We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice escape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
wyoming
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great weekend get away. Stayed in the hot tub suite. Very nice bedding, nude photos on wall - odd, no air conditioning, two person jacuzzi tub in bathroom. Continental breakfast included which was nice. You can order a hot breakfast off the menu for additional cost. Dinner is by reservation only and was delicious, quaint atmosphere and the mixed drinks were very strong.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WyomingMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    14
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
128
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The attention to detail was evident from the moment we drove up. From the lovely landscaping and cozy decor to the ultra clean rooms and classy restaurant, this a gem of a place with a great history (if you are a music buff, check out the history of the hotel's Garden Spot Pavilion on their website and the classic posters in the upstairs hallway). Susan and Arthur are the ultimate hosts, offering up a Cordon Bleu level menu as well as suggestions for local sightseeing trips. If you want to get away from it all and go back in time, this is the place!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Skiverjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Amazing stay with my husband, hotel said to be haunted but we didn't see any apparitions. Highly recommend the Evans Suite for privacy and jacuzzi tub. Loved the provided CD player and CDs. Room was super clean and comfortable. Enjoyed playing checkers and chess in the guest parlor after dinner. Food in the restaurant was delicious, both at dinner and breakfast the next morning. I recommend the salmon pillow entree for dinner. Among the best meals we've had in our lives. The gazebo in the yard was great for some quiet reading in the breeze before dinner. The adult atmosphere was relaxing and comfortable. Absolutely nothing bad to say about our experience. Beautiful location.

Room Tip: More privacy in rooms at end of hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I booked this hotel after seeing an ad for it on the Internet. I liked the picture. When we got to Elk Mountain, we found it was better than we had imagined. It is a historical hotel in the small community of Elk Mountain. The interior of the hotel is amazing with lovely furniture and accents appropriate to the history and the western location. The owner is also a chef who earned a Grand Diplome in cuisine and patisserie at the l'Ecole de Cordon Blue in Paris, France. The food at the restaurant was delicious and beautifully served. The innkeepers were gracious and friendly. We both enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyInTheGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We needed to get away from the noises and angst of the city for a few days, and discovered Elk Mountain Hotel fit our need perfectly! Our room was delightful in its decor, cleanliness and comfort. Susan and Arthur couldn't have been better hosts, and as owners of this classic hotel, made our stay absolutely wonderful. Their personal attention and hospitality made our visit so enjoyable. Susan's gourmet dinners and breakfasts are unsurpassed in the menu selections and preparation, and Arthur's lighthearted demeanor created a joy to converse with him (a bit of his English humor thrown in made us laugh). Their restaurant staff were very attentive yet "non-stuffy"....we think that Wyoming people are like that. Both the restaurant and the hotel are to behold; they present the ambiance of going back in time when the pace of life was slower, the classic hotels were turn-of -the century elegant, and the dining experience more genteel. We could have stayed there another week if we hadn't promised our cat "Houdi" we would return home and give him some attention! We look forward to a future stay at Elk Mountain Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was a wonderful getaway. The room decorating was very nice. The beds were very comfortable. The meals were excellent in preparation and service. Excellent wines and martinis.
Susan and Arthur were wonderful hosts and the staff very professional and pleasant. What a great getaway. We will go back. For fitness go for long walks in the area or hop down to Medicine Bow National forest.

Alan & Liddy

Room Tip: We all loved our fooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The rooms were immaculate and well-appointed; great bathrooms, all updated. There are lovely relaxing sitting areas inside and outside. The food was truly gourmet and prepared to perfection. The menu is quite large for a small hotel, which was intimate feeling without feeling cramped - and the hotel was full when we were there. Our room had a queen-sized bed, and everyone in our group, in three different rooms, reported very comfortable beds. We can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: We were in room 3 which is furnished in Victorian style with a queen bed. It was very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk Mountain
24.5 mi away
Medicine Bow Lodge
Medicine Bow Lodge
#2 of 6 in Saratoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel

Property: The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
Address: 102 East Main Street, Elk Mountain, WY 82324
Region: United States > Wyoming > Elk Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a small Victorian country inn (est 1905) in its own grounds next to the Medicine Bow River. Located midway between Laramie and Rawlins and just 3 miles south of the I-80. We are an adult facility with no accommodation for children or pets. The hotel has a dining room offering full service breakfasts and gourmet style dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing