We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, but still OK”
Review of Virginian Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Virginian Lodge
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dated, but still OK”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We arrived to Jackson from Yellowstone National Park. First of all, We were very surprised to see how big this place is.
It isn't located in the town center, so You'll need a car to get there, but there are some places to eat and buy groceries close by, We had a problem to get food around, because everything closes quite early.
And now to the amenities - The room in general looks old (I'd give it generously 1985). I felt like going back in time, but some people may not like it at all.
The TV was bad - old fat small TV that isn't big enough for the distance from the bed.
The good things - Nice big lawn in the middle, a pool and a big hot tub.
To sum up - It's not a bad choice for a one night stay.

Room Tip: If you want to see the pool and the green choose a room in the inner side, If you want to be closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    243
    171
    48
    33
See reviews for
176
223
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here over Labor Day weekend as part of a guided tour. The place seemed roomy and clean with comfortable beds. It lacked both a refrigerator and coffee maker (coffee is available in the lobby, but you need to walk outside to get it). The decor is a little dated, but in good shape. This hotel is a single story series of rooms laid out in a square, with a courtyard and pool and jacuzzi in the middle. There appeared to be some type of outdoor bar near the pool. This might be nice for some, but it can get a little noisy in the evening for rooms nearby. Also seemed a little noisy as people walk by your room. Breakfast for our group was very good and included yogurt, oatmeal, grits, fresh fruit, white & wheat toast, scrambled eggs, french toast, thick slices of bacon and sausage.

Room Tip: Room location could play a large part in your experience here. If you want a quiet room, ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryBuff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Spent a night here recently. The decor is dated, old style television with poor reception. The one inch gap under the door wasn't impressive. The price for the room was not consistent with the quality.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Lots of details done well. Lots of towels, plenty of room, decent Internet, etc. Very helpful staff. Nice pool and hot tub. Very good value for the money. Not elegant, but clean and relaxed. Lots of large tours of older folks and many young families.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Carl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I give the Virginian 5 Stars not because it is the most luxurious place to stay but it is the most reasonable, convenient, and and frankly fun place to stay. All the staff were very friendly, the room was clean, and their bar, The Saloon, was great. Good drinks, friendly environment, and enjoyable entertainment. Stayed for 3 nights and will be there again any time we're in Jackson.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The room was large and the bed was comfortable. We were traveling with a disabled traveler, so the large room, especially the bathroom, were good. There was a living area with a sleeper sofa and they also provided a cot. The bathroom was accessible, however, the sink/mirror were a little high for a person in a wheelchair. The room was old and we did see some bugs here and there. Oh yeah, there was a heart shaped jacuzzi in the main bedroom. The morning breakfast buffet was fair. All the restaurants were a little far away for walking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg_loves_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We arrived late at night and left early in the morning so we did not enjoy the pool which closed at 10:00 pm. The hotel has many rooms. Our room was very dated, with a barrel serving as a pedestal for a table. The walls were 1960s wood paneling. There was no coffee maker or refrigerator. Everything was clean and free from odors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.9 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#16 of 40 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.4 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#24 of 40 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#28 of 40 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#9 of 40 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.6 mi away
49'er Inn & Suites
49'er Inn & Suites
#20 of 40 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pony Express Motel
Pony Express Motel
#22 of 40 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Lodge

Property: Virginian Lodge
Address: 750 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001-8645
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginian Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginian is a fun place to stay & explore the unique character of Jackson Hole. Conveniently situated in the town of Jackson, The Virginian is the perfect location to access world class outdoor recreation opportunities in Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding areas. Come experience a taste of the "Old West!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Virginian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Hotel Jackson
Virginian Lodge Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing