We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the middle of town”
Review of The Wort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the middle of town”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The Wort Hotel is a great hotel with lots of local 'flair.' It definitely does Western with elegance, if that's possible to imagine ;) The rooms are good sized, the beds are comfortable, and there's definitely a 'high end' feel to your entire stay. We were slightly disappointed in the location of our room (first floor, near the front desk), but that's what happens when you're the last guests to check in for the night! The parking is very accessible, but is a block or so away so if you're traveling with older guests you should drop them off at the entrance. The restaurant that's attached to the hotel definitely has a fun vibe and is quite the place to be on the weekends. The Wort's location is great - right in the center of town within walking distance to many restaurants, shops and bars! If we visit Jackson again, we'll definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Don't be the last ones to arrive! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenterz0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    125
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
136
243
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here two nights and were on the first floor just down from the gift shop. The king sized bed was ultra comfy and we enjoyed the little touches like turn down service and the robes. We had the Groupon package and were very impressed with the value we received.

The Silver Dollar Bar was very cool and had a live band on a Tuesday night. We could hear it from our room because we were very close to the restaurant but it didn't keep us up. We were concerned it might and the front desk staff had a second floor we could have moved to had we wished.

We had delicious breakfasts each morning in the Silver Dollar Restaurant. Their Ranch Hand breakfast was one of the biggest breakfasts I have seen with bacon and sausage, eggs, potatoes, and pancakes!!! Yummy biscuits and gravy with cut link sausage gravy.

For the value we got, this was the perfect stay! It was the perfect location in downtown Jackson in the heart of all their shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: I would ask for a second floor room as I imagine they would be quieter and further from the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdub159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So Cal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed at the Wort on a Groupon package that included breakfasts (very generous portions and quite yummy), a couple of drinks in the Silver Dollar bar (which we had while listening to a bluegrass band) and valet parking (which we didn't use as it was often faster to get our car ourselves). Our corner room was larger than usual, very comfortable and the decor matched the hotel's western theme. Bathroom could use some updating but nothing bothered us about it. We slept well (they even provide a humidifier to counter the dryness.) The hotel itself is filled with great western art and historical items that give it a museum feel. We used it as a base for visiting Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. Bit of a drive to Yellowstone but this is my kind of "camping"--hike in the beautiful and wild outdoors all day and then enjoy great food and a comfortable hotel room in the evening ;-)! I appreciated the casual but high quality feel of Jackson and the Wort. Everyone we met was friendly and cheerful (might have been the unusually warm weather we had). Can't wait to go back!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PearlRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level Contributor
380 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hotel in the heart of Jackson Hole, WY is very well appointed. It is historic dating back to the early 1900's and named for its founder John Wort. It was likely a luxury hotel back then and remains today just as elegant and comfortable. As far as many luxury hotels go it is probably middle of the road. The rooms are large but without much inthe way of windows for many of them, those that do have a view looks out at the town and beautiful mountain range that surrounds Jackson Hole. The rooms are comfortable and all decorated with western chic theme. It is very convenient to everything in town, it has its own bar and dining room, but is walking distance form manyother great eateries. The town also has many nice shops, a great wine store, cool brewery and many art galleries.

The hotel is an "art museum" unto itself and has a neat little walking tour of many local artists. My favorite is the puppy in the cowboy hat bronze sculpture in the lobby. But I digress.

Now the downside, if you are here for a wedding or meeting the rooms do not hold any more than 30 people comfortably. The internet, although complimentary really does not exist in the rooms, only accessible form the common areas-which is where I sit writing this review!

Room Tip: Aim for the suites or rooms that are on the periphery for the views. Expect bad internet wireless c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cardiotron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Wort Hotel rivals the best hotels I've stayed at around the world. It was a nice blend of modern conviences with a Western theme. The staff was wonderful. I'd make a trip back to Jackson just to stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked the Teton Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Wort is gorgeous and right in the middle of Jackson about a block from the square. The rooms are beautifully decorated, have comfortable beds, and range from spacious to quite large.

Service was excellent, check in was fast, and the staff was very accommodating. We dined at the restaurant and loved the menu and food. Dined and drank at the really neat bar- we loved the 100s of silver dollars embedded in the bar top. The menu is extensive for "bar food" and quite good. Be aware though that after 6, children are not allowed in the bar, even if it is to have dinner.

We had an early morning flight and the restaurant staff were happy to prepare boxed continental breakfasts that we could take back to our room the night before.

Overall, it's a great hotel and perfect place to stay in Jackson. Yes we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Some rooms face a busy street, so ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Wort Hotel during our honeymoon last year. It was certainly the most expensive hotel that we stayed in during out trip out west, but definitely not one of our favorites. The outside of the hotel is beautiful and the lobby/public areas have a nice, swanky western vibe. However, our room was just average (very large and clean - but just one very small window with no view and little light) and the service was underwhelming. (Also, my husband and I both tried calling the hotel and were quoted two different prices for the same room. So, if you really want to stay at the Wort, you may want to double check rates to make sure that you get the lowest price!)

While we enjoyed our stay in Jackson, I don't think that the Wort was worth the price. Jackson is a very beautiful, clean, safe (think Main St. USA in Disney World) part of WY, so I think any hotel in the area would be just as nice for a visit. You can still visit the Silver Dollar bar for a drink.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
8.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
8.1 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Property: The Wort Hotel
Address: 50 N Glenwood St, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001-8760
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jackson
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#8 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wort Hotel is situated just off the famous Town Square in the heart of Jackson Hole, Wyoming -- just a few steps from boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and nightlife¬, including the famous Silver Dollar Bar. A landmark on the National Register of Historic Places, The Wort represents the heritage and heart of this classic Western community. The Wort has 55 luxurious guest rooms designed for comfort and decorated with sophisticated cowboy charm true to its Western roots, including an impressive collection of original Western Art. With outstanding service and amenities, The Wort continues to earn yearly awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing