We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Unflexible Refund Policy - What a Shame!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Totally Unflexible Refund Policy - What a Shame!”
Reviewed 26 February 2009

My boyfriend and I were unable to make our trip due to a last minute work problem. I called The Rusty Parrot immediately as our trip was a mere 2 days away. They reiterated their 21 day cancellation policy which I was fully aware of. I politely asked if there was any way that a portion of the $2000 I already paid could be applied to another stay. Mind you, I was already prepared to spend an additional $1500 at the spa and restaurant. Well, their answer was no. So, the room is currently empty and they have lost out on the money we would have spent while there. More importantly, they lost 2 well-healed travellers who will now be staying at another hotel in Jackson Hole. While I understand it's a small hotel and there are rules and regulations, one would think that in these economic times, customer service should be a priority over policies.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank jpl422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustyParrotLodge, Manager at Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2009
The Rusty Parrot has long been recognized for providing gracious western hospitality and personalized service to its guests. That’s a reputation we are proud of and a commitment we firmly stand upon. We periodically review our policies and make revisions that are appropriate based on changing conditions for our business and our guests. As a result of discussions arising from JPL’s situation, we have updated our booking policies to recognize the needs of our loyal guests and allow for more flexibility whenever possible. As always, we appreciate the feedback and invite our guests to contact us personally with any concerns as they arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    60
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
129
312
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2009

My husband & I just completed our third stay at the RPL in Jackson Hole. We've written detailed reviews in the past so no need to repeat here. Just wanted to confirm that the breakfasts are still awesome, the staff still ultra-professional, the beds are the comfiest I've slept in away from home and the ambience remains cozy, friendly and welcoming. A continued 10/10.

This year we took advantage of their "Powder Package" although the snow didn't! It was true value for money. The local transit company Alltrans are now offering complimentary shuttles to/from Teton Village from the RPL (you also pick up at the Wort Hotel), at 8:30 AM (outbound) and 4:30 PM (inbound). We took the outbound every day, preferring the flexibility of the START buses for the return leg. That was a great service and a nice addition to our stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A&BWestbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We absolutely loved the Rusty Parrot. We have travelled all over the world and this is the only time I have written a thank-you letter to a hotel on my return.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, yet cozy and inviting; the staff is incredible; the service outstanding; the food wonderful; and the location is great - just off the main square on a quiet street and with easy access to the National Parks.
I would have to say this is THE BEST hotel we have ever stayed in and we don't stay in inexpensive hotels.

  • Liked — Everything was awesome.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Haan, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2008

This small 30 rooms hotel is quietly located at Miller Park, a few blocks from downtown. It is a twenty minutes drive to Moose, the southern entrance of the Teton NP.
Our room on the 2nd floor with mountain and parking view was nicely decorated, with two teddy bears on the bed waiting for us for the night when we returned from dinner. Breakfast was tempting with a selection of hot plates prepared by the chefs. There is a small sitting area with a library with a lot of documentation on the two NP. A complementary PC is available behind the reception desk.
My suggestion for dinner: Trio bistro, just off town square!

  • Liked — clean and cozy room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mundus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

This is a very special place. We stayed two nights in a King size room with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. It was warm, comfortable, very clean, great linens, great bed and pillows. Very quiet, too, so you can sleep late or take a nap. The breakfast is custom cook to order daily and is outstanding. The staff are amazing. There is satellite TV, WIFI, coffee, tea, cookies, and fruit all the time. The bathroom supplies are Occidental, outstanding. The tub in our room was amazing, my husband and I took baths together, totally romantic. The teton park is fantastic; the hiking amazing. I wish I had stayed longer, highly recommend.

  • Liked — the bed, plillows, tub, and bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MarianaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

This was one of the most amazing places I have ever stayed. Our price included breakfast everyday and the staff made us feel as if we were at home. This was the first hotel in my world travels that I have ever had a curfew to return back to by 930 each nite to sit in the hot tub under the full moon. The rooms were very romantic so make sure you are in the mood to be pampered!

  • Liked — The staff, the food and the location...oops and the deck with the hot tub and the rooms...!!
  • Disliked — The price...just because i must give something in this category
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madison l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warmington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2008

The sharp eyed reader may notice that this is our second review of the Rusty Parrot and our third of Jackson. For a couple of Brits to visit JH 3 times in 3 years in the summer might seem strange, but we just love the place - we are probably going back there next summer as well.

We first stayed in the RP in 2006 but had to cut short our stay for an emergency return to the UK - and we vowed to return to the area. We duly did in 2007 but stayed up the road at the Inn on the Creek as we planned to spend very little time in the hotel - but our 4 day stay convinced us that JH was worth a two week stay and we decided to return to the Rusty Parrot.

First the basics - the hotel is ideally suited for both the town and for getting out to the Tetons and Yellowstone. It is on a quiet grassy square about 5 minutes walk into the old town with its restaurants, shops and galleries. There is a good sized parking lot at the rear, plus plenty of close street parking directly opposite.

We booked direct and paid around $450 per night for a king room with fireplace at the rear of the hotel on the second floor overlooking the mountain behind the hotel. No hotels close to JH centre will have great views but this is as good as you can realistically get within walking distance of town. The room was everything you could need. Beautiful bed with top quality linen, spacious bathroom with top quality toiletries, loads of towels and a big tub with shower. There was a fire that would be great in winter, good and effective AC and lots of local information. TV was digital satellite with hundreds of channels, and of course there is the Rusty Parrot teddy bear in lots of quirky positions around the room. Turn down service everynight brought a poem or song plus a Tram muesli bar.

The hotel staff are first rate from the bell hops who sort the luggage and clean the car windscreen's each morning, through housekeeping and then to the concierge staff at the front desk who will sort everything out for you from restaurant reservations to trip advice, all with a smile and the time to chat about your stay. On the first floor there is a library sitting area overlooking the hot tub where there are cookies and tea, coffee and hot chocolate.

Breakfast is included and is also excellent, The chefs prepare 4 specials each morning like Breakfast Burrito, Hueavos Rancheros, Pancakes, Idaho Trout etc, and will also cook anything reasonable to order like bacon & eggs. There is also a buffett of muffins, fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola & pastries. There is also coffee available from 6.30am.

We ate in the Wild Sage restaurant one night, plus had some appetisers as room service. The food and service is very good, but probably not quite the best in town. It is innovative though with some interesting combinations.

The RP is a great base for both Jackson (especially at this time of year with its Arts Festival) and also for the National Parks. South Yellowstone is a couple of hours away, but North Yellowstone is a touch too far for more than one day trip. However, the Grand Teton NP is in many ways better than Yellowstone for day hikes and wildlife. We got up close with elk, bull moose, beavers, pronghorn, deer and grizzlies within the Tetons. The only thing you don't get is the geo-thermal features.

We spent some "quality time" with Teton's most famous grizzly, Bear 399, along Pacific Creek Road, plus one of her cubs.

We would recommend the RP to anyone wanting to stay in the best in Jackson - just don't book the room we want for next September!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Big_Blue_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
517 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
7.9 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
7.9 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa

Property: Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Address: 175 N Jackson St, P.O. Box 1657, Jackson, WY 83001-8521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#3 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The standard of the lodge industry, it is located in downtown Jackson, a stroll from all the touristy, but feels almost like country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusty Parrot Hotel Jackson
Rusty Parrot Jackson
Rusty Parrot Lodge And Spa Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing