We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Fortunately my brother got my husband and me a gift certificate to the Elk Mountain Hotel as a Christmas present. What a wonderful gift!!! We recently utilized the certificate and enjoyed a delightful afternoon with Susan, who is an incredible chef. She treated us to an amazing cooking lesson where we both learned generous amounts of detailed information regarding dishes we had requested, and some tips on other cooking tricks. We then enjoyed a delicious feast, followed by valued relaxing time in the hotel parlor. We both slept perfectly on a very comfy bed in a beautiful room within the hotel. Every accommodation you could want was provided to us, including an impeccably clean room, breakfast served with a smile, wonderful scenery, and food that makes my mouth water in remembrance. When we got in the vehicle to leave, we both immediately agreed that we'd be returning soon and often.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is a beautiful place to come relax and enjoy a wonderful meal or meals in our case. Jan LOVEs that French toast and me the Eggs Benedict. Susan and Arthur as usual are Great hosts and a joy to talk with, very WORLDLY.

Thanks guys,
Brad & Jan

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I went there for her 62nd birthday it was everything we wanted.Susan&Arthur are great the hotel is beautiful,food great. We had the whole place to our selves.Susan told us a lot about the history of the hotel.We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckiddo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We came across this place as we were on our way to Yellowstone, the fact that the owners were Brits was not why we stayed there, however as Brits ( sorry we are English) the welcome was very very friendly as we arrived early. Susan & Arthur are the best hosts you can find & their history is fascinating & we know only to well why they live away from the old country. Susan's passion for good food is evident in what was on offer & Arthur's laconic wit made the stay an exceptional event. Thanks guys for all that you did for us, broken toes to mention one thing & glasses another, not sure if we will get back to you again, probably to your advantage.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great stay. Lovely old building, quiet town, great food and accommodation. My girlfriend and I had just graduated from grad school, so we were unaccustomed to being pampered or consuming things besides hastily made spaghetti and reheated coffee. Thus, the Elk Mountain was the perfect change of pace. Finest meal of my short, professional life. We wanted to stay for a week. Felt like royalty--Arthur even gave us some wine as a congratulatory graduation gift. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I were caught in the sudden storm last week (on our way home to Toronto from San Francisco) and someone huddled with us at the gas station trying to wait out the storm told us of the Elk. We made our way there when safe and it was such a refuge in the storm! Susan was gratious and accomodating and even made us a hot tea when we arrived. She is an amazing cook and prepared us a wonderful dinner in her attached restaurant that evening. And we got video of deer on the property. Accomodations were wonderful, comfortable and clean and the common area had a warming fire on for everyone. Breakfast was lovely with unlimited good coffee and pasteries and more! Thank you Susan and Arthur !! Much appreciated!

Room Tip: The king size bed was very comfortable!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We wanted a quiet, stress-free place to get away from our everyday hectic lives, and we found it at the Elk Mountain Hotel in Elk Mountain, Wyoming. This historic hotel is truly a gem. We were treated special from the moment we stepped into the door. The atmosphere is one that encourages you to relax. The rooms are exquisitely decorated, and we were able to enjoy the hotel’s parlor area for further quiet time. We enjoyed amazing meals, prepared by the owner, Susan, and received first class attention and service. We will definitely tell our friends about this wonderful place, and we are already planning our next stay.
Terry and Valerie

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel

Address: 102 East Main Street, Elk Mountain, WY 82324
Region: United States > Wyoming > Elk Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elk Mountain
Price Range: £119 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a small Victorian country inn (est 1905) in its own grounds next to the Medicine Bow River. Located midway between Laramie and Rawlins and just 3 miles south of the I-80. We are an adult facility with no accommodation for children or pets. The hotel has a dining room offering full service breakfasts and gourmet style dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Elk Mountain Hotel Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing