We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice large, quiet campground” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of KOA Dubois/Wind River

KOA Dubois/Wind River
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubois
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KOA Dubois/Wind River
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Nice large, quiet campground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

It's a long way between sips of water in the west so I decided to put in at the KOA. Fortunately they had tent space ($35) including power & water. The tent area was nice and grassy, but not a speck of shade on a hot, hot day. Still, it cooled off once the sun went down so sleeping was not a problem.

The campground has a large indoor pool, large shower/toilet facility, and well-stocked camp store.

Still find it difficult to justify $35 for a piece of ground, but the campground was good served its purpose nicely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Powel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We brought our 42' toy hauler and stayed at one of their pull-through sites, we ended up unhooking the truck and opening up the back porch, as would anyone with a toy hauler, then parked our truck in front of the trailer..shortly after the owner lady pulled up yelling at us for parking our truck too far out and saying we should close the back porch up to utilize space..now if im paying top dollar for the longest pull through site and its not long enough I dont consider that my wrong doing! Especially considering 3/4 of the sites were empty and we could have parked our truck in another site with no issues of being in anyone's way.long story short is we've stayed at dozens of KOA's and would never recommend or return to the dubois/wind river KOA again!! Rude service and bad accomodations

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 253momentum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Rick and Barb are marvelous hands on owners at this campground on the River that also has cabins and tenting spots. The town of Dubois is small but charming and nature, fishing, boating, riding is abundant within minutes… the summer temperatures are ideal… you have the choice between high desert terrain and alpine settings.. lots of BLM, national forest lands for horsing around and ATVs etc. This is just 50 miles from Teton National Park (spectacular) and another 30 to Yellowstone. Enjoy this special spot. This is mostly an RV or tent campground… we usually stay for a month, most happily in our oasis on the river.

Room Tip: best spots are river front. There is an efficiency cabin on the river with all amenities
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank nancmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson Hole, Wyoming
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We wanted to share our amazing time in Dubois Wyoming. The KOA is literally on the Wind River with fishing access. Rick, the owner shared great stories of the history and the lore of this true western town.
On Wednesday we were treated to amazing Cowboy music on the grounds and an ice cream social on Thursday night.
We can't wait to get or boots on and return to this beautiful KOA.

Captain Coy and Miss Charlotte

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was an awesome small campground in a great location in the edge of the Tetons. Staff went out of their way to make sure all guests were happy. Only stayed one night. Wish we could have stayed more.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattie3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Clean, close to town, river right there. Very nice, and an indoor heated pool! We were there over the July 4th weekend, and it is about two blocks off the main streeet. Very quiet when we were there, too, with a friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get a camp site by the river
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here one night while driving to the Tetons. It was very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. My husband wanted to purchase a fishing license and they took the time to call a few places to see if they were open. The bathrooms were clean and it was within walking distance of places to eat and little shops to look at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubois hotels
0.1 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
0.3 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#4 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Trail's End
The Trail's End
#7 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
0.2 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KOA Dubois/Wind River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KOA Dubois/Wind River

Property: KOA Dubois/Wind River
Address: 225 Welty Street, Dubois, WY
Region: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Dubois
Also Known As:
KOA Dubois/Wind River Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing