We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - poor f/b service”
Review of Snow King Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Snow King Resort
Ranked #16 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Hilton Head, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel - poor f/b service”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was a quick stop for us... the grounds and hotel were beautiful. Our room was nicely appointed and beds were comfortable.
Front desk staff was nice, but didn't have much interaction with them.
F/B staff seemed overwhelmed and lacked the expected hospitality from a hotel of this caliber. We had dinner and breakfast - get the truffle fries (they're delish)!
It was nice to be able to walk to see the horses and have easy access to the alpine slide.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    268
    166
    87
    62
See reviews for
350
271
41
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Beginning with forgetting to pick us up at the airport to having no room service (at least in the summer), leaves this resort lacking. Also understaffed in the summer with most of the workers being young foreigners for whom English is a third language. These kids are enthusiastic, but the language barrier renders them less than helpful. Also management caters to large bus tours, so don't try to eat an early breakfast. Beware of renting a condo in the Grandview Lodge-- no housekeeping is provided. Although spacious, not all are updated. Ours had a 20 yr. old TV.

Room Tip: If you are in the Lodge, try to stay close to the hotel. The uphill walk from the restaurant can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planningpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I debated between a 4 star and 3 star review and settled with a 3 star. The location, views, and customer service are more like 4 stars. Our room is where some of my expectations fell a little short. Mainly being the old AC fan was so extremely LOUD! We couldn't sleep because the fan would wake us up and it was way too hot without it. I was disappointed that there weren't mini fridges and microwaves in the rooms. Also disappointed that there wasn't any kind of continental breakfast. This is a big must with young kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Summer or Winter, I love this place. It's sheltered from storms but has a fabulous view. Also great and romantic for couples or take the whole family (We've done both). We can also get into town or drive out to Teton Village easily without being in the busyness of town. Rooms are always well appointed and comfortable. Love the restaurant and spa at the main lodge too.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The staff here and the people of the town are amazingly friendly and helpful. At the resort Malcolm and Jenny went above and beyond. Very nice crew! A of the people at the hotel absolutely understand that it is a service business and go to great lengths to make sure that their clients are left feeling good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirksville, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If your looking for a great place to stay visit the Snow King Resort. The rooms are spacious, beds are very comfortable and it has a cozy feeling of home. They offer shuttle service to most places around the Jackson Hole area so getting around is not a problem. The room was furnished with a mini fridge, coffee pot, fire place and decks off both rooms. The also have garage parking. There are also other attractions close to the resort so you can walk to any of them. Will stay again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I recently visited the Snow King Resort. I understand that it has undergone a major renovation and that it is much improved over a year or so ago. It was a nice solid hotel. Nothing luxurious but had all the basics, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and comfortable with a good mattress, good desk space and plenty of drawers. The bathroom was a bit small (fine for one person, would be tight for two). I'd recommend the hotel either put slightly brighter light bulbs in their lamps and fixtures, or add another lamp - it was pretty dim trying to read in bed at night with just the bedside lamp on. Two other things that the hotel can't do much about without major structural changes - when you open the door to the room, the space to hang your clothes is right there by the door, and it's open to the room, not a closet. That makes the room seem much more "motel-like" than it is. Second, the hotel must be a bit older because the rooms have individual heating/cooling units under the window, not central air/heat. The unit is very loud and cuts on and off constantly. It was cool enough at night while I was there that I ended up just opening the window.

The public space is attractive with comfortable areas to sit and enjoy the view of Snow King Mountain just behind the hotel. The restaurant was OK - the breakfast food was much better than dinner, although I'm a vegetarian and there were basically no options at night. Others may find the beef, chicken and fish entrees to be good. I was at the hotel on business so didn't get to enjoy any of the fun things to do, like riding the lift up to the top of the mountain for the view, horseback riding or the pool.

Oh, the Snow King also has condo units available. The one I saw was really lovely. If you can afford the higher prices, I'd highly recommend one of these.

The Snow King has to be one of if not THE largest hotel in Jackson Hole. If you're not looking for the luxury of places like the Four Seasons and Terra in Teton Village, I think you'll find the Snow King to be a good choice.

Room Tip: My room faced the mountain but had a stand of birch trees in front of it so I really couldn't se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missmaggiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.4 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.9 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
0.7 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
472 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow King Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow King Resort

Property: Snow King Resort
Address: 400 East Snow King Ave., Jackson, WY 83001-8495
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#4 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#10 Business Hotel in Jackson
#14 Family Hotel in Jackson
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snow King Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's time to visit Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, float the Snake River or catch that perfect cowboy powder Jackson is known for, Snow King Resort provides the ideal location for your adventures. Located at the base of Snow King Mountain Resort and just blocks from the historic Jackson Hole Town Square, the resort offers beautifully appointed guest rooms and Jackson's hottest restaurant, Haydens Post. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snow King Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow King Resort (Grand Vista Lodging) Hotel Jackson
Snow King Hotel
Snow King Resort Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing