We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the Wort and all its glories!”
Review of The Wort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
new york
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Experience the Wort and all its glories!”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayimg at the Wort is a must if you want a great location, sophisticated western decor, friendly staff, and wonderful individual attention. It is fun being in town and having access to all of JH 's charms. Drinks and dinner at the Silver Dollar Bar warrants visits especially on Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday nights
when great bands entertain. Watching local dancing is a treat not to be missed.
Am a frequent visitor to JH and staying at the Wort is an unforgettable experience.
It doesn't get any better than the Wort.

Cynthia N
Mamaroneck, NY

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    127
    34
    13
    13
See reviews for
149
248
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richardson, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We cannot say enough about the wonderful hospitality of the entire staff at the Wort during our stay in January. We had planned to stay 2 nights and then go into South entrance of Yellowstone. Due to the tremendous snow fall on the front end and the back end of our trip, we unexpectedly returned to the Wort for 2 additional nights on separate occasions. The Wort personnel treated us like old friends with open arms. They did not try financially to take advantage of our travel misfortunes. The junior suite was roomy and comfortable and we loved the free wine party on Thursday nights. After our stay and completing a survey, we received a nice letter from the manager thanking us for our business and choosing the Wort. We would not stay any place else while in Jackson Hole.

Room Tip: Loved the junior suite on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbury, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while on vacation.

The only reason I took points from from being a perfect hotel is our check-in. We were coming back from a few days in Yellowstone and arrived at the hotel around 1:30. I understand we were early for the 4pm check-in. We checked-in anyway to let them know we were there early. We were told the room wasn't ready yet (understandably) and they would call us when it is ready. We went to eat at the Silver Dollar Bar in the hotel (great elk gyro!). Knowing we had plenty of time, we ate a leasurely lunch and returned to the front desk shortly after 3pm. We were told the room was still not ready. The room was not ready until a few minutes before the "official" 4pm check-in time. We were once again told, we would be called as soon as the room is ready. This is a disappointment for this caliber of hotel. I would have expected better service and planning. If a guest has already checked-in and is in the building, I would think their rooms would be prioritized. Based on the check-in experience, I was not expecting much.

The mix-up with our luggage (bellman brought up 2 sets of wrong luggage before ours was correctly delivered), only confirmed my lowered expectations.

HOWEVER, after those 2 mishaps, the rest of our stay met and exceded my expectations.

The Wort Hotel is the epitomy of what I have always imagined a "western" hotel to be. From the grand staircase to the decor and artworks, pure perfection!

The staff was great, especially Sean, who valeted our car. He always made sure the snow was brushed off , the windows were scraped and defrosted when he brought the car to us. Kudos to Sean! Every other staff member we dealt with was great and very friendly.

You could not get a better location; it is walking distance to everything in downtown; only a block away from Town Square, where we enjoyed some of the Winterfest activities.

Despite the initial bump with the check-in, I would definitely stay here again, the next time we are in Jackson.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationRoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was fortunate to be the event planner on site hosting a small corporate group and I must say that the staff at The Wort could not be more helpful and generous in making sure my group were well attended to. I viewed all their rooms, grands and suites and all the rooms were gorgeous; spacious, beautifully decorated and fabulous artwork throughout. My group loved the hotel, the history associated with the hotel, the integrity of the decor and the staff were true professionals - friendly, helpful, eager to please and delivering 100%.I am looking forward to going back. I highly recommend this hotel - a warm western welcome will await you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - I thought for sure I would get some noise sleeping on the ground floor but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardsley, New York
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

What a classy place in the downtown of Jackson Hole. Rooms are all exceedingly well decorated. Breakfast is excellent and perfect for large appetites. Afternoon tea and cookies a nice touch.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is certainly one of the best period-style hotels in the US. The building and decor has an early frontier flavour and the staff are extremely helpful and obliging. The food here is pretty good too and they make you feel at home. The only problem is that there is a price for this excellence--it is not an economy hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 186411Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lander, Wyoming
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The Wort Hotel does a great job combining the elegance of nice hotel with the classic old west Jackson feel.

The location is great right next to the town square. If you are skiing they offer a shuttle from the hotel to Jackson Hole Mountain Resort. I have stayed at the mountain before and I prefer staying in town even with the drive. You save a lot of money on the room and you have many more restaurants to choose from.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The hotel has a great lobby with comfortable couches and fireplaces. Unlike many lobbies that just feel like a thoroughfare, the lobby at the Wort feels inviting and is a great place to talk or read.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
8.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
8.1 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Property: The Wort Hotel
Address: 50 N Glenwood St, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001-8760
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jackson
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#8 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wort Hotel is situated just off the famous Town Square in the heart of Jackson Hole, Wyoming -- just a few steps from boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and nightlife¬, including the famous Silver Dollar Bar. A landmark on the National Register of Historic Places, The Wort represents the heritage and heart of this classic Western community. The Wort has 55 luxurious guest rooms designed for comfort and decorated with sophisticated cowboy charm true to its Western roots, including an impressive collection of original Western Art. With outstanding service and amenities, The Wort continues to earn yearly awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing