We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually pretty good, considering.”
Review of Elk View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elk View Inn
Reviewed 21 July 2012

There aren't many lodging options up in the Big Horns, so this place should be judged by the competition and in view of the remote location. We stayed here July 16, 2012, after leaving early from our reservation at nearby Bear Lodge in disgust (see my review of that property.) These two lodges - about a mile apart - are actually owned by the same people, but they are quite different. The most obvious difference is the staff - at Elk View the staff is attentive, polite, courteous and helpful. The entire facility is quite up-to-date and competitive with motels in more urban settings. The restaurant setting and menu is rewarding (even for vegetarians like us - we were very pleased with the chef's work). My only complaints are that they don't have a guest laundry, and no wifi in the rooms - it is only available in the restaurant. It costs a bit more than Bear Lodge, but it is worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jiminptc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is an amazing place! Nice people, nice up to date cabins. Comfortable beds.. This is a great spot for a couples getaway to spend timeint he Big Horns summer or winter.

Room Tip: Take a picnic lunch and head to the streams close by and do some site seeing, moose, deer and elk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellyneff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We somewhat liked the place but far from worth the price. I wouldn't even write this review but the receptionist, a girl named Franeine seemed a bit coocoo.for cocopops She kept calling my husband Joey and thinking he was hiding something from her. it freaked us out and my husband told her his name and did not understand what the heck she was talking about but she went on to say she will find it in the room!!!!!!! SHE HAS KEYS! We left rather quickly and she called me a (bad word i not allowed to say here) It was so unreal and crazy we couldnt help but laugh although we will never return or recommend the place. they should really screen people better and I understand crazies are people too I wouldn't let them talk to customers like that. I hope she finds what shes lookin for before she scares everyone off or gets punched in the nose for messin with someones man and callin women things she shouldnt ..lol

Room Tip: a room with a inside lock!! LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deedra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

$120/night is too much for what you get when staying here.
Jacuzzi is 6 person, stand-alone unit, with brown bubbles.
Pool waters soo cold the kids will not use it. The rooms were
clean and kind-of OK.

The bar/restaurant is in a different building than the hotel rooms.
Which is OK but is poor layout for a resort like this.

And, watch out, Wyoming allows smoking everywhere, even where you eat.
If you're not used to this you might be getting your food to go instead of
eating in the restaurant.

Service is pretty bad all around. We waited 20 minutes to be waited on for Breakfast.
Did the buffet instead of waiting longer.

Big Horns are great for Snowmobiling. The 3 lodges are all the same where it's better
than camping but not even 1 star for accomodations. It feels like a $35/night hotel. Sorry
to say....

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much the same. Nice rooms but Pool/Jacuzzi are bad. The vending machines for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We booked for one week, stayed for two, and we will be back. Fantastic ATV riding. We rode our ATVs 550 miles on roads and trails but left at least that much more we just didn't have time for. Any type trail, from easy to difficult, is available. NO TRAILERING. It can be legal to ride on the highway directly from the lodge to the trail heads (check state requirements). The lodge has ample parking for your ATV hauling equipment. State ORV permit available ($15.) at the lodge and the lodge provided free Forest Service maps and advise. I can only imagine how great the snowmobiling will be there this winter.

I can think of nothing negative regarding our stay at the Elk View Inn. Be aware that the closest point for cell phone service is about 20 miles away (not a bad thing). While we were there they were installing a replacement sattelite antenna so the internet was intermittent. The other two lodges nearby (same owners) provide a variety of dining options.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShotgunWillie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We made our reservations at Elk View Inn due to the accomodations that we available for our planned ATV adventure. The staff were wonderful especially "J" the property manager and our hotel staffperson J.T.

We will remember our time there which we extended by a week. The ATV trails are wonder

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank century060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Trash under the beds, urine down the sides of the toilet, soap scum in sink and on shower walls... We were told the place was brand new but it looked like years of abuse. The location is absolutely georgious! From the outside it looks very nice and well planned. The staff was not rude, but certainly not interested. If the other lodges in the area are full, I would plan to go somewhere else for vacation next time. Since it was "new" we thought it would be nicer. We cut our stay short to get out of the filth.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeLove2hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elk View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk View Inn

Address: 4622 W Hwy 14, Dayton, WY 82836
Region: United States > Wyoming > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Dayton
Price Range: £82 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Elk View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk View Inn Wyoming/Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing