We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilderness Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubois
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crooked Creek Guest Ranch
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed with a friend nearby and four-wheeled or drove to the lodge twice for meals. The food was good and the prices were reasonable. I have snowmobiled the region from two other lodges, and plan to try Crooked Creek this year. I'm familiar with the area, and after reading a few negative reviews I wanted to add a little helpful information.

This lodge is one of a handful covering a large wilderness area. In a place like this it's lucky to even have a lodge. It is probably the premier snowmobiling area in the US, with 50-100 miles of trails in most directions, and usually lots of powder. This area is very remote, but the county road is well-plowed in the winter. The largest group of glaciers in the lower 48 is about 30 miles south and is a premier backpacking destination, Tetons are to the west and Yellowstone just north. Having stayed in a number of lodges in this region, Crooked Creek is probably one of the most developed. If you're looking for a hotel with city standards in the forest, go to Jackson Hole with the tourists. If you're looking for a rustic wilderness experience, go here. Sounds like they need to change their linens more often, probably a complaint routine for most lodges in the area, guess I may have to use my towel more than once.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

Loved this place. The staff went out of their way to help us out.
Negative reviewers, come on this is not a 5 star hotel, it's a guest ranch. As such, I found it just right.
The cabin was nice, food excellent, and the friendly staff made it a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJ1045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My wife & I decided to take a late summer vacation and looking at the website thought Crooked Creek would be the ideal place.....WRONG! We arrived by 9:00 a.m. & found the office closed and had to go to the Lodge for help. Our cabin was just a bed, nothing else! No screens on the windows, wanted some mountain air but all we got were bugs & moths. The toilet leaked as well & no one did any housekeeping all week. Needless to say we will NOT be going back to Crooked Creek until there is a major change. The food was also very poor, flies everywhere!! Please someone take charge & make Crooked Creek a pleasurable place to vacation.

Room Tip: when looking for a room even for two choose a 2 story
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

So I stayed there for a week, and I must admit it was one of the best places I've been to in my life. And that must say something, considering I'm from Luxembourg (Europe), and have seen quite a few places so far. The staff is very welcoming and makes you feel at ease instantly! Beautiful and landscapes and quiet nature greet you every morning as soon as you get out of bed. I'd recommend staying in a cabin, because the view is just amazing. The kitchen staff really cooks excellent food. So for all of you that want to stay somewhere beautiful to just relax, or go on quite a few adventures, Crooked Creek is the place for you. You can go explore the mountains either by foot or horseback riding! I you want further information just check out their website or facebook page!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We have been coming up for the last 10 years now and never get tired of it. The cabins, the scenery, the staff is great! and if you love riding, of any sort, horse, atv, snowmobiling, or just the family car, you won't be disappointed!! Leah and her staff are great and very helpful! We keep brining more nature lovers each year and never want to go home!! Highly Recommend!!

Becky, Rhonda and Nebraska Crew!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lifsaver2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I am sad to share that the expectations were high and the satisfaction was substandard. The condition in the rooms last June were not clean. The food was cold, stingy and our group was way overcharged. We are so disappointment and will never recommend using this facility to our State Colleagues, professional affiliations, friends, or non-profit groups.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south-side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antlerhunter, General Manager at Crooked Creek Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Teresa,
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Crooked Creek Guest Ranch. Although we put forth our greatest effort, I am disappointed we did not meet your standards. Your input is greatly appreciated as we are continually striving to improve our facilities and quality of service. I hope you choose to visit us again, as we have made MUCH progress since your event last June.

Leah Carlson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We just returned from 3 days of spring snowmobile riding and found the facility, staff and rental sleds to be excellent and well maintained. Hats off to our guide Nick and facility manager Leah. Leah, you run a great operation and made us feel like family.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antlerhunter, General Manager at Crooked Creek Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Mike,
Thank you for your kind words! We had so much fun getting to know you and your crew. I can't express how much we value your positive review. I hope you can visit us again soon!

Take care,

Leah Carlson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubois hotels
10 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
8.7 mi away
Lava Mountain Lodge
Lava Mountain Lodge
#11 of 13 in Dubois
42 reviews
10.1 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#2 of 9 in Dubois
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
188 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
9.8 mi away
Branding Iron Inn
Branding Iron Inn
#2 of 3 in Dubois
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Creek Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Guest Ranch

Address: 76 Fir Rd, Dubois, WY 82513-9702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Dubois
Price Range: £56 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Crooked Creek Guest Ranch Hotel Dubois
Crooked Creek Guest Ranch Dubois, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing