We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Home Away from Home!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cody
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Cody
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed in cabin #21 for 5 nights this last July. We came mainly to spend as much time as possible in Yellowstone National park. We wanted a quiet place to rest and sleep in the evenings, and our cabin provided us with a nice, quiet, relaxing atmosphere. The cabin was fully furnished and cleaned daily if you wanted. We had a kitchen if we wanted to cook, and if we did not want to cook, they had a restaurant at the main lodge. We ate at the restaurant several times. The food was delicious, just like home cooking. We also had a fireplace, a jet tub with a shower, and chairs and table on the front porch. You could take walks on the trails in the back hills and forest. You could also go horseback riding. Our son went on an over night trail ride and enjoyed it very much!!
Everyone was very nice, and we had a very nice, enjoyable, relaxing stay! Their prices are reasonable compared to the prices for the amenities inside Yellowstone Park.

Room Tip: All of the cabins looked like they would be comfortable to stay in. Just choose one large enough fo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AuntAnnieB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We loved our stay at the Shoshone Lodge and Guest Ranch. The people were wonderful, the cabins clean and comfortable, the food was excellent, and the location perfect. My wife and I planned to climb Avalanche Peak, so we wanted a place near the East Entrance to Yellowstone
National Park ( a side note- if you are a Senior you should purchase a lifetime Senior Pass).
The Lodge is 3 miles from the entrance. There is no reason to spend the high nightly rates to stay at a hotel within the park. Besides our climb- yes, we did it, although I couldn't walk for two days afterwards - we did a lot of driving through the park ( check your breaks first ! ). Thanks to Trip Advisor for helping us find a place we never would have found on our own.

Room Tip: They are all good
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PiccyKingwood_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Shoshone! What makes the Shoshone exceptional is the people who own the lodge and the people who work there. We felt like family! We traveled with another family and shared a cabin. We had plenty of room. The bathrooms had been recently updated and were lovely. The restaurant served delicious meals especially breakfast. We took one of the guided horseback rides. Our families were inexperienced riders, but Sarah and Brooklyn made us feel at home in the saddle in rugged terrain. The campfire meal of ribeye steak and sides were perfect. We liked the evening campfire and singing back at the lodge too. It has been a couple months since our vacation and our family still talks about the Shoshone Lodge and all the fun we had there often.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WoodFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed one night in one of the cabins. The cabin was very clean and comfortable and the staff were all very friendly and accomodating. The place would be great if you are looking to ride horses as this seems to be what they specialize in.
We ate dinner in the lodge, it was average fare reasonably priced. Wi-fi is very limited.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch on a vacation to Yellowstone National Park. As our goal was to spend as much time in Yellowstone as possible, the convenient location of Shoshone Lodge was a huge benefit. Just a few miles from the park's east entrance made our daily excursions much shorter (than the option of traveling in from Cody every day/night). The location is peaceful, the environment warm and inviting, and the staff amazing. Every detail was looked after. We booked a simple, non-kitchenette cabin and it was more than enough room for two. The fridge in the cabin was a definite plus. The cabin was in great condition, well-maintained and clean. There are multiple sizes/options for cabins to accommodate all sizes of groups. I personally loved the rocking chairs on the front porch/deck.

Every night there was a campfire and the lodge provided s'mores supplies. We met a very diverse group of friendly folks each time we hung out at the campfire. One night there was even local music being played on the Lodge's front porch.

The food was AMAZING. Seriously. The quality of meals for the price we paid was a tremendous value. And everything I ate was absolutely delicious. They provide lunch/dinner as options. We packed lunches daily so that worked out well for us, but in the event you want even more convenience, they will pack a picnic lunch for you. There was a nice selection of craft beers (if that's of interest to you) and we were able to order drinks and carry back to the cabin when we wanted.

NOTE: they REALLY know how to prepare a steak - we noticed one Saturday evening that the clientele was local as well as tourist. That says something about the food :)

They offer coin-op laundry which was helpful too.

I HIGHLY recommend this property. I plan to go back and stay as many times as I can. They made us feel like family. The property was first opened by 'Grandparents' and now the 'Grandkids' own and run it. They have kept the quality and experience the same and I look forward to their continued success. Stay here!!! So fun.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hoorayfarray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in cabin 21 for 4 nights and it was very nice. It had a full kitchen and we cooked our own meals for 3 days and on the last night we ate at the restaurant. It was prime rib night and it was excellent and my wife had the trout and she said it was great. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about Yellowstone. They gave us tips on where to go and what to see in the park. We would definitely stay with these folks again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Norm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed in cabin #20 and it was wonderful. Nice kitchen, small but nice living room, 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms. The staff was very nice, accommodating and helpful with any request we had. Very close to Yellowstone and about 40 miles from Cody. They have a firepit by the lodge and we were given supplies for smores, which we had several nights. We did the 2 hour horseback ride and it was beautiful. If we go to Yellowstone again in the future we would not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hockeymom46and4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cody
23.3 mi away
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabins
Lake Yellowstone Hotel and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,167 reviews
42.6 mi away
Best Western Sunset Inn
42.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pahaska Teepee Resort
6.3 mi away
Creekside Lodge at Yellowstone
11.3 mi away
The Historic UXU Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch

Address: 349 North Fork Hwy, Cody, WY 82414-7875
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Cody
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Cody
Price Range: £74 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch Hotel Cody
Shoshone Lodge And Guest Ranch
Shoshone Lodge & Guest Ranch Cody, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing