We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lava Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins(Dubois)(Great Value!)
US$125
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
22
8
8
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
8
8
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprime ribwind riverplace to staygrand tetonsgasmilesyellowstonelodgejacksonaccommodationslakes
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Each nigh has a different meal special (nothing for vegetarians) and you get your money's worth! Excellent cold slaw. We went for ribs on a Saturday night. You could eat inside or on a balcony overlooking the Wind River. Excellent service and food.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

On our cross country trip we stopped here for lodging. It was not a bad place to stay but a bit chilly in those higher elevations (thanks mother nature). There were no major issues and we stay again.

Pros: Clean rooms, affordable pricing, quiet area to sleep.

Cons: No breakfast, stiff mattresses, no working fan in the bathroom.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Willof72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We can't go more than a few months without coming back to Lava Mtn Lodge. The owner and all of the staff are AWESOME and friendly. They always treat us wonderfully! The rooms are clean and the prices are reasonable for a resort in the Wind River Mountain Range. It doesn't matter if you're there for BBQ weekends or on a week day-the food is EXCELLENT! My wife went vegetarian recently and was still able to have choices that she enjoyed. You can't beat the views and you're only a couple of miles from some beautiful drives through the woods that can be done by car (or ATV like we did several days). I just hope I can snowmobile up there sometime. This is one of my favorite places on earth!

Room Tip: We like the rooms and we liked the Park Model cabin. Given a choice without money as a concern, I'd get the Park Model Cabin whenever available- it's big enough for several people to stay in, but is great for just my wife and I too. Plus, you have a kitchen if you want it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed at lava Mountain Lodge during snowmobile season in February. The first three days we stayed in a lodge room. The experience was so positive we rented a Park Model Cabin for the second week. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The cabin was even better with lots of room and a great heater for drying our gear every night. The lodge was located in a great spot with mountains all around and great access to multiple trails. The food was excellent, especially Prime Rib Wednesday and Fish Fry Friday. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to create a wonderful experience. James the owner ran into town and got us parts when a sled broke down. And you definitely want to meet Cowboy Jim, a real cowboy who runs the shop. He insists you pull your machines into the heated shop to make repairs and gives you tips and advice on places to go and things to see. Great scenery and even better people. We'd stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SnowCaveDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just coming over the pass thinking there is nothing around for miles, and sure enough there stands the Lava Mountain Lodge. Terrific views of the surrounding area and a good restaurant to boot! Great service from the desk clerk. Good size room, clean, and pretty good value especially considering there is nothing else around for miles. I'd stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews