We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel, avoid this TOWN!”
Review of Branding Iron Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Branding Iron Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Dubois B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stopped in Dubois on our way through to Yellowstone. The rooms were not good. The carpet was at least from the mid 60's and did not go all the way to the walls. Under the carpet were asbestos tiles, some of which were missing. This was exposed only because the carpet didn't go all the way to the walls. The shower was disgusting and can only be described by looking at photos which I will post soon. We did not learn until we returned to the room after a long day in the heat and mountains that the room did not have AC. While the other commenter was correct that it cools down at night, we didn't notice a cool down in our room until at least 1:00 am due to the highly insulated log walls. It was HOT HOT HOT in our room to the point that our family was taking turns in our car to sit in the AC. We are from Nebraska, accustomed to 100 degree days, so we are not temperature wimps. We ate dinner at a local restaurant which was disgusting, and the people in town were so incredibly rude. Don't just avoid this motel, avoid the entire town! It was the worst destination we have ever stopped on a road trip. For a guys trip of hunting and fishing it may be different, but definately not for your average middle class family looking to enjoy nature and the environment. Wifi did not work.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayco1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

I am so very sorry that you had an unpleasant stay. We have been under new ownership in recent months, and promise to do our best to make sure that all our guests feel comfortable, in clean, safe, accommodating cabins that meet, and even exceed all their expectations. The new owner has worked very hard to make necessary cabin improvements, and if you will choose to stay with us again, we will treat you to the new owner's policy of "5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price" in one of our cabins... with new decor and improvements. Please come back, stay with us since the new owner has made improvements, and we think you will love it! (Posted 10/14/2014)
Kim
Manager
The Branding Iron Inn, Dubois, WY
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2010

This is a great surprise! Individual cabins that are up-to-date, clean and spacious. The bathroom (a bugaboo with me) is very nice and comfortable. Staff has been very accomodating so far (I check out in the morning). No AC BUT don't need it. This is over 6500ft. above sea level and evenings are quite cool. Only comments are could use hair dryers in rooms. Recommend to anyone passing this way.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paull2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post positive comments! We will do our best to make your next stay just as enjoyable as the first! Ask for a hairdryer at the front desk... we have some to loan out now, since we are under new ownership. (Posted 10/14/2014)
Kim
Manager,
Branding Iron Inn
"Home of 5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

After driving over 850 miles in one day (on our way to Yellowstone), my family and I were tired and needing an inexpensive but decent place to stay. We found the Branding Iron Inn in Dubois to be much more. I can't even describe how helpful Patty was to us-- setting us up in a room that was perfect for our large family, helping make sure we had everything we need,ed and giving us a great stay at a great value! She even fixed us up with ice for our cooler for our trip on in the morning. She was kind and so very helpful at a time when that was exactly what we needed. I'd highly recommend Patty and the Branding Iron Inn. The cabin style rooms are cool and fit perfect with the theme of our vacation in the area and we are so glad we heeded the good counsel of other trip advisor users and stopped at the Branding Iron in Dubois, WY. If you're heading to the Tetons or Yellowstone via US 26, the Branding Iron is your place to stop! Thanks again Patty. Much appreciated!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcjcdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

So glad you had an incredible stay at the Branding Iron Inn in Dubois, Wyoming! The new owner and staff will do our best to treat you to our "5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price" when you come to visit again. Our housekeeping staff, front desk staff, and the new owner will see to it that you enjoy your next stay as much as your first stay! Thanks again for your kind comments. (Posted 10/14/2014)
Kim
Manager
Branding Iron Inn
Dubois, WY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We were on our way to Yellowstone National Park and we decided to make reservations at the Branding Iron Inn in Dubois, Wyoming. We called all the hotels and motels in the town and the Branding Iron met all the needs we were looking for.

The Branding Iron Inn is an owner run facility with numerous cabins to stay in located about 2 hours from the South entrance of Yellowstone off the main highway in town (look for their sign). They offer a room that is more than comparable to any name brand hotel chain.

The rooms have a log cabin look on the outside and all the amenities one needs inside. The room itself had a king size bed, satellite TV, all the necessities as well as a separate bathroom. The bathroom was not the biggest or even the best but the shower, toilet and sink is what you expect. The room had a microwave, coffee pot, and refrigerator, which were all clean and serviceable. Furthermore, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly and answered any questions we had.

There are restaurants, shopping and gas stations all within walking distance of the Branding Iron Inn. We recommend the Cowboy Cafe for dinner and Daylight Donuts / Café for a quick breakfast. The prices were reasonable and the portions are more than you expect.

I would recommend this to anybody traveling to Yellowstone National Park.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirForceRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Thank you for your kind words! The Branding Iron Inn is still a quaint cabin hotel, that is still family run. The new owner, Robert Karriker, has made even more improvements, but the rustic cabin, homestyle charm is still here! Come back again soon!
Kim
Manager,
Branding Iron Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We wanted to be close to Yellowstone without having to pay a fortune. The staff was friendly, and the place had a rustic atmosphere. I thought it was fine for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdarley63401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay! We are one hour from Yellowstone, and 45 minutes from the Tetons... come back again soon!
Kim
Manager
Branding Iron Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Our stay here was fantastic. We loved the rustic log cabins along with the very friendly staff. The room rates were very reasonable. We could walk to Downtown Dubois, the museum and the park. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imatravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Thank you! So glad you had a great time! The new owner since June 2014, has made some positive improvements, and the western atmosphere, clean and quaint cabins, are still a good bargain! Come back and enjoy our "5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price!
Kim
Manager
Branding Iron Inn
Dubois, WY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

We have just returned from a fishing trip to Dubois,Wy. The fishing was great. The towns people were helpfull and very nice. We stayed at the Branding Iron Inn, they were quaint Swiss cabins, price was very reasonable. Just to bad the management went out of their way to ruin 2 days of our vacation. We were force to move rooms after being there for 5 days which kept us from doing anything that day. The next day we were asked to leave a day early because of our fishing to late,coming back to the motel to bar-bar-que our dinner quitely because there are no restaurants open after 9 pm. We were told that we were not welcome to stay there if we could not change our fishing and eating habits. As this was our vacation we chose not to be dictated to by motel management as to what time we would fish and eat. Our trip was cut short by 2 days over this disagreement.
We highly recomend that this motel is your last choice in Dubois, Wy. This was our worst motel experience of our life.
Rod and Cheryl Parlett

Thank Wyomingrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertKarriker, Manager at Branding Iron Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

The new owner, Robert Karriker, since June 2014, is saddened to hear that you had an unpleasant experience previously. Please come back and stay with us now, and we will do our best to show your our "5 Star Hospitality at a 3 Star Price!" We will do our best to accommodate you, and can recommend several outstanding restaurants, or you can use our in-room fridge for your food!
Kim
Manager, Branding Iron Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubois hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Dubois
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#4 of 9 in Dubois
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Trail's End
The Trail's End
#7 of 9 in Dubois
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Branding Iron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branding Iron Inn

Address: 401 W Ramshorn, Dubois, WY 82513
Region: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dubois
Price Range: £40 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Branding Iron Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Branding Iron Inn is a Dubois Wyoming original and providing travelers a comfortable place to stay ever since! Hand built in 1945. The walls are actual logs, and not a fake front! We have refrigerators, microwaves, WiFi,and satellite in every room! We even have indoor plumbing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Branding Iron Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Branding Iron Inn Dubois, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing