We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Horn Vacation”
Review of Elk View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elk View Inn
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The new management at the Elk View Inn are doing an excellent job! Their hospitality was wonderful and their staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and the food was awesome! I would recommend this place to anyone, particularly families looking for a fun mountain top vacation!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your review and words.

We have great Chefs working here and yes the food is great. Don't know if you noticed the size of the portions but they are huge. We have begun telling people this when they order...we have used a lot of to go boxes.

We have good staff here that try very hard to make each guest experience a good one. From the manager to the dishwahers we are adapting a customer service/hospitality based approach in every situation we can.

Thanks again for kind words and come see us again.

Corey Hulse
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We met with approximately 60 family members from US and Canada for a two day reunion at Elk View Inn. We enjoyed it very much; the friendly staff, pleasant and clean rooms, outstanding scenery, and exceptional food service all combined to make it an unforgettable weekend.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your review. Your family was great and we also enjoyed your stay.

Getting to know so many people from all over the US and Canada is what makes this hospitality business so interesting and so much fun.

We do family reunions and weddings throughout the year and it is always special for us. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to support you and your family. Let's see you back when the 80 year old turns 90.

Corey Hulse
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a great experience at Elk View. Arrived late with no reservation and was told they were sold out. The front desk lady was very friendly and helpful. She worked with Cory (manager?) to check on a room that was possibly available and thank goodness we were able to check into it. Our hats go off to the two of them for fitting us in and being so pleasant. We will make a reservation next time :-)
The next morning the waitress was great and very friendly. Breakfast was great. We will stay & eat again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WY Traveler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you for your review.

I'm glad Dawnie and I were able to help you with a room. We always try to keep a few rooms available for walk ins. It is particulariy challenging during the peak times but in this case it worked out.

Our food is good and when we have it, (sometimes we have to wait on trucks to deliver it to our 8,300ft resort) it gives guests a wide variety of choices.

Come see us again soon.

Corey Hulse
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I am a travel agent and took a bus of 51 to spend the night at the Elk View Inn. I will have to say this was the best stay of the 14 day trip. When we arrived, the staff was waiting to grab our luggage and take it to the rooms. We had asked for a meal for our group. It was waiting for us and was the best meal of the whole trip. All of the staff was eager to wait on us and made sure our needs were met. We do this trip every other year. Elkview Inn will definitely be in our plans for 2015. We hope to be able to spend 2 nights there at this time
Mary McWhorter
G&M Tours

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryMcWhorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Mary,

Thanks for the review. Yours is the first overnight bus I got to deal with as the new manager and it was a pleasure. The bar is set high for all the others.

Your people were fun to deal with. I'm glad it all went well and it was a great stay for all of them. We look forward to 2015 and your next visit.

Corey Hulse
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My wife and I went to the Elk View Inn a couple weekends ago for a friends wedding. We stayed in one of their rooms which was nicely appointed and very clean. We also went down to the lounge for the wedding reception and found it to be very nice and the food to be excellent. The bed was comfortable that night and the next morning we went and had a tasty breakfast before leaving. Our overall experience here was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jared s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Good Morning and thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure working with and serving the family and guests for the wedding you mentioned. We have many weddings a year in the area. We do have great chefs here and it shows in their presentations and care they take in preparing the food. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and feel free to come stay with us again, even if it's not associated with a wedding.

Corey Hulse, Manager
307-461-4168

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We had a great experience at EVI, all the employees were so nice and friendly from George in the kitchen to Monica and Isaic in the lounge, and Manager Corey will do whatever he can to accomodate guests. The area has beautiful views of the Big Horn Mountains and the atmosphere in the lodge is very appealing, I would definately recommend EVI to any visitor to the area, our experience could not have been better, Thank you to all the great staff of EVI,
Sincerely
April Kringen
Arizona

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for your review. It was very nice and I have passed on the information to the people you mentioned. Here at EVI we try to be relaxed and comfortable right away with our visitors and guests. Many folks visiting are on vacation and not in a big hurry so we are able to talk with them while still serving their needs. You are not just a number to us. The mountains are a beautiful place to see. Renting an ATV from us allows you to see even more of this beautiful area up close and personal. After a year on the mountain I still am amazed at the views. Come see us again.

Corey Hulse, Manager
307-461-4168

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Had a great time at Elk View Inn. The rooms are lovely and spacious and the employees helpful and friendly. The chef was fantastic, everything we had was delicious, from the breakfast buffet to the vermicelli and incredible macaroni and cheese. The bar staff were great and fun to interact with. We'll definitely come again.
Thanks!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smilyncor, Manager at Elk View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review on our place. Our rooms are larger than most and whether it's the King bed room or the Queen pillow top rooms with two beds in them, there is still room to move around. For those who still need some entertainment while on vacation we have Direct TV in each of the rooms. Our staff, from the Bar to the Kitchen, do try and make each guests stay a pleasant one and it shows. If there ever is a problem you would only have to say something and we'll try and fix it right away. We look forward to your next stay. Thank You.

Corey Hulse, Manager
307-461-4168

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Elk View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk View Inn

Address: 4622 W Hwy 14, Dayton, WY 82836
Region: United States > Wyoming > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Dayton
Price Range: £82 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Elk View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk View Inn Wyoming/Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing