We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
EconoLodge Evanston
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We did a quick stay here overnight on a road trip. When we arrived there wasn't anyone at the front desk, but we could see someone in the back room. Then a teenager came and checked us in, but I don't think he wanted to be there. When we opened the door to our room the lights didn't work, but thank goodness the lamps did. The room was super cold and felt really dingy. I slept in my clothes because it just felt gross. We didn't bother to stay for the breakfast in the morning. Were were out of there as soon as we got up. I guess that's what you get for around $50.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNlove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

This Econo Lodge is average all the way, but we got a free night with our Choice Hotels points, so we were okay with it. The place is pretty beat around the edges, but we did not encounter the cleanliness issues that other reviewers have mentioned. The bed and shower were OK, the wi-fi worked fine, and the TV had a good selection of channels. Breakfast was pretty lame, but so are most low-end hotel breakfasts. If you don't go in with unrealistic expectations and just want to bunk for the night, this place will do you fine. If you like to walk for exercise, the entrance to the Bear River Greenway is right across the street, and that is quite nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We arrived in the afternoon, the parking lot was deserted......which should have taken the clue and kept on driving but we had made a reservation. The exterior looked awful. The corridors were dismal. The room was dusty and dirty, it smelled of dirt. The bed was like a trampoline and had a frame that stuck out right where you sit down to get into the bed. I hit my shin twice before I took a washcloth and wrapped it around the piece of metal. When I told the young lady at the front desk about it, she laughed. There was no protein for breakfast, it was all sweet carbohydrates....not good if you are watching your sugars. The only redeeming factor for this property was that there was a small public park across the street where you could walk your dog. I would avoid this place at all cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldsnnyldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Was disappointed in cleanliness, service and quality of this hotel. I wasn't expecting a four star hotel, but yuk! As far as cleanliness. Visible food/ trash particles on ragged carpeting, visible dirt all over blow dryer and several long dark hairs all over room.
Beds were broken down and the clerk did not make eye contact at check in or out and both times they seemed like we were a hassle.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GadaboutMumzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our room was dirty and smelled bad. There were even someone else's dirty clothes hanging in the bathroom. Did the housekeeper not see them when she cleaned?? The beds were hard and the pillows lumpy. One of the desk clerks was rude to us.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the first floor. The rooms have large windows which open onto the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We reserved this room ahead of time knowing we would be staying after a 13 hour drive. We went cheap knowing we wouldn't have time to take advantage of any amenities. The bathroom was up-to-date and clean. The rest of the room was outdated. It had old hunter green carpet and an old bed with flat pillows. We fell asleep at 11 pm and were woken several times by the train, cars starting in a parking lot out back, what sounded like an after bar closing party above us, and vacuuming in the morning. In other words thin walls. Breakfast had cereal, toast, toaster waffles, frozen bagels, packaged muffins. No fruit or yogurt. You get what you pay for. I didn't get bedbugs, would have gotten plenty of sleep if not for party, and got breakfast at McDonalds for $5.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A_from_Midtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We were stranded as highway 80 closed to the East. The Econolodge room was small but adequate for our needs. The linnens were clean but threadbare with a few holes.. but it was clean enough to meet my standards. We were comfortable and slept well. There was a refrigerator in the room but we didn't use it as we were just there for the night and left early in the morning. The breakfast was adequate but the milk and things weren't refrigerated. The price was fairly low for the 2 adults at $44.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston_Econolodge, General Manager at EconoLodge Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.

I have passed on your comments to the owner, who has promised us new bedding will be ordered soon.

Thank you for your concern about the milk. The pitcher that the milk sits in is somewhat deceptive in appearance. It may not look like the milk is being kept cold, but the lid of the pitcher actually has an ice core that sits down in the center of the container keeping the milk cold for several hours. We have more then one, so if we had a particularly warm day, I'll swap out the lid with another, to make sure the milk stays cold and doesn't sour.

Thanks again for staying with us, and hopefully the next time you're in town, it won't be because you were stranded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evanston hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Evanston
Quality Inn Evanston
#6 of 15 in Evanston
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Evanston WY
Days Inn Evanston WY
#5 of 15 in Evanston
506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Evanston
Hampton Inn Evanston
#2 of 15 in Evanston
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Evanston
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Evanston
Comfort Inn Evanston
#7 of 15 in Evanston
111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Dunmar Inn
Best Western Dunmar Inn
#1 of 15 in Evanston
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Evanston

Address: 70 Bear River Dr, Evanston, WY 82930-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Evanston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range: £34 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Evanston 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your EconoLodge Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing