We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Gillette
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Gillette
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Mixed reviews”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Walking into this hotel was cool. There is a big courtyard with a pool, jacuzzi, play area, tables and large breakfast area. This area had obviously been renovated. The rooms were just average, but large. I would suggest if they are going to make things look newer and nicer to also get new sheets, comforters and dust ruffles. This would make a big difference. Most of the staff was very nice, but didn't like one guy that came across very creepy hanging around the pool area a lot. I think this hotel will be really nice when they are done with their remodel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada P, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gillette, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Thank you for sharing your review about the Ramada Plaza in Gillette WY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    56
    69
    76
    63
See reviews for
131
40
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After being on the motorcycles all day and extremely tired we were not about to look for another place as we had reservations. It is obvious they are working on the place, but the first room we were given had no lamps - they were still sitting in the hallway...the air did not work. We were given a 2nd room - the air worked, but still had to bring the lamps in from the hallway. The room itself was pretty - decorated recently and the bed was comfortable and clean. The lobby area has great potential as the rooms are built in a circle around the pool and hot tub (heard someone way the jets didn't work). The restaurant attached - Bootleggers - made the stay worthwhile. Front desk staff made many unkind remarks about the chinese tour buses. NOT nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NitaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Gillette, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We sincerely apologize for the situation you encountered at our property. The remodel has been a long time coming but will be complete in approximately three weeks. Hopefully you will visit us during Sturgis and we will do a better job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gillette hotels

Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We should not have stayed here when we found out they were under construction/remodeling. We were traveling cross country with 2 cats, they are a pet friendly hotel. When I checked in there were tools on the counter from some work being done, an unfriendly desk associate who told me the pet charge is a "per pet" policy. I had done research online and let her know that in no place had I read of this policy; it was a $15 per room chg not per pet. She seemed quite stressed and said ok she would let it go...is it a policy or not?
The room was clean. It is an old style hotel where the rooms face the pool/activity area. Be prepared to have the poor lights shining in your window all night as you can see through the shades (no one can see in).
Until the renovation is complete I would not suggest staying here and it was not less expensive due to the inconvenience of the remodeling.
Clipped to our receipt when we checked out was a paper asking us to review the hotel on Trip advisor...be carful what you ask for!

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rennyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Gillette, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thanks for your review as we use all comments as a training tool to improve our service. We regret your experience concerning pet charges, however, we do welcome all pet owners to our property. Should you ever pass through Gillette again we hope you'll stop again and give us another chance to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillisburg, Nj
Level Contributor
98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

As soon as we checked in to this Clarion Inn, we suspected that this must be one of the old Holiday Inn "HoliDome". The indoor pool, dining, fitness center and a playground is loacted in a inddor courtyard around the hotel rooms. We have stayed at multiple "converted HoliDome" around the country owned by various hotel chains (e.g. Ramada Inn,) but this one if by far the most rennovated one.
We rented 3 rooms for a large party of family and friends and all 3 rooms are fully rennovated with up to date bathroom, carpet, beds and appliances. They are in the progress of putting hardwood floor in the foyer and reception area while we were there. In addition, the fitness room is also under construction so it was close - but we don't mind. The indoor swimming pool and hot tub is in great condition.
A big plus goes to the drink coupon you get when you check in - one free beer, cocktail or house wine per guest at their restaurant. Although we don't drink but our family friends fully took advantage of it and had a great time.
I also need to mention that they offer a great hot breakfast - continental breakfast items plus scramble egg, sausages, etc.
The only thing I need to point out (this is partially my fault because I didn;t read the hotel amenities closely on its website) is that no all rooms are equiped with microwave and refridgerator. But once again, my own oversight because the hotel website stated very clear that "some rooms equiped with microwave and fridge"!
All in all, we had a great time and feel that the owner shows motivation to improve this hotel.

Room Tip: Again, if microwave and frdge are a must amenity for you; please confirm with reception/reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mraquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Gillette, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and your recent stay at our property. Our renovation will be complete within a month and all rooms will have microwaves and refrigerators as well as modernistic furnishings. I hope you will stay with us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place is in the middle of doing major renovations and upgrading, so they can't really be berated at this time. However, CRT TV. Really!? Come on, this is the 21st century. And the wi-fi is a nightmare. I had good strong signal, but it just wouldn't keep me signed in. Every time you get logged out, it's a major problem to get back in. The staff was not helpful and the instruction card in the room wasn't useful. I'm very computer and network savvy, so I know the problem wasn't me. Very, very frustrating! Nothing special about the room. It did cost twice as much as the Super 8 I stayed in the previous night, and was no better. Good location, though. Right next to the interstate, and lots of stores and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramada P, Manager at Ramada Plaza Gillette, responded to this review, 8 January 2017
Thank you for sharing your review about the Ramada Plaza in Gillette WY.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
140 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I didn't like my stay at the Clarion Inn because I found the staff not really nice. Our tour guide has been confirmed that we would have in our room a fridge and a microwave and when me noticed that it wasn't the case we didn't get any of those, the staff member didn't do anything (even showing sympathy).
Swimming pool area is like under construction.
However, I would also mention that we appreciated being able to use the breakfast area to have our dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katenka87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Gillette, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We apologize for your experience at our hotel. Most rooms do have microfridges and in a few weeks all of the rooms will be equipped with them. We are undergoing an extensive renovation which will be complete in July and during your stay we had to temporarily close the pool because the ceiling above was being painted. If you should be in this area again please give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed in room 301 for one night on May 29 with tour group. The decoration and Tv of the room is out dated from 70s. The lobby was dark and renovated everywhere. You felt like you stayed in the middle of construction site. The breakfast is adequate but the coffee dispenser was broken. The coffee run off to the floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyraY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Gillette, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We regret the inconveniences you encountered during your recent stay at our property. We are presently undergoing a major renovation which will be completed the first week in August 2014. I hope you will give us another try if you ever return to Gillette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gillette hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gillette
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Gillette
2.0 mi away
Arbuckle Lodge Gillette
Arbuckle Lodge Gillette
#2 of 25 in Gillette
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 25 in Gillette
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gillette
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Gillette
Days Inn Gillette
#11 of 25 in Gillette
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Gillette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Gillette

Property: Ramada Plaza Gillette
Address: 2009 S Douglas Hwy, Gillette, WY 82718 (Formerly Clarion Inn & Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Hotels in Gillette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Gillette 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the Heart of Gillette, our newly renovated hotel is the perfect place for your next stay. As a full service hotel we pride ourselves in the art of hospitality. We are a full service hotel providing many amenities and have a location close to shopping and many restaurant favorites. Our Full Service hotel also offers over 7,000 sq. ft of banquet space between 5 meeting rooms to accommodate meetings, conventions, weddings and special events for up to 300 people. With our on site catering services and knowledgeable sales staff, planning your event here is a breeze. Please join us at the Ramada inside our new bar the Rustic 13 Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Gillette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Convention Center
Clarion Hotel Gillette
Clarion Gillette
Gillette Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing