We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cute, inexpensive, and pet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Branding Iron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Branding Iron Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Dubois B&B and Inns
Laramie, Wyoming
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very cute, inexpensive, and pet friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Cute little log rooms. People running the place are very nice. Dog friendly (no pet charge!) and absolutely make one feel like pets are welcome. If you want really "upscale" lodging, there are plenty of options in Jackson. But this place is cute, clean, friendly, inexpensive and nice. Fridges in rooms, coffee pot and free ice across the road. Free wi-fi. Guest will be asked to be quiet after ~9:30 (common area is somewhat confined and noise travels right to the rooms). Wyoming folks tend to go to bed early, so that is just polite (I much appreciate it, personally). If a crowd is noisy, you will definitely hear them. In response to another guest's comments, I highly doubt anywhere in Dubios has air conditioning (?) - it is Wyoming mountain country after all. If you are lucky enough to be there on hot days, open the windows and door in the cool evening. The cabin-like room will cool very quickly. Bathrooms are not fancy, but clean, nice towels, and blasting water pressure. One true complaint is the beds are really very uncomfortable in some rooms. The rooms with two queens are much larger and more comfy than the smaller rooms with one bed.

We live in Wyoming and have been to Dubois multiple times. People have been extremely friendly. There are several restaurants with good food and fantastic fishing.

Room Tip: Room 10 is very nice. Room 40 has an uncomfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggyGoneFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. The new owner has been improving the cabins since your post, and we think the problem with the bed in cabin 40 has been corrected. Come back and stay with us again soon!
Kim
Manager, Branding Iron Inn
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    16
    10
    7
    11
See reviews for
14
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
180 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Nice motel clean and accepts pets. Would recommed this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelers201168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We are especially fond of our guests who choose to bring their horses, dogs, or who are "road weary." Come stay with us again soon... so you can experience our "5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price"... We will try to make you feel right at home. Responded 10/14/2014.
Kim,
Manager, Branding Iron Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babb, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

My husband and I needed a place to stay after he started to feel unwell. We didn't want to continue our travels that evening after stopping in Dubois, WY to fill up. Problem was we were traveling with our 85lb German Shepard. After the gas station attendent recommended the Branding Iron for a "pet friendly" place to stay, we went there and were very pleasantly surprised! When we walked in, I noticed a cute little poem about dogs and staying at their inn, which ended with "If your dog will vouch for you, you are welcome to stay" :-)
Although an older place, the room was large and comfortable, and EXTREMELY clean. It had everything we needed (refridgerator, microwave, coffee pot, tv, free wireless). Price was great, too.
While checking in, I also discovered they offer free corrals for those traveling with their horses, which is always welcome in the horse world.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
So glad we were able to take care of your needs when you were "road weary" and not feeling well. You, your dogs... and horses, if you have them are welcome, anytime! Your horses may even get an apple or carrot from us... and your dog will get a scratch behind the ears! Come back and see us again soon! (Responded 10/14/2014)
Kim
Manager
Branding Iron Inn, Dubois, WY
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, NE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stopped in Dubois on our way through to Yellowstone. The rooms were not good. The carpet was at least from the mid 60's and did not go all the way to the walls. Under the carpet were asbestos tiles, some of which were missing. This was exposed only because the carpet didn't go all the way to the walls. The shower was disgusting and can only be described by looking at photos which I will post soon. We did not learn until we returned to the room after a long day in the heat and mountains that the room did not have AC. While the other commenter was correct that it cools down at night, we didn't notice a cool down in our room until at least 1:00 am due to the highly insulated log walls. It was HOT HOT HOT in our room to the point that our family was taking turns in our car to sit in the AC. We are from Nebraska, accustomed to 100 degree days, so we are not temperature wimps. We ate dinner at a local restaurant which was disgusting, and the people in town were so incredibly rude. Don't just avoid this motel, avoid the entire town! It was the worst destination we have ever stopped on a road trip. For a guys trip of hunting and fishing it may be different, but definately not for your average middle class family looking to enjoy nature and the environment. Wifi did not work.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayco1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
I am so very sorry that you had an unpleasant stay. We have been under new ownership in recent months, and promise to do our best to make sure that all our guests feel comfortable, in clean, safe, accommodating cabins that meet, and even exceed all their expectations. The new owner has worked very hard to make necessary cabin improvements, and if you will choose to stay with us again, we will treat you to the new owner's policy of "5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price" in one of our cabins... with new decor and improvements. Please come back, stay with us since the new owner has made improvements, and we think you will love it! (Posted 10/14/2014)
Kim
Manager
The Branding Iron Inn, Dubois, WY
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubois hotels

Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

This is a great surprise! Individual cabins that are up-to-date, clean and spacious. The bathroom (a bugaboo with me) is very nice and comfortable. Staff has been very accomodating so far (I check out in the morning). No AC BUT don't need it. This is over 6500ft. above sea level and evenings are quite cool. Only comments are could use hair dryers in rooms. Recommend to anyone passing this way.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paull2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post positive comments! We will do our best to make your next stay just as enjoyable as the first! Ask for a hairdryer at the front desk... we have some to loan out now, since we are under new ownership. (Posted 10/14/2014)
Kim
Manager,
Branding Iron Inn
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

After driving over 850 miles in one day (on our way to Yellowstone), my family and I were tired and needing an inexpensive but decent place to stay. We found the Branding Iron Inn in Dubois to be much more. I can't even describe how helpful Patty was to us-- setting us up in a room that was perfect for our large family, helping make sure we had everything we need,ed and giving us a great stay at a great value! She even fixed us up with ice for our cooler for our trip on in the morning. She was kind and so very helpful at a time when that was exactly what we needed. I'd highly recommend Patty and the Branding Iron Inn. The cabin style rooms are cool and fit perfect with the theme of our vacation in the area and we are so glad we heeded the good counsel of other trip advisor users and stopped at the Branding Iron in Dubois, WY. If you're heading to the Tetons or Yellowstone via US 26, the Branding Iron is your place to stop! Thanks again Patty. Much appreciated!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcjcdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
So glad you had an incredible stay at the Branding Iron Inn in Dubois, Wyoming! The new owner and staff will do our best to treat you to our "5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price" when you come to visit again. Our housekeeping staff, front desk staff, and the new owner will see to it that you enjoy your next stay as much as your first stay! Thanks again for your kind comments. (Posted 10/14/2014)
Kim
Manager
Branding Iron Inn
Dubois, WY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

We were on our way to Yellowstone National Park and we decided to make reservations at the Branding Iron Inn in Dubois, Wyoming. We called all the hotels and motels in the town and the Branding Iron met all the needs we were looking for.

The Branding Iron Inn is an owner run facility with numerous cabins to stay in located about 2 hours from the South entrance of Yellowstone off the main highway in town (look for their sign). They offer a room that is more than comparable to any name brand hotel chain.

The rooms have a log cabin look on the outside and all the amenities one needs inside. The room itself had a king size bed, satellite TV, all the necessities as well as a separate bathroom. The bathroom was not the biggest or even the best but the shower, toilet and sink is what you expect. The room had a microwave, coffee pot, and refrigerator, which were all clean and serviceable. Furthermore, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly and answered any questions we had.

There are restaurants, shopping and gas stations all within walking distance of the Branding Iron Inn. We recommend the Cowboy Cafe for dinner and Daylight Donuts / Café for a quick breakfast. The prices were reasonable and the portions are more than you expect.

I would recommend this to anybody traveling to Yellowstone National Park.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirForceRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Thank you for your kind words! The Branding Iron Inn is still a quaint cabin hotel, that is still family run. The new owner, Robert Karriker, has made even more improvements, but the rustic cabin, homestyle charm is still here! Come back again soon!
Kim
Manager,
Branding Iron Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubois hotels
0.1 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#4 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Trail's End
The Trail's End
#7 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branding Iron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branding Iron Inn

Property: Branding Iron Inn
Address: 401 W Ramshorn, Dubois, WY 82513
Region: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dubois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Branding Iron Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Snowmobile Business of the Year for 2016, we are one of Dubois oldest and most respected hotels. Rustic cabins built in the 40's feature all the modern conveniences and amenities. Private park with grills, picnic tables, fire pit, outdoor activities in summer. Free horse corrals for guests! Five Star Hospitality at a Three Star Price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Branding Iron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branding Iron Inn Dubois, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing