We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wolf and Bear Three Day Trip”

Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools is Jackson Hole's original and oldest wildlife safari specialists. Wildlife Expeditions is one program area of Teton Science Schools, a non-profit 501(c)(3) educational organization. We have a well-earned reputation of locating all kinds of wildlife in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. We provide fascinating educational experiences in a fun and relaxed environment. Animals that may be observed during our expeditions include elk, moose, bison, pronghorn antelope, bighorn sheep, mule deer, wolves and bears. All trips are led by our staff biologists in custom safari-style vehicles. High quality optics and amenities are provided for all participants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went on this Wildlife Expedition June 5-7 withTeton Science Schools, Jackson, WY. Our guide, Paul Brown, was top-notch. He was so very knowledgeable about Yellowstone and Grand Teton Parks and the animals that live there.We saw everything but a wolverine-and evidently no one sees a wolverine! Yes, we saw hundreds of bison up close, bears, both black (with 3 cubs) and grizzly; elk, moose, 3 wolves, mule deer, prong horned antelope, big horn sheep with lambs, bald eagles, nesting peregrine falcon,osprey, magpie, sandhill cranes, white pelicans, trumpeter swans, etc. Our safari van was spacious, sparkling clean and new; our outdoor breakfast and lunch picnics tasty. Paul's organiztion of all details was superb. The pace was fast: in the van by 5:30 or 6 am with a finish to the day at 9 pm. The animals are out early and late and so were we. We left with a deep appreciation of the wilderness and the animals there. How lucky our country is to have these beautiful parks.

Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Pam S: Thank you for reviewing your Wolf & Bear Expedition with Paul B. Our Wolf & Bear Expedition is our premier program that thoroughly investigates the ecology of carnivores in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. Paul's decade plus of guiding and experience working on the Yellowstone Wolf Project is unmatched. He is true professional. Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. - Jared B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 306 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Our guide, Sean, was professional, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and obviously loves what he does. Highly recommend. We were able to see a great variety of wildlife. Would do it again.

Thank T0ki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank You. We hope that you do join us again. Obviously, the passion of Sean was a key to your successful program. Since you were here during the Spring season, I would suggest that you consider a late fall Wolf & Bear Expedition. This would diversify your experiences in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. We hope to see you again! - Jared B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife and I were in Jackson Hole for 5 days in June, 2014. During that time we had a different type of activity each evening. The 4-hour evening wild life watching tour with TSS was by far our favorite activity. We hunt, fish, bird watch, camp, and hike. The other couple on our tour didn't participate in any of these outdoor activities, but we all enjoyed the tour with Sean as our guide.

I had a list of animals that I wanted to see and we saw all of them. During our evening trip we saw mule deer, pronghorn, elk, bison, black bear, a large bull moose, a den of coyote pups, ground squirrels, and many species of birds. Sean was also very knowledgeable about the plant life and kept the trip interesting and fun from start to finish. He also helped take photos through the spotting scopes.

TSS provided cold drinks, snacks, binoculars, and spotting scopes. We also made a scheduled potty stop.

We highly recommend a wildlife watching trip with TSS. Having Sean as a guide will be a bonus.

Joe Labuda

Thank Joey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Joe - Thank you for your thorough review of Wildlife Expeditions. As a manager and guide I am proud to read that Sean B. was able to cater the program to the desires of a diverse audience. We appreciate the wonderful praise about your evening afield being the highlight of all of your activities. We are fortunate to share the splendor of nature with you. Thank You - Jared B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We loved our wildlife safari! We were picked up at our hotel and spent several hours looking for and seeing animals in The Grand Teton National Park. We saw coyotes, bison, ground squirrels, elk, moose, white tail and mule deer. Sarah was our driver/ guide - She was terrific!

2  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for your praise. All of us at Wildlife Expeditions are so happy and proud that Sarah C. was able to entertain the group. So much so that your review even mentions ground squirrels! All creatures big and small deserve our attention and admiration. Thank you for choosing to travel with Teton Science Schools and taking the time to share your feedback with others. Sincerely - Jared Baecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We spent 4 days with Sean Beckett. With no exaggeration, this individual is one of the most knowledgable and informative individuals we have encountered during many tours, both photographic and informative. To say it was an outstanding experience is an understatement. It was nit just what we saw, it was also the learning experience that made the time an unforgettable time. The understanding of the animals, topography, vegetation, and location made the time very special and educational. It is one thing to see the animals and another to understand the interaction and he interaction of the flaunt and flora.

If you want an incomparable experience in the Grand Teton area this is where you need to schedule your tour. Spend as many days as possible, even if just one, you will never forget the different way you will view the area.

Thank nrhareiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Amazing review!!! We are so grateful for the praise and constructive feedback that our clients provide. Sean B. is an outstanding guide, naturalist and resource for our travelers. We are thrilled that your experience was meaningful and complete. It is an honor for Wildlife Expeditions to be able to share the splendors of the National Parks with so many. We thank you for your time and for your review of our program. We hope to see you again, maybe during another season. Sincerely - Jared Baecker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools also viewed

 

Been to Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing