We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very good experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubois
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Creek Guest Ranch
Cherry Valley, Illinois
1 review
“Not a very good experience”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife & I decided to take a late summer vacation and looking at the website thought Crooked Creek would be the ideal place.....WRONG! We arrived by 9:00 a.m. & found the office closed and had to go to the Lodge for help. Our cabin was just a bed, nothing else! No screens on the windows, wanted some mountain air but all we got were bugs & moths. The toilet leaked as well & no one did any housekeeping all week. Needless to say we will NOT be going back to Crooked Creek until there is a major change. The food was also very poor, flies everywhere!! Please someone take charge & make Crooked Creek a pleasurable place to vacation.

Room Tip: when looking for a room even for two choose a 2 story
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

So I stayed there for a week, and I must admit it was one of the best places I've been to in my life. And that must say something, considering I'm from Luxembourg (Europe), and have seen quite a few places so far. The staff is very welcoming and makes you feel at ease instantly! Beautiful and landscapes and quiet nature greet you every morning as soon as you get out of bed. I'd recommend staying in a cabin, because the view is just amazing. The kitchen staff really cooks excellent food. So for all of you that want to stay somewhere beautiful to just relax, or go on quite a few adventures, Crooked Creek is the place for you. You can go explore the mountains either by foot or horseback riding! I you want further information just check out their website or facebook page!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We have been coming up for the last 10 years now and never get tired of it. The cabins, the scenery, the staff is great! and if you love riding, of any sort, horse, atv, snowmobiling, or just the family car, you won't be disappointed!! Leah and her staff are great and very helpful! We keep brining more nature lovers each year and never want to go home!! Highly Recommend!!

Becky, Rhonda and Nebraska Crew!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifsaver2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am sad to share that the expectations were high and the satisfaction was substandard. The condition in the rooms last June were not clean. The food was cold, stingy and our group was way overcharged. We are so disappointment and will never recommend using this facility to our State Colleagues, professional affiliations, friends, or non-profit groups.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south-side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antlerhunter, General Manager at Crooked Creek Guest Ranch, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Teresa,
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Crooked Creek Guest Ranch. Although we put forth our greatest effort, I am disappointed we did not meet your standards. Your input is greatly appreciated as we are continually striving to improve our facilities and quality of service. I hope you choose to visit us again, as we have made MUCH progress since your event last June.

Leah Carlson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We just returned from 3 days of spring snowmobile riding and found the facility, staff and rental sleds to be excellent and well maintained. Hats off to our guide Nick and facility manager Leah. Leah, you run a great operation and made us feel like family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antlerhunter, General Manager at Crooked Creek Guest Ranch, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Mike,
Thank you for your kind words! We had so much fun getting to know you and your crew. I can't express how much we value your positive review. I hope you can visit us again soon!

Take care,

Leah Carlson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monticello, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Three buddies and I stayed at Crooked Creek for a sled vaca. It's in a good location. Can go north or what's better is, go south on the sleds since the people from Lava Mtn and Togawotee are on the north end. Less traffic that way. The cabins don't have televisions, which stinks. But the food was very good in the restuarant/bar. The mechanics were very helpful there when we needed them. The staff was super awesome. We very much enjoyned Davina Trujillo, who cooked there and was super friendly. Leah and Kate were awesome as well. I'd NOT recommend going down to the Line Shack, which is next door to Crooked Creek. We ate there one night and the service and food were bad. Heading into town is a little drive, but nice if you need a few things.

Room Tip: I'd suggest not getting the 'hotel' rooms. very small, but you get what you pay for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Crooked Creek for 8 nights. For snowmobilers, location is good. Fuel, lodging, food all right there. We stayed in a two story cabin. There were 5 of us. Two couples and a single guy. The first floor was a small living room with a couch, few chairs and a very small fridge and even smaller microwave. There was also a coffee pot, which we didn't use. The bathroom and one bedroom (queen bed)was downstairs as well. Both were typical sized. Upstairs were 2 bedrooms with queen beds. Beds were pretty comfortable, which was nice after a hard day of riding. Our toilet leaked all week. We had somebody out twice to try to fix it. The housekeeping was awful!! There was a sign on the bathroom door that said towels would be changed out every other day. Reasonable. Except when you toss your used towels on the floor, to find nobody came for service! All week, we had to continually ask for toilet paper, new towels and for trash to be removed from our cabin. The cabin had a nice deck out front where a garbage can sat, but the dogs at Crooked Creek would help themselves to the trash.
The bar/restaurant was ok. Food seemed a bit high in price for the quality and quantity. But, without many options around, it was fine.
Overall, our stay was good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looking4Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubois hotels
10.0 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#7 of 9 in Dubois
162 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Trail's End
The Trail's End
#6 of 9 in Dubois
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#4 of 9 in Dubois
74 reviews
10.1 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Dubois
395 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Creek Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Guest Ranch

Property: Crooked Creek Guest Ranch
Address: 76 Fir Rd, Dubois, WY 82513-9702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Dubois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Crooked Creek Guest Ranch Hotel Dubois
Crooked Creek Guest Ranch Dubois, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing