We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Know What To Expect and You Won't Be Disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Virginian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Virginian Lodge
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Midvale, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Know What To Expect and You Won't Be Disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

If you're looking for that upscale, trendy Jackson Hole resort keep looking. But if you're looking for a clean, comfortable place to use as your home-base in Jackson you won't be disappointed. Upon arriving we were impressed with how well kept the grounds were. The Virginian is obviously older, the hotel sign is classic! We had a ground floor room in the one story section, we'd forgotten how nice it is to park in front of your room and be able to walk right in! The hotel still uses old-fashioned real keys, no card to swipe to open the door! The room was clean, believe me I checked carefully after reading some of the reviews of the Virginian, but I found nothing to complain about. The furnishings are dated, the carpet could use replacing but you didn't feel like you had to put on a haz-mat suit just to relax in the room. The bed was comfortable, the towels were clean and our room looked freshly painted. The room rate was very reasonable for a tourist town in August and we received a nice discount for mentioning we were in town for The Jackson Hole Scottish Festival If we could change anything it would be to have an earlier check in and a later check out. That said, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Next time we'll request a room that faces the large lawn area, it just looked so pretty and rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    242
    170
    48
    33
See reviews for
176
222
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

For those who don't want to go camping but still feel like you're sleeping in Yellowstone, this place is great for you! Small but clean rooms. Towels were surprisingly soft! Large grounds with a nice pool and hot tub in middle The staff were friendly and helpful. Each room has a parking spot right outside their door.. that was super convenient!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a great area. Nice and clean, short bike ride to town!
Sites are close together but are pull threw. Full hook up, cable and wifi and everything worked great.
The RV park has access to the pool at the lodge. Nice to have! Kids loved being able to swim.
Showers are free, which is not always the case! Very well maintained and clean!
the office offers hot coffee in the morning!

We did ride back roads to downtown. Nice flat ride and about a mile!
shops in the area are cute and some are your typical t-shirt tourist stuff!!
If you have any further questions message me!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodside*girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
191 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

In deciding on what hotel to stay at in Jackson, Wyoming, we decided to rely on Caravan Tours, a company we have been very pleased with and used for several trips. We knew that Caravan used the Virginian for one of their tours. We were not disappointed in picking this lodge. Everything is expensive in Jackson, so we had to adjust to this reality.

We stayed three nights, using the lodge as our base to explore Grand Teton National Park. Our room faced a huge enclosed area with a swimming pool in the center. We were glad to have this view and not the parking lot. There are lots of conveniences at the hotel, including a restaurant, laundry facilities, liquor store, and swimming pool.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the swimming pool area for a more quiet experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 512Dick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Restaurant, laundry, saloon, liquor store, pool, hot tub in a garden setting. Great for gatherings. There's a liquor store right there. I was surprised that you can buy bottles and sit outside by the pool and consume. I did see the people partying and playing poker earlier in the day but didn't hear them that night. (thank goodness) When I was walking to the laundry in the morning, funny, I saw a room key under the table where the people were partying the night before. The hotel's maintenance people were hosing everything down, caring for the pool and the grounds. The grounds are beautiful with lots of flowers and the mountains as a backdrop. The lobby is kool and there's a big fireplace. They offer free coffee, tea and apple cider. The rooms are a little older (our window screen was broken and the door didn't lock unless you slammed it) but with all that the Virginian has to offer I would definatley stay there again. This place is authentic!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We had been looking at many hotel options in Jackson Hole for our family of 7 without spending a fortune. My niece suggested the Virginian. I read the reviews here on Trip Advisor and was not happy, but I needed to save a buck. Let me tell you were were VERY happy. The place was clean, efficient, friendly and helpful staff. An old-timey lodge that has been updated while keeping prices down. We have the two bedroom suite with the kitchenette which was perfect. No need to be any closer to the town square. It's 5 minutes away and really crowded downtown. Good coffee in the lobby and my adult kids said the bar on premises was hopping for pool and karioke. I would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Look at the lodge website for photos. It gives you an accurate picture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppmomofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

It is our fault for being cheap and not wanting to pay the $300 per night (average) rate at any of the name brand lodging. The Virginian Lodge makes being cheap a punishable offense. Is $125 cheap for a motel? We drove into Jackson around noon on a Wednesday and tried to check in. The clerk at reception tried to be friendly at first, but then quickly made it obvious that we were a little stupid for thinking that we might be able to check in "early." No problem, our stuff was probably safer in the car than in the room. We returned later (made sure it was after 16:00) to check in with a different person and found that he forgot to put his happy face on that day. No greeting, no smile, no small talk. "Name, sign here, *key*, room map."

The room looked quite large because the beds were doubles not queens nor were they very comfortable. The furnishings, a quick trip back to the early '70s but not in a "that's cool" sort of way. We've seen better televisions sitting in peoples trash. We were supposed to be outside enjoying the awesome scenery anyway. The greatest fault was the lack of cleanliness, one trip from bed to bathroom turned sock bottoms black! Perhaps there had been a flood and our room's carpet had not yet been steam cleaned. Comically, The Virginian was the only lodging on a 30 day road trip that had a tip envelope for housekeeping. Honestly, the motel should have left $10 in the envelope for us, for new socks.

Jackson, WY is always expensive, it might be worth turning off your calculator for one night if you wish to avoid the Virginian.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank protravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jackson hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.9 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#17 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
2.4 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#26 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#30 of 41 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.6 mi away
49'er Inn & Suites
49'er Inn & Suites
#20 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pony Express Motel
Pony Express Motel
#23 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Lodge

Property: Virginian Lodge
Address: 750 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001-8645
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginian Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginian is a fun place to stay & explore the unique character of Jackson Hole. Conveniently situated in the town of Jackson, The Virginian is the perfect location to access world class outdoor recreation opportunities in Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding areas. Come experience a taste of the "Old West!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Virginian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Hotel Jackson
Virginian Lodge Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing