast trail ride - beautiful ride and delicious breakfast. Thanks especially to Jo for a great stay!
(If you really miss tv, there is one available in the lodge - but we much preferred the campfire!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It was what exactly what we need after Cody, cabin/lodge wilderness environment with a very friendly and helpful staff. Good central location to explore east Yellowstone Park. We ate at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast, very good! This area is gorgeous, we stayed for 2 nights, regret that we couldn't stay longer! Satelite internet for 1 hour a day, good!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KrmiNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a large group, first large group ride of the season they told us. We paid for a two hour ride, but got so much more! We had two helpers, a young former solider and a young lady both of whom were wonderful! We were expecting a "nose to butt" ride, but got the true horse riding experience! The horses all had personality and beauty. We were amazed! The staff even allowed us to set up camp for a late lunch on the grounds! Grilling in the forest only added to our fabulous day. Thank you for making this the top trip activity of several of the kids and adults in our group!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HuskerAlum1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We took what was going to be a 2 hour horseback ride but it turned out to be much more. As horse owners we were overly impressed with the knowledge and friendliness of our wrangler David S. At the campfire Indiana Mike made a wonderful ribeye dinner. Bounty Hunter and Mrs. Jo joined us at dinner and they helped make this a most enjoyable experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan N Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

It was what exactly what we were looking for, cabin/lodge wilderness environment with a very friendly and helpful staff. Good central location to explore Shoshone National Forest, Yellowstone Park and Cody Wyoming. Lots of stuff do do in the vicinity. We only ate at the restaurant for dinner, very good - unbelievable prime rib! The area is gorgeous, took two horseback rides and the wranglers were great, highly recommended even for beginners. Three wranglers for the breakfast ride (large group of 10) and Dave for the afternoon ride (just my family) - really enjoyed them all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cody
23.3 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,043 reviews
42.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
42.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.1 mi away
The Cody Hotel
The Cody Hotel
#3 of 29 in Cody
1,024 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
4.8 mi away
Creekside Lodge at Yellowstone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch

Property: Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch
Address: 349 Yellowstone Hwy, Cody, WY 82414-7875
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Cody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch Hotel Cody
Shoshone Lodge And Guest Ranch
Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing