We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of The Wort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The only thing wrong with the Wort is that every hotel in future will pale in comparison! I can't say enough about how good our stay was. The rooms were amazing, lovely decor, bed huge and really comfortable. Rooms were lovely and clean and the turn down service with a chocolate on the pillow at night was a nice touch.
The breakfast was included in our deal and was amazing. Portions were huge and loads of choice, we looked forward to it each day. The food at the restaurant in the evening was equally as good and the bar was always packed and often had a band on.
Location wise the hotel is in the centre of town so easy to get about and it also has a gated carpark. Handy to Jackson Hole, I think they had a shuttle but we drove each day (and saw moose at the side of the road....very exciting!)
The staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. There is a small gym and hot tub in the basement. Didn't use the gym but equipment looked new and well maintained. We were in the hot tub every night, always very clean. Only a shame it wasn't outdoors but you can't have everything!
I recommend that if you ever get the chance to stay here you jump at it quickly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiSuzieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    127
    34
    13
    13
See reviews for
142
247
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from 10 nights at the Wort Hotel Jackson Hole where we had a faultless stay at the Wort . All the staff we not only very friendly and helpful who made the whole experience one to remember . The silver dollar bar was great value to stay in and eat and the added bonus of quality live entertainment meant we didn't go too far from the hotel . We hope to be going back next year and the only place we would stay is the Wort. .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WirralHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

For me a great trip is equal parts location, people and a comfy bed. This was our second stay at the Wort and I was happy with it again. We love the authentic feel of the hotel and the location is right where you want to be in town. Every staff member was super; the front desk and concierge gave us great dinner suggestions (love, love, love The Bird's schnitzel!) and the rest of the staff made us feel welcome too. The Silver Dollar Bar being downstairs made for fun nights! Watched a near blizzard outside while I enjoyed their famous corn chowder and listened to the great band "One Ton Pig". Our room was perfect and we enjoyed the wine and cheese mixer. The Wort is one of our favorite hotels in the world...no kidding!

Room Tip: We enjoyed upgrading one level of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel each time we arrive into Jackson in February. We stay a night or two, as a stop over to Brooks Lake Lodge in Dubois. We LOVE the accommodations, staff and unique food...Buffalo and Elk not something on a regular menu in Florida. The hotel is located conveniently to many restaurants in town, if not, concierge can assist with those driving arrangements. Shops are mere short walking distances....we have not been there when there has NOT been snow on the ground, even in the summer (June) one time. The snowmobile shops in town will pick you up at the hotel also.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minniegirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great artwork in this historic hotel. Each room is decorated differently with treasures of art. Location is right in the center of town convenient to everything.Luxurious rooms and accommodations. Breakfast was yummy as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drRBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila M, Public Relations Manager at The Wort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We're so glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Since you sound like an art enthusiast, maybe you can back in Autumn and stay with us during the Annual Fall Arts Festival, Sept. 3-14.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at this historic hotel as part of a Tauck Tour. Our stay was fabulous! Everything about the hotel is remarkable, from the beautiful art on display, the comfortable beds, the superb food and the cold beer in the Silver Dollar bar. If you can afford it, this is definitely the place to stay in Jackson.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldEagle1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila M, Public Relations Manager at The Wort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for such a glowing review and taking the time to post it. Maybe we'll see you again for a summer visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Wife and I took our teenage boys to Jackson Hole, WY for Spring Break. Living on the East Coast it's not somewhere we can go every year. But getting excited because we are going back next year. We skied, did snowmobile tours, had a Teton Mountain Safari with a fantastic Guide, just a great trip. And the concierge set it all up. From ski company coming to hotel to fit us, chose an all wheel drive vehicle because she knew we would be going back and forth across the Teton Pass, which can get nasty. By being one of the oldest Hotels around the décor and lobby fit perfectly. She made dinner reservations, spa treatments for the Mrs. and just overall took great care of us. Breakfast was great, and the Silver Dollar Grill was the bomb for dinner. Rooms were huge, clean and very livable. To date, our favorite spring break of all time. If you go to Jackson Hole and don't stay at the Wort you have missed half the fun!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slimdawg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila M, Public Relations Manager at The Wort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Your Spring Break definitely did Rock at The Wort Hotel and thanks for taking the time to post what a great trip you had and how our concierge arranged plenty of activities that even impressed teenagers. We're so happy to learn that you're already planning a return trip next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
497 reviews
8.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
8.1 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
1.1 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Property: The Wort Hotel
Address: 50 N Glenwood St, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001-8760
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#2 Green Hotel in Jackson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#8 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wort Hotel is situated just off the famous Town Square in the heart of Jackson Hole, Wyoming -- just a few steps from boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and nightlife¬, including the famous Silver Dollar Bar. A landmark on the National Register of Historic Places, The Wort represents the heritage and heart of this classic Western community. The Wort has 55 luxurious guest rooms designed for comfort and decorated with sophisticated cowboy charm true to its Western roots, including an impressive collection of original Western Art. With outstanding service and amenities, The Wort continues to earn yearly awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing