We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lazy L&B Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubois
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lazy L&B Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

First and foremost, this was the most wonderful and memorable family vacation we have ever had, and it surpassed all of our expectations. The location is spectacular, but more than that, it is the people and the atmosphere which really make it so special. The owners, Jason, Deb, and their family, as well as the wranglers and staff are all incredibly welcoming and friendly. We felt at home from the moment we arrived.

We were a family of six including children, parents and grandparents, and were a little unsure initially about what to expect. Certainly, there was some uncertainty around how our two boys, aged 7 and 11, would take to riding having never experienced it before. In fact, a number of the adults in our party had very limited experience (myself included), so there was some trepidation in the beginning. Any nerves were calmed quickly though. The wranglers are awesome, they are knowledgeable and professional, and the horses are incredible. We went for a ride on the first afternoon and never looked back, the boys included.

We rode every day, including some short rides and some full day rides, covering spectacular and diverse country, from deserts, mountains and forests to traversing creeks and rivers. It was incredibly peaceful, with spectacular country as far as the eye can see, sharing it only with the abundant wildlife. You could ride as much or as little as you liked. The wranglers were always very accommodating and would happily tailor rides to suit your needs. That said, we didn’t want to miss any of it. All the rides we did were spectacular.

It wasn’t all about riding though. There was plenty of time to relax, whether it was with a drink on the porch or a soak in the hot tub and pool. There are also other activities you can sample, including fly fishing and shooting, or crafts for the kids. We also had a great night out square dancing in Dubois.

The children made many new friends at the ranch, and they played for hours in the fields by the river or in the tree house. They were genuinely relaxed and happy and we really didn’t have to worry about keeping them entertained for a single minute. All the kids chose to ride together too for the most part. Again, the wranglers were great with the kids and we always felt that they were in safe hands. They had a blast, and never missed an opportunity to get up in the morning to brush and saddle their horses.

The cabins are rustic and sympathetic to their environment and clean and comfortable, and the lodge is also a great place to hang out, whether it be with a coffee in the morning, or sharing stories with other guests over a bottle of wine in the evening. Guests will never go hungry. The food is fantastic and plentiful. The end of week cookout is a particular highlight, where steaks are prepared on the grill and guests share poems and stories inspired by the experiences of the week.

All in all, it was a fantastic week, made even more special by the wonderful people we met and new friends we have made. Each one of us, young and old, was truly sad to have to leave. The Lazy L and B, Deb and Jason, their family, the staff and the horses gave us a week to remember and we fully intend to be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We spent a fabulous family vacation at Lazy L&B. We went there with two children of 6 and 8 with limited riding experience. Some of us were even a little nervous about horses. The wranglers were so helpful, friendly, patient and passionate about horses that we just shook off our apprehensions and embraced horse riding!

Deb and Jason, the owners, are great hosts. Their attention to detail and to our well being was key in making this experience unforgettable.

The ranch is beautifully located and offers amazing rides and sceneries through plains and forests, accross rivers and mountains, with lots of wildlife to spot.

The accommodations are just the way you want it in a ranch: rustic, authentic, yet cozy and comfy. We really felt home there.

The food was great. we kept on congratulating the chef as he was able to surprise us every day. Being French, needless to say that food is a big thing for us : )

We would definitely recommend spending a full week there as every day will bring something memorable, be it a beautiful ride, a diner with new friends, or a convivial moment by the fire pit...

We all left with the idea of coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SZPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

What a wonderful experience at the Lazy L & B Ranch! It exceeded my expectations. Everyone at the ranch from the owners Jason & Deb, to the wrangles and staff at the lodge were all wonderful, friendly, kind people. I can't say enough about them. It was so nice getting to know everyone during the week and especially liked that they ate meals with us and went out on the trails with us. It felt like one big, happy family at the end of the week. Wyoming was beautiful and each ride was unique. The wranglers really took care of the guests and were very knowledgeable about the geography, flowers, etc. I didn't want to leave at the end of the week. I will remember this vacation for a long time. Hope to come back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Lazy L and B Ranch is the perfect place to go for an adventure that will leave you both relaxed and refreshed.

Days start early for those who want to help brush and saddle the horses. Then there is a hearty cooked breakfast, and a choice of different rides every day, building up to two day-long rides with some of the best scenery and most exciting riding you can imagine.

The wranglers are all really experienced, and riding pace is tailored to your experience. There is no pressure to do anything you are not comfortable with, but equally plenty of opportunity to do exciting rides. You won’t believe how soon you are fording rivers, going up and down steep mountains, and trotting through the forests. The landscape is amazing, and you see it all - desert with rich red earth and cactus plants; forests with elk and moose, upright aspen trees and bright flowers; deep river valleys with lush grass and snow-capped mountains in the background, and big hill and mountain rides with views that take all day to absorb.

I travelled by myself, met some great new friends, discovered I love horses, and just had a really wonderful time. Owners Deb and Jason are great hosts, and really flexible to the needs of guests, with a real passion to make sure that all their guests have a brilliant time. All the staff are really welcoming and you will feel at home straightaway.

If you don’t want to ride all the time there is hiking, fishing, crafts for kids and swimming. Evenings include campfires, visits to Dubois to learn Square Dancing or hang out in a local saloon. Or relax in your comfortable and rustic wood cabin, listening to the sounds of the river and gazing out at the views down the valley.

Don't plan on dieting, as all the food is really tasty. A moonlight dip in the riverside hot tub helps to ease away any riding aches, as does a spicy margarita on the lodge porch. You can buy wine and beer or bring your own.

I enjoyed it so much I stayed on for a second week, as did another guest, and I was really glad I did. So much fun!

And what other holiday do you get to wear cowboy hats and boots every day!

I finished my stay in Wyoming with a pack (camping) trip with Bear Basin Adventures, also highly recommended, and link on the Lazy L and B website.

Room Tip: All the cabins are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

From the very warm welcome on my arrival, to the sad farewells on my departure, I had a great time at the Lazy L& B.

The owners, Deb and Jason, really do want to make it your holiday. If a guest wants to take a different ride from the one planned, they'll do it if at all possible. It's critical to them that the guests have a good time. This extends to activities for the adults outside the riding and to the special arrangements for the children who also have rides adjusted to their capabilities.

The accommodation is rustic, ranch style, very comfortable and quite in keeping with the environment. The dining at breakfast, lunch and dinner is excellent.

All the staff, whether dining room, housekeeping, or riding, seem to take it as a personal goal to ensure that every guest gets the maximum out of his or her stay. They are all warm and friendly all the time, something rarely found in the service sector.

The wranglers check that horse and rider are well suited and, during each ride, take steps to see that everything is safe and secure as well as ensuring that the guest is OK. I'd recommend getting involved in tacking up and grooming as it's a good way of bonding with your horse. It also adds another, satisfying dimension to the experience. However, if you don't want to, it won't be an issue; your horse will be ready for you when you go to mount up and it will be attended to afterwards.

There are some steep ascents and descents that can be challenging but the horses are sure-footed so don't be put off. I never felt unsafe. In fact, being a relatively new rider, I gained a great sense of achievement. The rides are at walking pace for the majority of the time, so that there is every opportunity to take in the views. However, now and then, a trot or canter of a few hundred yards might be possible. There are also breaks during all rides when riders can dismount to take a rest and allow the horses to do the same.

The two long rides towards the end of the week, ought not to be missed because they take the experience gained on the shorter rides to a new level in terms of not only riding but elevation too.

Novice or experienced riders will find the rides enjoyable for the pleasure of being off the beaten track. Indeed, you're so far off it that no traffic can be heard, let alone seen. You are, however, quite likely to see some wildlife which the wranglers will point out.

The country is stunningly beautiful and, this way, you get the chance to observe it at close quarters, just as you might on foot - except that you probably wouldn't get out of your car and walk into the areas accessed by the ranch horses.

New riders might like to do as I did and take some lessons before going to the ranch. It will avoid the disappointment of having to miss a ride whilst unused muscles become 'acclimatised'.

So, if you ever thought that you wanted to take this type of holiday but didn't do so, my advice would be to delay no longer. Book with the Lazy L & B. You won't be disappointed and you'll have the time of your life.

I have no connection with this business other than as a totally satisfied guest. If there was anything wrong with my stay it was that it should have been the last week of my holiday on the basis of 'save the best for last'. I'm already 90% decided to return next year.

Room Tip: Just take the one allocated to you and you'll be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalusia, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I just spent an incredible week at the Lazy L & B Ranch ( June 9 th- 15th 2013). The new owners Jason and Deb are great people and wonderful hosts. This is our second trip to Lazy L& B and are making plans to make it an annual event with our friends. You'll enjoy the magnificent scenery with its mountains, rivers and green valleys. Plenty of wildlife to see. The food was great, and the cabins were very comfortable. The horses we rode we very sound and safe. Everyone had a great time.

Room Tip: All the cabins were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Just got back from a week at the Lazy L and B Ranch (June 2 - 8, 2013). It was a great place where the guests could be lazy if you wanted or participate in everything, but the staff never was. Everyone from the owners to kitchen staff, housekeepers and wranglers were friendly and helped you feel right at home regardless of your experience with horses. We began riding on day one with a short ride and gradually increased the lenght of our rides, but even those could be customized if you wanted. The trails were the best you could hope for seeing wild life on every ride and different landscapes every day. It is hard for me to pick my favorite ride. The horses are well trained, sure footed and took us to places that absolutely blew me away.
The food at every meal was well prepared, in ample supply and delicious. Even with all the activity I still managed to gain a couple of pounds.
I cannot recommend the Lazy L and B high enough. If you are an adventurer or a beginner this is the ranch to choose.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubois hotels
11.1 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
12.1 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
11.2 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#4 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Trail's End
The Trail's End
#7 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
11.0 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lazy L&B Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lazy L&B Ranch

Property: The Lazy L&B Ranch
Address: 1072 E Fork Rd, Dubois, WY 82513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Dubois
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy L&B dude ranch near Jackson Hole is known for the quality, range and scope of its horseback-riding program. Surrounded by 80,000 acres of wildlife habitat you'll enjoy unparalleled vistas and landscapes. You'll have the opportunity to enjoy other guest ranch activities such as fly-fishing, hiking, and swimming in the river or heated pool. A maximum of about 35 guests per week ensures that each guest enjoys personalized attention and an authentic ranch experience. Whether you're looking for the perfect family vacation, adults only week, multigenerational trip or special occasion getaway, the Lazy L&B fits the bill. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lazy l And b Ranch Hotel Dubois
The Lazy L&B Ranch Dubois, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing