We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Photo Ops”
Review of Antelope Flats

Antelope Flats
Book In Advance
More Info
US$129.00*
and up
Grand Teton National Park Sunset Tour
Ranked #6 of 81 things to do in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: About 12 miles from the heart of Jackson, this trail is not as strenuous as some but offers a spectacular view of the Grand Tetons and the occasional antelope.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Photo Ops”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Went to Antelope Flats/Mormon Row twice. First was pre-dawn to get the sunrise on the Tetons. Some of the best photos I have ever taken. Found myself in the middle of a herd of Bison, saw antelope on a nearby rigde silhouetted by the dawn sky. As the sun topped the Gros Ventre mountains the Tetons were washed in pinks. Made for great photos by themselves or with the abandoned buildings in front. Second trip was later on a different day. Views & photos still wonderful but nothing beats the early morning for this magical place.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick_Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    99
    21
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The scenery while driving was picture perfect. Tetons were at their best at mid morning. We saw our 1st bear of the trip. He was a cub playing in the field, we pulled over and watched him , until he began to run .....right across the road just in front of the car. It was a highlight of the day. Enjoyed visiting and learning about Mormon Row. The GTNP visitor section had suggested this driving route to see Wildlife.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MsM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Branch, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The views from Antelope Flats of the Tetons are amazing and we saw a few coyotes,bison, and pronghorns.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the place to go if you want to take the picture of the old barn with the Tetons in the background. It is fun to be able to see the view in real life. Well worth the drive and it isn't hard to get to.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MountainMom83815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s.c.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wildlife”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Follow this road and you will see wildlife. Of course early morning and late evening is best but anytime will do. Drive slow in order to spot game but also so you don't hit any animal that maybe on the road. We saw lots of free range buffalo, 2 bull elks , 2 coyotes, antelope and mule deer. Along this road we stopped for coffee at Kelly it was very good and the staff was very friendly. We also visited Mormon Row for local history of some early settlers there. Wonderful road trip the scenery is beautiful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antelope Flats also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Antelope Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing