We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Loctation”
Review of Bear Lodge Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dayton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Lodge Resort
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Loctation”
Reviewed 13 October 2009

This was a great hotel for accessing the Beartooth mountains. We only stopped off for the one night but will definitely be returning to the Beartooths for a full holiday. We stayed in the rooms next to the bar and restaurant which were well equipped,a good size and had a good view. The restaurant meal was excellent, with the chef coming out to check how we liked our steaks cooked. A great atmospehere, with fellow guests chatting,being friendly, and giving ideas where to visit. If you want to be up in the mountains this is the place to be. Would love to come back in mid summer for the wild flowers.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlowerHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    20
    19
    27
See reviews for
33
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This resort is rustic, located in a beautiful area, and is a great place to travel from for fishing, scenic outlooks, and relaxing on the deck overlooking mountain meadows. Rooms are sparse, but ample, clean, and all fixtures worked well. Food and drinks very good, service relaxed and friendly. This is a place to go to unwind and relax, not for seeking to be entertained by "night life". No cell phone service, but resort wide WiFi available.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omaha
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We were looking for something different and we found a great place in the Bighorn Mountains. If you like to ride ATV's in the wilderness, take one along, or a snowmobile in the winter. The staff is great. Pat makes the best bloody mary, and Big Mike the best omelet. I can't remember the chef's name, but if you like soup, he makes all his own from scratch--from pumpkin-apple to tomato basil. Hang around the lodge for a day and unwind. We stayed in the motel portion, with large clean comfortable rooms. There are also rustic cabins set back in the woods. This is a great place to go.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wizardofid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

I stayed here over President's Day weekend to do some snowmobiling with 4 other people. We had gotten a room with 2 queens and a single bed.

The Room:
The room had water spots all over the ceiling, was not large enough for 5 people, the bathroom didn't have a decent fan so while people were showering the door had to be open. Two outlets in the room and with 5 snowmobilers it's hard to do. I know this resort hosts alot of 4 wheelers and snowmobilers and often times we usually rough it in the camper behind the resort, but being the camper was full we opted to stay here. After staying one night at Passage, one night in the camper and then moving to Bear, I would have definitely picked one of the first two if I had the chance.

Restaurant:
The food is was overpriced. I know it takes $ to get the food up here, but $12 for a buffet breakfast!

Again, I'm a pretty good rougher, but the hotel definitely needs improvement. It was a warm room and I did have a pillow to put my head on, but this will not be my first choice the next time I head up the mountain.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dayton hotels

indiana
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

The room at this resort was very clean. That was the best part of the stay. The restaurant was fair for breakfast but that would be pushing it for the dinner we had. The soup was cold, I don't mean lukewarm but cold as was the vegetable of the day. If in this area, I would stay again, as there aren't too many choices but would probably just have a sandwich for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

What a beautiful place to stay. This motel is located in the Bighorn National Forest. The scenery is absolutely gorgeous and the drive to get there is breathtaking. A little slow at check-in, but everyone has an upbeat attitude, perhaps it's the beauty of the area. We stayed in a double room and it was very spacious. Our room was in an interior hallway. Even though we did not utilize the pool, we checked it out. It is indoors so you can swim year round. There is also a do it yourself laundry on site and we washed some clothes while there. The room was very comfortable and quiet. There is even high speed internet. We also ate in the restaurant on-site. Great food and good service. There are cabins, a game room, a gift shop, a lake for fishing and plenty of fresh mountain air. And you will be pleasantly surprised with the prices, much lower than I expected and a very good bargain. I would definately stay again.

  • Liked — The lake and outdoor area
  • Disliked — slow check in
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slocumbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2008

This place was great. We were in the middle of the mountains and had everything we needed right there. Great food, great bar, great service. The rooms could use a little TLC and had no coffee-makers, phones or hair dryers, but worked fine for laying our sleepy heads. Perfect for snowmobilers and 4-wheelers. Would definitely return!

  • Liked — location, food, service
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bear Lodge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Lodge Resort

Property: Bear Lodge Resort
Address: US14A At Burgess Junction, PO Box 159, Dayton, WY 82836
Region: United States > Wyoming > Dayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Dayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Dayton
Bear Lodge Resort Wyoming/Dayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing