We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Good Diner Food”

JB's Family Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 45 Restaurants in Evanston
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant is located right next door to the Days Inn hotel in Evanston.
Midvale, Utah
Level Contributor
120 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Service, Good Diner Food”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Well, when you eat at JB's I hope you know what to expect. This is diner food through and through. Breakfast all day, more limited choices for lunch and dinner.

We went in for lunch. Our server was very nice and prompt. Kept our drinks refilled. The food was good. The french dip sandwich was tasty and served with a really good au jus. The grilled cheese was perfectly cooked and the sweet potato fries were awesome.

So, if you're driving through Evanston and want a solid inexpensive place to eat, try JB's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jedigirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    17
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We are always leery when our hotel recommends a restaurant to get a discount. We were very pleasantly surprised. JBs isn't fancy: its just great home cooking at a reasonable price. The bacon is outstanding, the country fried steak is done very well. The salad bar looked to be in substandard condition, but we did not try it. Portions are huge and prices are reasonable. Service was friendly and good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Wyoming
2 reviews
“jb's”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

the food at jb's is basic quality food. they have good service but the quality and the portioning of the food they can improve on

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnathan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
589 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Wished we would have skipped!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

This place needs a lot of help. Horrible service with no smiles. Out of many things we ordered. Soup and salad bar disgusting, and while there was plenty of variety on the bar, the containers all had stuff from other containers in them- eggs in the black olives, cheese in the tomatoes, pasta salad in the lettuce, etc. the lettuce was gross- as if it had been frozen in some parts, the soups were at a weird angle to reach- had to go to side of the bar, and reach over a lot of items, and one soup was empty. Oh- there were no bowls out for soup, and had to ask 3 different people before they appeared 15 minutes later. Cheese bread was thinly sliced white bread with a few sprinkles of what looked like cheese melted on it. Chicken breast sandwich was only decent thing. Waitress never cleared plates even though we stacked our own at end of table to help out, she even made a comment that they didn't seem in our way, so she left them there!?! She rudely sat next to us at tables on all sides to fill sugar containers when no other tables had customers, and also reached between my husband and daughter without saying a word, and grabbed ours. She could have been polite and taken all containers (saying excuse me while taking ours) to an empty table further away. This was quite possibly the worst dining experience ever.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jilly070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Food was good, plentiful and cheap. No "dislikes." Everyone in my family liked what they ate. What more can I say???

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JB's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to JB's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing