We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CM Ranch
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins(Dubois)(Great Value!)
US$125
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
29
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnat geowonderful vacationhorseback ridingspent a weekworkshopmollyhunterwranglersranchguestshorses
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Just returned from our first dude ranch experience and it was great. Everyone on staff including the managers (Hunter & Molly) cooks, servers and housekeeping were very helpful and attentive. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to ensure your needs are met. The food was much better than expected. The wranglers try hard in an attempt to make everyone happy, which is a noble goal. My wife is an experienced equestrian, while I am a true city slicker...NO riding experience. The head wrangler matched me up with a great push-button, obedient horse and in no time I was confidently cantering along. No I won't give you his name, I don't want him overworked. They have many fine horses to chose from. Frank & Irene

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankKFormerNYguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Yes, this was my first time, but I was here for a photography seminar that was put on in the CM facilities. I will have to go back again as a real "dude" to really take advantage of what the Ranch has to offer. Horse riding as well as fishing are the two main attractions. The site is idyllic and the surrounding scenery is majestic. Do not miss Inspiration Point just outside of Dubois. Staff was absolutely great, wranglers fantastic. Food was delicious. I was lucky enough to share a Hilton-like lodge (Greer House) with two others from the course. Huge living room complete kitchen with washer / dryer. In the lodge there were two individual bedrooms with twin beds (2x) that share one bathroom. I lucked out and had a large king-sized bed with ensuite bathroom. Great for a family.

Room Tip: See above. I unfortunately did not see any of the older cabins. Check out the web site.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Sunday AM, time to leave! The beautiful. Dubois, WY area. The CM Ranch! My first trip to the CM was 1972, and from then, I've been pleased to call it "a home". As a teen, I had the pleasure (and yes, it was a pleasure as I look back on it) to have been given an experience of a lifetime. First as a guest/dude, then as an employee. Following many changes and the passing of 17+ years, I returned to the gates of the ranch in Winter, and realized how much I'd missed the CM. It was not till 2006 that I returned as a guest, and 2013 was my 5th Summer back.
The CM Ranch provides a great vacation for the family. As a friend once said, "where else can you see three (3) generations of the same family sitting around a dinner table".
The setting is beautiful, the employees are friendly, the corral staff is great. Choose the ride of your choice - walking, lope, slow, fast, you have the choice.
This particular week was a bit different for me, however, nothing really changed. At the ranch, some things can be tweaked, but that is the nature of this business. The bottom line, the CM Ranch provides a wonderful experience for all. (Many more photos from this year and years past are available. Please feel free to e-mail me).

Room Tip: For a larger family, one of the homes on the ranch - Greer, Baker or Hardie House. For the single, couple, maybe Dining 1, 2 or 3. The management will know best.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The riding at the CM is always a treat. After 16 straight years at the CM, the trails never get old. Riding varies from meadows to Badlands to incredible mountain-top views. The ranch does a good job of pairing each guest with a horse which the guest keeps and gets to know for a week. The riding and the horses are tailored to each guest's ability.The wranglers, many from the east, are very familiar with horses and horse behavior and are very willing to work with anyone to learn to ride. The ranch is one of the oldest in Wyoming and the ranch has done an excellent job of keeping the historical feel while putting modern conveniences in the cabins. Meals are served family-style in a historical dining room and the ranch has been fortunate to have excellent cooks every year. The ranch also spends time each week telling guests a little history about the ranch and the west. Western entertainment is featured every week. The nearby town of Dubois is a quaint western town with a couple museums and lots of good shopping. It has a rodeo and it seems like the whole town turns out for this weekly event. The ranch has a fast-moving mountain stream running through it (Jakey's Fork) and some of the historic cabins are located along this stream. They all have a very comfortable front porch on all the cabins.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

After 18 straight summer visits to the CM, I can honestly say it feels like a second home -- one far more beautiful and fun than my city dwelling. The riding is terrific, tailored to your ability. The cabins are comfortable and well-appointed. This is an historic property, and its "feel" is truly authentic. You can learn a great deal of Western history here and in the surrounding area. The crew and managers are warmly welcoming and do everything possible to make your stay memorable. From families with small children to senior citizens, every guest is greeted with open arms. There's a fabulous fishing guide to take you to nearby mountain trout streams, and the Friday night rodeo in Dubois is a wonderful treat for everyone. -- Martha W.

Room Tip: For large families or groups of friends, the houses are a great choice. Hillside cabins closest to the pool, while dining room cabins are the historic heart of the ranch -- and closest to the food, which is excellent!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews