We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”

National Elk Refuge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$145.00*
and up
Half-Day Wildlife Safari From Jackson Hole
More Info
US$145.00*
and up
Winter Half-Day Wildlife Safari From Jackson Hole
More Info
US$275.00*
and up
Winter Best of Jackson Hole Wildlife Safari
Ranked #4 of 81 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A wildlife refuge located north of Jackson, WY that provides winter habitat for Jackson's elk herd. Seasonal hours of operation are listed on the web site for the Visitor Center, Historic Miller House, and Winter Sleigh Ride program.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Really really awesome mini-adventure. Family of four (16 yo & 8 yo daughters) had an excellent time being pulled in a large wagon-type thing by two beautiful Clydesdales- Smith & Wesson. The elk have no fear of the wagon, and go on about their business. Fairly chilly, even with provided blankets, so dress accordingly. Worth the money and the time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    867
    268
    94
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Elk only in winter”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful spot. However, please remember that elk are usually only there in the winter. Recommend this spot for taking panaromic pictures.

Helpful?
3 Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemont, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bike Thursday the refuge”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The National Elk refuge is a great place to bike. The Teton bikes rentals across the street helped nicely for an option. Beautiful views easy ride.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Elk herds”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I would love to come back in the winter months to have a real impression of the refuge. Glad to see that they are helping the animals and not making them dependent on humans for food.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giddings, United States
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I didn't know what to expect. All I knew is that we were going to look at some elk. Afterwards, and to this day, I can't wait to do this again. What a treat! Our guide was exceptional. The giant horses that pulled our sleigh out to the elk were awesome. And to see the elk so close and then to learn so many interesting facts about them was great. I will return here again. Just wear some warm clothes. Thankfully they had some blankets in the sleigh. It was -1 degrees Fahrenheit the morning we went, and it was AWESOME! Being from Texas, this was a change in climate for me. What you'll find though is that you'll be so absorbed in the commentary from your guide and the excellent elk that you'll forget about the temperature. I don't remember the cold as much as I remember how much fun we had.
In summary, go to the National Elk Refuge. You'll love it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Elk Refuge also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to National Elk Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing