We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Classic and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Friendly staff, clean and in a great location. Very impressed with the room. Bed was quite comfortable. The lobby is especially impressive -- it's worth taking a look at the all of the historical photos along the wall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fivefromco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    122
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
134
234
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Why do hotels insist on providing guests with bathtubs to shower in? Does anyone bathe? If you shower, which I dare say 99% of the guests do, you'll have to deal with a weak shower head and an annoying shower curtain! As you step out after showering you're sure to encounter a puddle of water on the floor because instead of a glass shower door you're dealing with a fabric shower curtain. When I closed the shower curtain for the first time I noticed a used washcloth hanging over the rod. If that weren't bad enough it was there the next day also! The lack of counter space is comical and I was alone so only had to deal with one dop kit.
Being on the first floor right off the lobby I also dealt with noise from the band in the bar, noise from the maid vacuuming at 7:30 am on a Saturday morning AND drunks outside my window walking on the sidewalks that are made of wood slats and are therefore noisy and getting into their parked cars just feet from my window. The bed was very high off the ground and very hard. Lovely historic hotel: yes.......peaceful and comfortable stay: no.

Room Tip: Go to the second floor for sure!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Here for one night on business. Large room with plenty of desk space to work. Fun and classic western hotel with bar and restaurant sporting live music. Noisy bar patrons in the alley behind the hotel in the wee morning hours was the only complaint. Town center one block away with plenty of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: One facing away from the narrow alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLMSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This is the best place to stay in Jackson Hole Wy.!
It's right in town walking distance to all bars, shopping and shuttle to mountain.
The rooms are well decorated with hand made carved oversized wood beds and southwestern style art ect. Although small it's pretty quiet.
The restaurant is great and best bar always a great local band.
In season can be quite pricey.
Things to do: of course use Jackson mtn!
Take a hike up "the glory bowl " about 3000 snowy foot steps up but off the lip is a ride down a nice bowl of fresh powder (watch for avalanche warnings)!
Take a drive through the Grand Teton pass over to Idaho up to Grande Targee known for massive snow dumps, cat trips and always great woods riding. Chains at times and 4 wheel drive a must.
Jackson has many places to rent snowmobiles and so much terrain to ride. Yellowstone National Park a short drive is a must ! Wildlife , and of course Old Faithful guizer , awesome to see.
A day trip through Custard state forest brings you to Mt Rushmore a must .
You will definitely be stopped on the way by "begging Burros "who block your car until fed, so bring granola or apples . They are harmless but real piggys!
Last , in early summer check out the town wide Antler Festival . Many tons and kinds of antlers are sold , beautiful and amazing to walk through.
Yeehaw cowboy have fun!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The only thing wrong with the Wort is that every hotel in future will pale in comparison! I can't say enough about how good our stay was. The rooms were amazing, lovely decor, bed huge and really comfortable. Rooms were lovely and clean and the turn down service with a chocolate on the pillow at night was a nice touch.
The breakfast was included in our deal and was amazing. Portions were huge and loads of choice, we looked forward to it each day. The food at the restaurant in the evening was equally as good and the bar was always packed and often had a band on.
Location wise the hotel is in the centre of town so easy to get about and it also has a gated carpark. Handy to Jackson Hole, I think they had a shuttle but we drove each day (and saw moose at the side of the road....very exciting!)
The staff were lovely and couldn't have been more helpful. There is a small gym and hot tub in the basement. Didn't use the gym but equipment looked new and well maintained. We were in the hot tub every night, always very clean. Only a shame it wasn't outdoors but you can't have everything!
I recommend that if you ever get the chance to stay here you jump at it quickly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiSuzieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Just back from 10 nights at the Wort Hotel Jackson Hole where we had a faultless stay at the Wort . All the staff we not only very friendly and helpful who made the whole experience one to remember . The silver dollar bar was great value to stay in and eat and the added bonus of quality live entertainment meant we didn't go too far from the hotel . We hope to be going back next year and the only place we would stay is the Wort. .

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WirralHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

For me a great trip is equal parts location, people and a comfy bed. This was our second stay at the Wort and I was happy with it again. We love the authentic feel of the hotel and the location is right where you want to be in town. Every staff member was super; the front desk and concierge gave us great dinner suggestions (love, love, love The Bird's schnitzel!) and the rest of the staff made us feel welcome too. The Silver Dollar Bar being downstairs made for fun nights! Watched a near blizzard outside while I enjoyed their famous corn chowder and listened to the great band "One Ton Pig". Our room was perfect and we enjoyed the wine and cheese mixer. The Wort is one of our favorite hotels in the world...no kidding!

Room Tip: We enjoyed upgrading one level of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.1 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.2 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
0.5 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
8.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
8.1 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Property: The Wort Hotel
Address: 50 N Glenwood St, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001-8760
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Jackson
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#8 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wort Hotel is situated just off the famous Town Square in the heart of Jackson Hole, Wyoming -- just a few steps from boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and nightlife¬, including the famous Silver Dollar Bar. A landmark on the National Register of Historic Places, The Wort represents the heritage and heart of this classic Western community. The Wort has 55 luxurious guest rooms designed for comfort and decorated with sophisticated cowboy charm true to its Western roots, including an impressive collection of original Western Art. With outstanding service and amenities, The Wort continues to earn yearly awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing