We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Hotel Greybull
Ranked #1 of 2 Greybull B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

So glad we chose the Historic Hotel in Greybull - an eccentric and quirky place run by the nicest and funniest man you could ever meet. We booked the suite as we wanted to self-cater, not realising that the hotel does food.
The sitting, cooking and eating area of the suite was rather claustrophobic, a bit like being in a cupboard as there were no windows, the only window being in the bedroom, looking over probably the dullest view in Wyoming! The TV was in the bedroom, not the sitting area which was a bit inconvenient. The kitchen had one spoon, one saucepan, no tin opener and no glasses or tumblers. You couldn't even boil an egg without the smoke alarm going off - a noise that at least managed to drown out that of the loudest air conditioner in the world, which sounded like a Mongolian throat singer and disturbed our sleep each night.
The room was cleaned immaculately every day and towels replaced. The bed was very comfy and the sheets were changed after just two nights. Greybull is a great base for the amazing Bighorn Canyon, one of America's best-kept secrets. We also visited the Heart Mountain Interpretive Center and learned some history previously unknown to us.
We would definitely stay at the Historic Hotel again, with all its eccentricities, but would go for a room with more dulcet air conditioning, a view, and without a kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jospanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    49
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
65
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed in room 33 which leads into room 32 so the living accommodation is huge. The interior styling is idiosyncratic and fits this restored antique hotel perfectly. The downstairs ice cream parlour, bar and snack bar is excellent for fast food, whilst the old speakeasy in the basement has been turned into a great restaurant. The staff and management made our stay memorable and we were very sad to leave. Thanks for a superb time.

Cathy & Jon

Part of the North by Northwest Motorcycle Tour run.by MCi Tours, that is Alastair, Fionna, Rod & Julie. Many thanks to all of you for finding this brilliant hotel.

Room Tip: I would go for 32 & 33.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simian47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed one night here this month (July 2013) and thought it was great. Everyone who worked there was very friendly and helpful. Our room was nice, clean, quiet, comfy bed. The restaurant downstairs was really good - had a perfect steak, baked potato and veggies. One thing to consider: this is a historic hotel and if you like this type of accommodation then you will love the Greybull. If you are expecting modern with a full array of upscale amenities then this is not for you. But do yourself a favor and skip the modern, cookie cutter hotel in favor of this little gem in downtown!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Walking through the unassuming street level door into a foyer with antique fixtures lighting the staircase to the hotel on the second level transports you to a slower, gentler time. The owners have done a great job blending the ambience of the historic hotel with modern conveniences. Comfy queen bed with soft linens. Plush towels. Cable TV and alarm clock radio. Free WiFi. Very clean. Very quiet. The rooms are appointed with period furniture, except the larger beds, and you're actually given a key on a leather ring with your room number on it!
The owners couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. We called to let them know we would be arriving much later than anticipated. He said not to worry...just call back when we got there and he would come right over and show us to our room. The owners were genuinely interested in where we had been on our trip and where we were still to go. And we learned quite a bit about them, too.
Breakfast in the corner café beneath the hotel was great. Eat the complimentary continental breakfast or order of the menu at a "hotel patron" discount. We chose the latter. Delicious biscuits and gravy with lots of sausage bits in it for me. My wife had eggs, bacon, and toast.
Overall, highly recommended. Choose this hotel over staying in Cody, WY, 90 miles away. It's worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwc5776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

In some ways the Hotel is like stepping back in time, much of the original design is preserved. The updates are behind the scenes, excellent soft bed, well equipped, cool, quiet rooms. There is a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room and a sitting room down the hall with a microwave. Good WiFi and cable TV. They serve a continental breakfast starting at 7am. The hosts are friendly and helpful. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Less expensive rooms have a shared toilet, but all rooms have in suite showers and sinks. Nice Plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colbert, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The staff operate this hotel on the personal level of a bed and breakfast. The owners are wonderful to visit with about the hotel, and its history. They also like you to share your experiences while there too. The unique downstairs dining room is a real treat. (A secret room in another time.) Breakfast was excellent and very reasonable. The upstairs rooms are old as one would expect in a historic hotel but are very clean and well cared for. I had a very enjoyable two day stay there, and will stay there again when I return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I recently stayed in on buisness & i wont lie when u read " it feels like home!" U think to yourself 'probably not so much' but boy was i proven wrong...not only was i immediately comfortable but the owners treat u like old friends...our rooms were in the process of being cleaned upon our arrival as they had us wait in ther beautiful lobby full of history with a beverage of our choice ( nice after a 8 hr drive) i was soon settled in to my kitchenet wher most everything is provided. I definitely recommend stayn here for any occasion.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shortcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Greybull hotels
0.2 mi away
Greybull Motel
Greybull Motel
#1 of 5 in Greybull
425 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antler Motel
Antler Motel
#2 of 5 in Greybull
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sage Motel
Sage Motel
#4 of 5 in Greybull
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wheels Motel
Wheels Motel
#5 of 5 in Greybull
20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Historic Hotel Greybull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Hotel Greybull

Property: Historic Hotel Greybull
Address: 602 Greybull Ave, Greybull, WY 82426-2041
Region: United States > Wyoming > Greybull
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Greybull
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Hotel Greybull 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1916 era hotel offering gracefully restored period rooms. Enjoy a step back in time. Relax in a small town atmosphere in the shadow of the Bighorn Mountains. We provide a homestyle continental breakfast, WIFI and friendly service. (Above photo is 1930's era) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Historic Hotel Greybull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Hotel Greybull Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing