We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, repeat visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2007

Excellent resort, though almost too small to be called a resort, excellent front office staff, clean, spacious rooms, agree with another review, weak point is poor towels, rooms are as described. Pleasant small common areas, town location, walk to great restaurants, best one is in the hotel however. Plan to eat red meat, it is a red meat town, if you want pasta carbonara, you did a poor job of choosing your travel destination. Breakfast, included, is awesome and professionally prepared by kitchen staff (not toast and croissants as in Venice and Paris), wine cellar is supreme. worth the trip -- they pay attention to detail. This is an adult getaway, not disneyworld!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2006

We recently had a family gathering before the holidays in Jackson, Wyoming and chose the Rusty Parrot for all to stay. We have been in Jackson Hole area many times and have stayed at a wide variety of places between downtown and the Teton Village ski area. If you want to try staying in town for the convenience of shopping and restaurants, the Rusty Parrot by far exceeded our expectations mainly in the level of service they provided to us as visitors.

We had difficulty (as many do) getting into Jackson in the winter months making it necessary to drive in from Salt Lake vice the flight we expected to take. Not only did the front desk give us the best directions and weather enroute, but had a lovely bottle of wine and fresh fruit waiting in our rooms upon our late arrival into Jackson.

The rooms were exceptionally comfortable with down comforters and fireplaces making a winter trip there even more enjoyable. The room includes breakfast each morning in their fabulous seating area off of the lobby with a large river rock fireplace blazing away each day. The chef that we had mainly was "Edmond", and he was fantastic. Besides the specials available to pick from, he would make anything asked to accomodate your appetite that morning. The breakfasts were superb and the hospitality of the breakfast wait staff impeccable. Although we did not take advantage of dinner in the restaurant, it is lauded by all locals as one of the best places to eat in the town for a truly gourmet meal.

We did use the spa services, which - while not as "fancy" as the services you'll receive up in the Teton Village at the Avanyu Spa or others - were very convenient and relatively cheaper than most boutique spas for the services provided for great massage and therapy services.

Concierge and bell staff provided outstanding services by clearing cars on snowy days prior to our departure and arranging and recommending a large variety of activities....some at a much better rate than you could get on your own. What more could we expect?!

The only problems encountered was that one of the rooms occupied by our family was on the top floor, but still above the kitchen -- when in operation, it could be noisy as it appeared that the kitchen shared the same flue as our fireplace flue when the ventilator over the grill/oven was turned on (this was room 301 -- comfortable room, but had this issue between 6/7AM and restaurant closing). Now to become independently wealthy to become a full-time resident at the hotel!

The Rusty Parrot has it over all the others for the level of service provided in a western quaint and very comfortable environment.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank holwin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2006

Easily lived up to our expectations of a very classy place to stay and we stay in upscale properties wherever we go. There are no negatives. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlybaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2006

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Rusty Parrot. We were very pleased with the lodge and particuarly the staff. This is a lovely, small hotel. The decor is "refined western". Our room had a fireplace that we used every night. A call to the front desk and literally minutes later someone appeared to light it. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slep in and the bathroom was wonderful. This really feels like a place for adults. It is very quiet. We wanted to see wildlife and the staff was so helpful in telling us EXACTLY where and when to go to find bison and moose. We loved not needing reservations for breakfast or having to sign a check. We wanted to get up and out the door to explore. How nice to grab a cup of coffee and juice while your entree is being cooked. The whole place is very low key, but that doesn't mean the service isn't excellent AND friendly. We could stay at a Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton in almost any city . But we wanted a place that felt like the west and not a cookie cutter resort. We found it at the Rusty Parrot. Is this "the best" hotel in the U.S.? Everyone has their own criteria. All I can say is that it is lovely, warm, comfortable, with terrific service and the friendly attitude of Wyoming. We really couldn't have been happier there.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaisyM03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2006

We spent the previous 3 nights at more "rustic" accommodations in the National Parks so we were very pleased with our room at the Rusty Parrot. The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable that we slept like babies. The hotel is expensive but for the most part it earns its "luxury" status. I disagree with the previous poster's comment about the bathrooms -- we definitely had a door on ours and the towels were very thick and soft. The hot tub was not operating when we were there, but they explained that and offered us the use of a hot tub in an adjoining property.

The staff was always friendly and helpful. The dining room was beautiful and inviting and the common room on the upper floor was a nice place to sit and read. The breakfasts were excellent with a variety of gourmet entrees on the menu each day. Although it was not advertised, they would make anything that you requested even if it wasn't on the menu. All in all we had a positive experience at the Rusty Parrot. The hotel had an elegant feel even though it was in a rustic area. We didn't really expect a fantastic "view" so we were not disappointed. We really liked being able to walk out the front door and into the downtown area in a few minutes.

Nothing is perfect, and there were a few things that could be improved -- relating to the dining room. The first morning at breakfast was very confusing -- some "instructions" would have been appreciated. Cups and glasses were hanging from above the counter, but not readily seen. People were walking around trying to figure out what to do. There are limited tables (only 6), and its not clear if newcomers are free to join others if there is space at their table or if they are supposed to sit around and wait for a table to be free. Other options for seating (the sofa in the dining room, upstairs in the sitting room, or even in one's own room) were not mentioned, but I saw prepared food being delivered upstairs so maybe they were options. We would have preferred some sort of reservation system or publicized instructions of the breakfast procedures so we could have planned our morning better.

We ate dinner in the dining room one night, but canceled our 2nd reservation. The setting is beautiful, the food is beautifully presented, service is friendly and prompt, but the menu is very limited. We loved the appetizers but were disappointed in our main entrees and there really wasn't anything else on the menu that we would have wanted to try another night. I ordered the beef tenderloin for dinner but had to send it back twice because it was too rare. Each time they started with a brand new piece of meat Instead of just cooking the one I had a little more. They were probably trying to do the right thing so the plate would be presentable, but it just made it worse because the meat never got to the medium state that I ordered. Since my husband was finished with his meal by the time got mine, I ended up just letting him eat the most of it since it was still too rare for me!

If we visit the Jackson Hole area again, we would definitely stay at the Rusty Parrot. Yes it was expensive, but for the most part it was worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2006

We stayed at Rusty Parrot the last two nights of our weeklong Yellowstone trip. I wanted to end the trip in luxery, with a worldclass hotel stay, fancy dinner and spa treatment.
We were disappointed from the start in the accomodations. I had read that R.P. had been named #1 small hotel in the USA by Travel+Leisure magazine, so maybe my expectations were too high.
There are no balconies (at least not on our top-floor room). The view is of a run-down house in front of a big hill. The R.P. is located on a side street, so it's nice to walk downtown Jackson, but there are no views and no outdoorsy feel to it. I don't see how they won such a prestigous award since you look down on a parking lot.
The staff was very, very attentive. But the room was very mediocre. We spent $375/night and felt we'd way overspent. Our room was just a large hotel room with sparse decorating.
The bathroom was nice, but not fantastic like I expected. I've stayed in other places that go the extra mile with slate tiling and a mountain-y feel, but this is just regular cheap white tile, with no door. So, you freeze while you shower because you can't shut off that room. The towels reminded me of the stiff, cheap ones you get at a Motel 6. Why they can't splurge for higher thread-count towels seemed weird to us.
The spa isn't actually a spa. It's a room on the bottom floor. I was disappointed in that, but I did have a wonderful massage (one of the best ever) from Anna, so it made up for the lack of an actual spa experience.
We ended up cancelling our dinner reservations because the menu was so limited. We don't eat much red-meat and you only get a choice of 5 items. My brother had eaten there just weeks before we were there, and he said it was fantastic (just be prepared to pay $45 an entree).
We just didn't expect to have the problems that cheap hotels do. The hottub was broken our entire stay with no word and when it would be fixed. And taking a shower was an adventure because the water went from luke-warm to freezing several times while we showered. You'd expect them to have a better hot water heating system.
We aren't super-picky travellers and try to have a good attitude about things when they don't work quite right, but this was just such a big disapointment.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank mpaden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2006

My wife and I just spent five nights at the Rusty Parrot. Our time there was great. The breakfasts there were fabulous, better then any B&B we have ever stayed at. The beds were VERY VERY comfortable, after long days in the Tetons and Yellowstone, we had no problems with the fantastic linens and pillows, probably the best we've ever had. We've stayed in the Bellagio and several other top notch facilites in Times square and Carmel, and this had equivalent quality beds.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank petechicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
7.9 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
7.9 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa

Address: 175 N Jackson St, P.O. Box 1657, Jackson, WY 83001-8521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#3 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: £190 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The standard of the lodge industry, it is located in downtown Jackson, a stroll from all the touristy, but feels almost like country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusty Parrot Hotel Jackson
Rusty Parrot Jackson
Rusty Parrot Lodge And Spa Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing