We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, but Travel & Leisure Magazine is way off.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Washington D.C.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fine, but Travel & Leisure Magazine is way off.”
Reviewed 8 May 2006

We went to The Rusty Parrot in large part because Travel & Leisure magazine rated it the best hotel in America, or something along those lines. Upon checking in, we were truly baffled. The hotel is nice -- the rooms are pretty, the food is really good, and the service is friendly. But best hotel in America???? There is just no way that can be true. The hotel is located on the edge of the town, without any spectacular views, and the rooms are just average-sized (we stayed in a King room upstairs), with nice furniture and linens. The tub was slightly oversized, but the bathroom was generally pretty standard. If you are looking for a nice inn in Jackson, this is a good choice. If you are looking for something spectacular, as the reviews in Travel & Leisure suggest, you may be disappointed, as we were. In fact, we kept joking with each other all week -- "Well, we don't have a fridge in the room, or a view of anything but the parking lot, but it's the best hotel in America!" I don't want to disparage the place, as it was perfectly nice, but certainly did not blow us away as we were expecting based on what we'd read. Maybe if you stay in the fanciest room of all, you might feel differently, but we were left wondering how on earth Travel & Leisure gave it the review they did.

Helpful?
12 Thank King2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    59
    15
    10
    2
See reviews for
125
297
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 May 2006

Not impressed simple as that. It didn't help my experience that it was Jacksons WY off season and there was no where to eat, shop or go to the parks. Motel lacked off season service.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 May 2006

I heard great things about the Rusty Parrot but I wasn't very impressed. We wanted more of a mountain western feel and the Rusty Parrot was quite stuffy. It is just your average hotel setting where you share walls with loud skiers. It was just Blah! Like all the other motels. For the price I expected a little more which resulted in disappointment. Don't get me wrong it was nice but just stale atmosphere. Food is great and that is about it. I would next time try to find something with more of a western flare. Next time I am going to find a locally owned with more relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 April 2006

I first heard of the RPL on the Today show when it was named best small hotel in the US. Jackson Hole was not a place I ever considered traveling to before but a business trip to Salt Lake City found me only a 45 min flight away so I had to try it. It turned out to be one of my best vacation experiences ever! The staff catered to our every need from arranging snowmobiling, snowshoeing and transportation to and from our activities. As others mentioned the breakfasts were amazing and as an East Coast'r I loved the friendliness of everyone. Although I was somewhat disappointed there was no "main" spa they also went out of their way to meet our needs. We requested an impromptu message on the night we had arrived and they were able to deliver. There was nothing better then being picked up at your door to get a massage and then just walk across the hall back to your room when it was over! My idea of Heaven! The beds were cozy and plenty of pillows! I highly recommend the Rusty Parrot Lodge to anyone staying in Jackson Hole.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 April 2006

My wife and I and our two teenage boys stayed for three nights in late March. Everyone absolutely loved the Rusty Parrot. My wife loved the room, the spa, the creative and delicious breakfasts included with the room rate. I had to pry my sons out of the comfy beds, and I loved the staff of truly friendly and helpful people. The Wild Sage was intimate and warm with a big fireplace (both for dinner and for the breakfasts). The Rusty Parrot is a special place and follows in the great western tradition of friendly hospitality. Clearly the owner takes great pains to hire the best staff and maintain a very high level of quality. Even the location is great---on a quiet side street close but not too close to the square and across from a lovely little park. Ideal for skiing (a short drive to the hill) or summer activities. We look forwards to a return soon.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2006

After reading great reviews of the Rusty Parrot, our expectations were high. We took a trip in January to do some skiing & snowboarding - however, looking back we would have been just fine staying at the inn the entire time. We were not disappointed! From the moment we walked in, the service was top notch. Not the type of service that staff gives just because it's their job - but first class service from some great people. The room was wonderful...if it wasn't for the fabulous breakfasts that got us up each morning, we would have slept in all day in the comfortable beds. The free breakfasts are not like any others out there (i.e. continental). Creative, delicious entrees. We aren't big breakfast eaters, but we did not miss one. We dined at the Wild Sage for dinner, and it was one of the best meals we ever had. The spa was excellent as well. We can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2006

We just returned from a 17 night stay at the Rusty Parrot Lodge and it was wonderful.

We found the front desk (and all of the staff) to be extremely competent and very helpful. No request was too much - they even returned a pair of boots that had been mis-matched so that I could enjoy my time out on the slopes. Recommendations on dining options and activities were excellent, any problems - such as a refund when one of the snowmobiles broke down on a Yellowstone tour were smoothly handled by the front desk and on top pf it all everyone was so warm and friendly - even greeting us on the slopes when they saw us.

The rooms were extremely comfortable - good mattresses, pillows, etc. And the food was superb! Particularly the breakfasts! Sadly after 17 days our waistlines clearly demonstrate that we enojyed them a bit too much.....

We can't recomment this hotel enough - we loved it and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbynottinghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
1.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
0.4 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
0.2 mi away
The Wort Hotel
The Wort Hotel
#11 of 40 in Jackson
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa

Property: Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Address: 175 N Jackson St, P.O. Box 1657, Jackson, WY 83001-8521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#1 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#3 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The standard of the lodge industry, it is located in downtown Jackson, a stroll from all the touristy, but feels almost like country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusty Parrot Hotel Jackson
Rusty Parrot Jackson
Rusty Parrot Lodge And Spa Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing