We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
De Haan, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“nice and cosy”
Reviewed 25 September 2008

This small 30 rooms hotel is quietly located at Miller Park, a few blocks from downtown. It is a twenty minutes drive to Moose, the southern entrance of the Teton NP.
Our room on the 2nd floor with mountain and parking view was nicely decorated, with two teddy bears on the bed waiting for us for the night when we returned from dinner. Breakfast was tempting with a selection of hot plates prepared by the chefs. There is a small sitting area with a library with a lot of documentation on the two NP. A complementary PC is available behind the reception desk.
My suggestion for dinner: Trio bistro, just off town square!

  • Liked — clean and cozy room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mundus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    59
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
125
297
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

This is a very special place. We stayed two nights in a King size room with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. It was warm, comfortable, very clean, great linens, great bed and pillows. Very quiet, too, so you can sleep late or take a nap. The breakfast is custom cook to order daily and is outstanding. The staff are amazing. There is satellite TV, WIFI, coffee, tea, cookies, and fruit all the time. The bathroom supplies are Occidental, outstanding. The tub in our room was amazing, my husband and I took baths together, totally romantic. The teton park is fantastic; the hiking amazing. I wish I had stayed longer, highly recommend.

  • Liked — the bed, plillows, tub, and bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarianaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

This was one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. Our price included breakfast everyday and the staff made us feel as if we were at home. This was the first hotel in my world travels that I have ever had a curfew to return back to by 930 each nite to sit in the hot tub under the full moon. The rooms were very romantic so make sure you are in the mood to be pampered!

  • Liked — The staff, the food and the location...oops and the deck with the hot tub and the rooms...!!
  • Disliked — The price...just because i must give something in this category
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madison l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warmington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

The sharp eyed reader may notice that this is our second review of the Rusty Parrot and our third of Jackson. For a couple of Brits to visit JH 3 times in 3 years in the summer might seem strange, but we just love the place - we are probably going back there next summer as well.

We first stayed in the RP in 2006 but had to cut short our stay for an emergency return to the UK - and we vowed to return to the area. We duly did in 2007 but stayed up the road at the Inn on the Creek as we planned to spend very little time in the hotel - but our 4 day stay convinced us that JH was worth a two week stay and we decided to return to the Rusty Parrot.

First the basics - the hotel is ideally suited for both the town and for getting out to the Tetons and Yellowstone. It is on a quiet grassy square about 5 minutes walk into the old town with its restaurants, shops and galleries. There is a good sized parking lot at the rear, plus plenty of close street parking directly opposite.

We booked direct and paid around $450 per night for a king room with fireplace at the rear of the hotel on the second floor overlooking the mountain behind the hotel. No hotels close to JH centre will have great views but this is as good as you can realistically get within walking distance of town. The room was everything you could need. Beautiful bed with top quality linen, spacious bathroom with top quality toiletries, loads of towels and a big tub with shower. There was a fire that would be great in winter, good and effective AC and lots of local information. TV was digital satellite with hundreds of channels, and of course there is the Rusty Parrot teddy bear in lots of quirky positions around the room. Turn down service everynight brought a poem or song plus a Tram muesli bar.

The hotel staff are first rate from the bell hops who sort the luggage and clean the car windscreen's each morning, through housekeeping and then to the concierge staff at the front desk who will sort everything out for you from restaurant reservations to trip advice, all with a smile and the time to chat about your stay. On the first floor there is a library sitting area overlooking the hot tub where there are cookies and tea, coffee and hot chocolate.

Breakfast is included and is also excellent, The chefs prepare 4 specials each morning like Breakfast Burrito, Hueavos Rancheros, Pancakes, Idaho Trout etc, and will also cook anything reasonable to order like bacon & eggs. There is also a buffett of muffins, fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola & pastries. There is also coffee available from 6.30am.

We ate in the Wild Sage restaurant one night, plus had some appetisers as room service. The food and service is very good, but probably not quite the best in town. It is innovative though with some interesting combinations.

The RP is a great base for both Jackson (especially at this time of year with its Arts Festival) and also for the National Parks. South Yellowstone is a couple of hours away, but North Yellowstone is a touch too far for more than one day trip. However, the Grand Teton NP is in many ways better than Yellowstone for day hikes and wildlife. We got up close with elk, bull moose, beavers, pronghorn, deer and grizzlies within the Tetons. The only thing you don't get is the geo-thermal features.

We spent some "quality time" with Teton's most famous grizzly, Bear 399, along Pacific Creek Road, plus one of her cubs.

We would recommend the RP to anyone wanting to stay in the best in Jackson - just don't book the room we want for next September!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Big_Blue_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We stayed at the Rusty Parrot lodge for 5 nights in late August for a girlfriend getaway. It was a perfect choice! The staff are extremely polite and helpful (Harry and Phil stand out but everyone was great). The beds are comfortable, the gourmet breakfasts are fabulous, and the afternoon cookies and all-day coffee and tea are a thoughtful added bonus. The staff gave us good recommendations and considered that we were novice visitors to Jackson Hole. The lodge is right on the edge of town, just a few minutes walk to town center. We enjoyed having a drink on the outside deck and relaxing in the hot tub. We both had massages at the spa on-site which were good, not great, but perfectly acceptable for a hotel spa. We ate at the Wild Sage restaurant one evening and the service was excellent. Our dinner meal was better than average, but not excellent for the price ($40-50 entrees). The Rusty Parrot definitely feels like a luxury inn or boutique hotel and the staff knows you and makes you feel special.
The only negative about the rooms is the lack of an adequate mirror and lighting for hair and makeup for going out in the evening.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Rusty Parrot as we celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary as well as my 60th birthday. Everything was first class. The front desk expedited the preparation of our room in order for us to check in early. Every thing concerning our stay exceeded our expectations. The entire staff were very friendly and professional. Our room was very comfortable. I had a massage which was so relaxing. We dined at the Wild Sage and it was one of the best meals we have ever eaten. The breakfast every morning was terrific. The afternoon cookies were delicious. I can't enough about the culinary skills of their staff. My husband and I have received a nice thank you note from them since we returned home. Our only regret is that we didn't stay more than two nights. In the future, we will know better. We want to thank the entire staff at Rusty Parrott. You are the best!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank polordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2008

My husband and I love the Rusty Parrot. The staff are friendly and helpful and they really cared about our total vacation experience. The small lodge is in the town of Jackson and within walking distance of restaurants, shopping and services but slightly removed and quiet, overlooking a local park. The beds with plentiful pillows and the rooms are very comfortable. The hotel's small library area, magazine selection, and outside deck with hot tub are great amenities. Although we could have done without the sample of cowboy poetry left in our room every night, we did take a shine to the stuffed bear in our room and purchased her to take home with us. The Wild Sage restaurant is outstanding for its full breakfast (included in the room charge) and its dinner selections. The servers are professional and friendly (not always the case even in higher priced properties in Jackson Hole). We spent 5 nights at the Rusty Parrot and we would definitely return again.

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — The yellow jackets or wasps on the deck
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
1.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
0.4 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
0.2 mi away
The Wort Hotel
The Wort Hotel
#11 of 40 in Jackson
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa

Property: Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Address: 175 N Jackson St, P.O. Box 1657, Jackson, WY 83001-8521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#1 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#3 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The standard of the lodge industry, it is located in downtown Jackson, a stroll from all the touristy, but feels almost like country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusty Parrot Hotel Jackson
Rusty Parrot Jackson
Rusty Parrot Lodge And Spa Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing