We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Wonderful Week” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Triangle C Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dubois
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Triangle C Ranch
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly Wonderful Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent a wonderful 4th of July week at the Triangle C. It was quite simply the best vacation we have ever had. The setting was incredible and the staff made our stay truly memorable. we agreed that we want to go back and I expect we will.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skottr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    0
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Our kids loved the Triangle C so much, they cried when we had to leave. That should sum it all up.

From the time we called the ranch last spring to talk about coming there, to our arrival, and every second thereafter, every one of the Triangle C team, without exception, showed extraordinary warmth, consideration and thoughtfulness toward each one of us. My wife, three children (ages 12, 9 and 4) and I fell in love with the scenery, people and horses right away.

The main ranch house is designed and decorated in the style of a classic family-owned American dude ranch. The dining room, with its rough cut pine floors and vaulted ceiling, is large and airy, yet intimate and beautifully decorated with a spectacular view of the Wind River below. And the saloon is so visually perfect, it should be a model for others to emulate, if not a movie set.

The cuisine was excellent. From the stuffed trout caught from local rivers, to Cornish game hen, salmon, steak and plentiful breakfasts overflowing with bacon and eggs, or yogurt and fruit, each meal was consistently superb by any measure.

More importantly, the wranglers were cheerful, skilled, safety-conscious and incredibly diligent (they worked their tails off!) The horses are very well-cared for and the tack (saddles and such) is immaculately maintained. Each trail ride was different and breathtaking. We highly recommend the breakfast ride and the adults-only sunset ride. The ranch catered to each rider based on their ability and experience. For instance, although my wife is an experienced rider, the first horse she was given was a little too energetic for her tastes. But we hardly had the words out of our mouths when the wranglers resolved the issue with a mellower horse. Several folks said they had never ridden a horse before their vacation at the Triangle C. Nonetheless, everyone seemed to enjoy the riding program thoroughly regardless of their experience level or background.

Although I'd say that the primary focus is riding throughout the stunning scenery, there is plenty else to do to as well. In fact, the week we were there, a few adults and children chose to ride less at times and go fishing, hiking, shooting, play games, practice throwing a lasso, or hang out in the over-sized hot tub, or "spa," as they call it. Our four-year-old was allowed to ride on my lap (a big selling point for us) yet he was thrilled to be able to help take care of the sheep, goats, chickens, ducks, etc., that reside on-site when he chose not to ride. In short, the ranch has plenty for little kids to do and the "wranglers" for them are warm and thoughtful.

Everyone made friends quickly and seemed to have a fabulous time. The week we were there (August 15-20), the ranch hosted families from Italy and Germany as well as from across the U.S. as well as from many different backgrounds. I heard no complaints and lots of compliments.

I highly recommend the Triangle C. We will definitely return. We have traveled extensively and at all levels of luxury, or lack thereof - from five-star resorts to zero stars, to camping in the wilderness. If you're expecting a five-star luxury resort that is highly polished, then this isn't the place for you. And, in fact, a dude ranch vacation may not be something you should pursue at all. The cabins are pleasant and spacious but not palatial. They are relatively clean (although our bathrooms could have used new caulk and a late-season deep cleaning into corners and such) and are simply and tastefully decorated. But we spent very little time in the cabins with our eyes open. (Note: when you first drive in, you may notice the historic "tie hack" cabins/shacks down below on the river banks. These are NOT for guests but are protected historic buildings. They have to stay there like that, so don't be alarmed if you think those are your cabins. They're not!)

If you think would like to lose yourself, however, in the stunning Western scenery of the famous Wind River Range, or if you'd like to enjoy: warm hospitality by a family and chipper crew who work their tails off to keep the guests happy, outstanding cuisine, excellent horseback riding experiences and a variety of activities for all ages and abilities, plus a chance to "get off the grid" to decompress (There's no wireless service there. The main house has Wi-Fi, but you don't have to tell your office that!) and have a wonderful vacation that will make terrific memories (and amazing photos) for your family for years, then you should definitely come to the Triangle C.

(BTW, I read the recent complaint (below) about the staff saying grace. That happens at only two meals the entire week, takes all of 10 seconds, and that's the end of it. I thought it was a nice touch, regardless of your faith, because it was a genuine, gentle and very brief illustration of authentic American cowboy culture. It was not aggressive or disrespectful to others in the slightest. Besides, when in Rome ....)

Room Tip: Call and talk to the ranch staff before booking. They're more than happy to advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Family_of_Five_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

The setting was beautiful and the horseback ridding was great however there is no spa. They bring a massage therapist in from town and put you in a dark room below the kitchen where you hear people stomping around above you while you are getting a massage. My biggest complaint and the reason I will not go back is because twice before we started eating dinner they asked everyone to say grace and thank our savior the Lord Jesus Christ. If it is disclosed as a religous dude ranch then that is not a problem but it is not disclosed. When I mentioned to the owner that it made us feel excluded and if they are going to mention one faith then they should either acknowledge all faiths or none at all. Her simple response was that it is a private ranch and that is how we do it here. If you are not a Christian I would not go.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trianglecranch, Manager at Triangle C Ranch, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your input and we have taken it into consideration. We are not a religious affiliated ranch but are very grateful many things and try to have a moment at our large gatherings to recognize those blessings whether it be through prayer or meditation. It is not a forced event for any guest. The owners do practice Christianity but we have had guests that were Jewish, Muslim, Buddhist, Catholic, & Hindu and had all of them represent their faith and say a prayer. We even hold a month long Buddhist retreat every spring. We are sorry if this tradition made your feel uncomfortable in anyway, it was not our intention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

If at all possible, my kids decided this summer was even better than the last one at Triangle C. The warm reception from the staff helped them immediately feel comfortable. They quickly made new friends (as did I) and were off to explore. My son and I enjoyed Yellowstone and fishing, while my daughter (age 9) refused to leave the stables/riding. The wranglers, as always, were very accommodating with her horse obsession and allowed her to pitch in. The food was delicious and a great time was had by all. The week flew by... we will return!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

When we went searching for a dude ranch that had activitities for all ages we stumbled upon The Triangle C Ranch. We traveled with two other family's and our childrens ages ranged from 4 to 17. Needless to say they kept all of us entertained. Even when my wife had a slight mishap with her horse, they bent over backwards to help out. Jim the GM does a great job training the wranglers. The food and kitchen staff was also a pleasant surprise. Vicki, the owner spends time with the guests and goes out of her way to make sure everyone is having a good time. Whether it was riding, visiting Yellowstone, fishing, target shooting, going to and participating in the local Dubois Rodeo, or hanging out with our families and the staff they were well trained and appreciated us being there. This will go down as one of our most memorable vacations ever!

Room Tip: The Trapper Cabin has a great story!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joenunz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a superb ranch with great horses and a wonderful staff - especially the college kids from Utah State they are superb horsemen and cannot do enough to make your stay great. our children had a fabulous time. the cabins are solid and clean. the abundant food is wholesome and homely and no request is too much. the location is absolutely amazing in the mountains of wyoming - this means the trails are fantastic. children are occupied constantly and they are safe. all meals are in the price. The activities included really surprised us. we expected riding to be in the price as indeed it was but we did not expect free square dancing and the rodeo - both activities you must do and you must throw yourself into them they are just great fun. the town of Dubois is a great place for a breakaway lunch or a bit of shopping. really the location is incredible the included value is superb and whilst it may seem expensive it is really a fair deal for what you get - you may only ride these kinds of trails once in your life. all kinds of riders catered for - all beginners accommodated with great care, inclusion and sensitivity. the breakfast cookout, steak cookout, childrens tepee night etc etc are just great things included in the deal. there is an ok hot tub, a superb bar, no room service - this is not the four seasons - it is a fantastic ranch in the mountains of wyoming - adjust your expectations accordingly on that side but expect the best in terms of activites for everyone and great trail rides every day in different parts of the ranch - just superb

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summerkoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

From the time that we arrived, they were more than helpful. The food was excellent and the lodging was superb. We were able to ski doo right from our cabins onto the trails and into the back country. We were secluded from everyone else, but had everything that we needed right there. There is Wi-Fi on site, but no cell coverage. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dubois
17.0 mi away
Twin Pines Lodge And Cabins
15.4 mi away
Super 8 Dubois
Super 8 Dubois
#5 of 9 in Dubois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
16.8 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#4 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
19.5 mi away
The Longhorn Ranch Lodge & RV Resort
17.1 mi away
Stagecoach Motor Inn
Stagecoach Motor Inn
#1 of 9 in Dubois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Triangle C Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triangle C Ranch

Property: Triangle C Ranch
Address: 3737 US Highway 26, Dubois, WY 82513-9724
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Dubois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Dubois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the scenic Rocky Mountains of northwestern Wyoming, our lodge overlooks the Wind River and is surrounded by the Absaroka mountain range creating a vacation destination that is serene and relaxing. The beauty will take your breath away and the amenities of an 8,000 square foot rustic lodge has a lounge, library, swim spa, Tie-Hack Saloon, and the Wind River Dining Room that seats up to 65. We offer an exciting program for your Dude Ranch vacation experience! Reconnect as you spend hours horseback riding, enjoy evening campfires with s 'mores and cowboy sing-a-longs, tour Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks with a guide, go hiking and fishing at Brooks Lake and take in the history of the Petroglyphs. Relax and have fun at the weekly square dance and experience a touch of the good 'ole days during our rifle shoot-out, archery, tomahawk and knife throwing. Treasure the peaceful atmosphere during our breakfast and sunset rides, the excitement of the Dubois Rodeo on Friday night! There is sure to be something for everyone . . . And if your dream is to sit back and read a book and soak up the sunshine, there are a variety of decks and porches waiting for you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Triangle c Dude Ranch Hotel Dubois
Triangle C Ranch Dubois, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing