We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski bunny luxury”
Review of The Wort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Missoula, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ski bunny luxury”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at The Wort this past winter when my mom came to visit. She is known for her impossibly exacting standards, and luckily this place fit the bill perfectly. It's situated conveniently within walking distance of most of Jackson's restaurants and shops, staffed by some wonderful local talent, and plushly accommodated. The fireplaces were always roaring and there was often an offering of warm cookies and hot beverages in the common areas. Luxurious without being snotty.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 406angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    127
    34
    13
    13
See reviews for
142
247
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Lovely hotel situated in the heart of downtown. Tons of character. Rooms very nicely decorated and clean. Upscale amenities. Staff very helpful. Free wifi. The Silver Dollar Bar is part of the hotel and has good food with prices comparable to others in the area. Can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Some interior rooms have windows facing a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Beautiful historic hotel in Jackson. The rooms are a bit dated and the beds are ridiculously high, but it was comfortable and clean and we are very glad we stayed here. It was very convenient to everything in town and we were able to walk a ton of great restaurants and shops. Check in time is a bit late (4pm) but they are very friendly and hold your bags until then. Lots of parking right in front of the hotel. Definitely recommended if you are staying in the Jackson area!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A perfect location in the heart of Jackson, WY makes the Wort Hotel very attractive. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly. There is a free fitness center and free WIFI. The famous Silver Dollar Bar is a part of the property so you are already at a local attraction. I did find the rooms to be small and the hotel very pricy, but if you want to see the best of Jackson, this may be it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlesf12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

My most recent stay on once again reminded me of what a wonderful hotel the Wort is.
Service is exceptional the hotel itself is a destination and worth it to simply walk the halls and read the history of the hotel for the past hundred years
The restaurant is exceptional as well as the bar area.
Everyone should try the traditional Wort burger expensive but worth every bite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was our first visit to The Wort and we were impressed!!! Zack greeted us at the registration desk with warm hospitality and his good nature never faltered during our many questions. Sean provided enthusiastic luggage and valet service. Ryan (reservation manager) had reserved us a beautiful room on the second floor (quiet side). This hotel is steeped in history and provides an ideal location for exploring downtown Jackson. Although the hotel has a rustic decor, everything is modern, clean, and efficient. THANKS to all of the staff at The Wort for your Western hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nonnie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Delightful restored hotel. Wonderful suites - huge, nicely decorated, clean, comfortable. We will definitely stay at the Wort again. Great location near center of town with shopping and places to eat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Luv_with_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
497 reviews
8.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
8.1 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
1.1 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Property: The Wort Hotel
Address: 50 N Glenwood St, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001-8760
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#2 Green Hotel in Jackson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#8 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wort Hotel is situated just off the famous Town Square in the heart of Jackson Hole, Wyoming -- just a few steps from boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and nightlife¬, including the famous Silver Dollar Bar. A landmark on the National Register of Historic Places, The Wort represents the heritage and heart of this classic Western community. The Wort has 55 luxurious guest rooms designed for comfort and decorated with sophisticated cowboy charm true to its Western roots, including an impressive collection of original Western Art. With outstanding service and amenities, The Wort continues to earn yearly awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing