We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down, but inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
EconoLodge Evanston
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Laie, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Run down, but inexpensive”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Giving this 3 stars, though I could easily give it 2.

My room was clean enough. It didn't cost much. Those are the positives.

The building is old and very run down, inside and out. I knew that going in, but only needed a place to sleep and then move on. Don't think I would have stayed here if I had been traveling with my wife.

My room on the west side, towards the south. This backs onto a grill and bar across the way. This was on a Monday (Labor day) and there was plenty of noise till about midnight or so. I recommend avoiding that side, especially on weekends when the bar is likely to be busier.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    10
    11
    13
See reviews for
6
15
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Helen, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Our room at this hotel was a disappointment. The overhead light over the bathroom sink only worked part of the time. The pillows were so flat that we had to ask for additional pillows. The room was freezing cold when we arrived, so we had to turn the noisy heater up full blast to warm up the room. Of course, that also meant waking up in the middle of the night to turn down the heat. The room was not very clean: we had to wipe dried urine marks off of the toilet seat. All in all this was not a restful or comfortable place, and we certainly won't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windigo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Evanston hotels

Minnesota
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We did a quick stay here overnight on a road trip. When we arrived there wasn't anyone at the front desk, but we could see someone in the back room. Then a teenager came and checked us in, but I don't think he wanted to be there. When we opened the door to our room the lights didn't work, but thank goodness the lamps did. The room was super cold and felt really dingy. I slept in my clothes because it just felt gross. We didn't bother to stay for the breakfast in the morning. Were were out of there as soon as we got up. I guess that's what you get for around $50.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNlove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
209 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This Econo Lodge is average all the way, but we got a free night with our Choice Hotels points, so we were okay with it. The place is pretty beat around the edges, but we did not encounter the cleanliness issues that other reviewers have mentioned. The bed and shower were OK, the wi-fi worked fine, and the TV had a good selection of channels. Breakfast was pretty lame, but so are most low-end hotel breakfasts. If you don't go in with unrealistic expectations and just want to bunk for the night, this place will do you fine. If you like to walk for exercise, the entrance to the Bear River Greenway is right across the street, and that is quite nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We arrived in the afternoon, the parking lot was deserted......which should have taken the clue and kept on driving but we had made a reservation. The exterior looked awful. The corridors were dismal. The room was dusty and dirty, it smelled of dirt. The bed was like a trampoline and had a frame that stuck out right where you sit down to get into the bed. I hit my shin twice before I took a washcloth and wrapped it around the piece of metal. When I told the young lady at the front desk about it, she laughed. There was no protein for breakfast, it was all sweet carbohydrates....not good if you are watching your sugars. The only redeeming factor for this property was that there was a small public park across the street where you could walk your dog. I would avoid this place at all cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldsnnyldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Was disappointed in cleanliness, service and quality of this hotel. I wasn't expecting a four star hotel, but yuk! As far as cleanliness. Visible food/ trash particles on ragged carpeting, visible dirt all over blow dryer and several long dark hairs all over room.
Beds were broken down and the clerk did not make eye contact at check in or out and both times they seemed like we were a hassle.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GadaboutMumzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our room was dirty and smelled bad. There were even someone else's dirty clothes hanging in the bathroom. Did the housekeeper not see them when she cleaned?? The beds were hard and the pillows lumpy. One of the desk clerks was rude to us.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the first floor. The rooms have large windows which open onto the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Evanston hotels
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Evanston WY
Days Inn Evanston WY
#4 of 15 in Evanston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Evanston
Quality Inn Evanston
#6 of 15 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Dunmar Inn
Best Western Dunmar Inn
#2 of 15 in Evanston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Evanston
Comfort Inn Evanston
#7 of 15 in Evanston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Evanston
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Evanston
Hampton Inn Evanston
#1 of 15 in Evanston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Evanston

Property: EconoLodge Evanston
Address: 70 Bear River Dr, Evanston, WY 82930-2807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Evanston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Evanston 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your EconoLodge Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing