We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed 17 August 2007

We stayed at the Rusty Parrot for 5 nights this August. They greeted us by name the moment we stepped out of the taxi. The front desk help were all VERY friendly and helpful. They made all of dinner reservations for us and were knowledgeable about events and happenings in the area. They would have reserved guides and activities for us as well, but we chose to book privately with our own guide. Greg Falk of Upstream Angelers was the best, he took us fly fishing, to Grand Teton and to Yellowstone in his SUV. I can't imagine a better private guide for the area. The breakfasts were cooked to order and fabulous. Our room was very pleasant and clean. The bed and pillows were really comfortable and the linens were fresh and clean. The location was great, just a few blocks walk into the center of town. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank mossclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    58
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
107
262
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia City, Indiana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

The Rusty Parrot is definitely a luxury place to stay. The beds and bedding are out of a dream. The complimentary breakfast is one you could expect to pay $40+ for anywhere else. The afternoon cookies are served warm and fresh. The staff is highly trained and top notch. This was our third stay and each time we've treated ourselves to a massage at the Sage spa, which is heavenly. When we think of a trip out west, there is nowhere else we'd rather stay. If you are looking for a romantic place, this is it. If you are looking for the highest quality and comfort, this is it. You can easily walk through town from here. Yellowstone is just over an hour away. You might as well plan on a repeat stay if you are coming for the first time. It's the best in the west hands down!

  • Liked — I can't narrow it down to just one thing!
  • Disliked — It is quite pricey, but for something special, it's worth the splurge
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShowMeTheMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We just returned from a 12 day vacation driving by motorcycle from Lead, SD to Jackson Hole, WY. We did the bike week and decided to further out on our adventure.

We did not have any reservations and came upon the Rusty Parrot. I had searched this resort at home from the beginning and hoped to have stayed here. Well, we sure did. It was very, very quaint and pretty. We did pay $385.00 for the night and had the lower lever room #106. The only thing my boyfriend did not like because of the price, is that we had a basement sort of room with a bumper of a car for our scenery! For me, I loved the bathroom and we both loved the jacuzzi on the deck while drinking martini's!!!

The breakfast was to die for!!! I would definitely go back next yr. Really, nice place and good service!!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ISLANDS722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

My family and I stayed overnight at the Rusty Parrot on the drive back from Yellowstone to the Salt Lake City airport. Travel + Leisure's World's Best Survey rated the property #1 in North America, so we obviously had high expectations. Our room was somewhat bland, but the high quality of the items and attention to detail showed. The outdoor hot tub with views of Jackson was a nice amenity. The lodge's complimentary breakfast was excellent, as well as the afternoon snacks in the lobby. The best aspect of the hotel was the service. The bellhop gave us a tour of the room and offered to get our ice; also, the staff addressed everyone by their first name. The concierge provided us with a map and directions back to Salt Lake City. Although a very well-run hotel, this certainly isn't the best in the country. Because of the $500 high season rate we paid, the experience was somewhat disappointing. Seeing that the Parrot was rated #1 in 2005, I was astonished that the lodge didn't even score in the Top 100 the following year.

  • Liked — The quietness and attention to details.
  • Disliked — The overpriced room rates.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank howard11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

My wife and I stayed for four nights, 5/1-5/4/07. It is a perfect place to be pampered. The rooms were great, and the whirpool in the room, not the bathroom, was great for us. Mary Jane at the front desk, was great host. She gave us ideas on what to do and see, especially the Wildlife Tour. That was really neat, we saw many animals.
The food was excellent. The breakfast are included in the price of the room. You go down at YOUR leisure!! We ate dinner twice, and loved it. I had the Elk, and it was better than beef, and really tender. My wife was really impressed, so we will be going back in the near future. I cannot say enough good things about this place, except to say I wish all the hotels would treat you as good as they do.
Thanks from Virginia, Greg & Sandy Woodworth

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2007

Excellent resort, though almost too small to be called a resort, excellent front office staff, clean, spacious rooms, agree with another review, weak point is poor towels, rooms are as described. Pleasant small common areas, town location, walk to great restaurants, best one is in the hotel however. Plan to eat red meat, it is a red meat town, if you want pasta carbonara, you did a poor job of choosing your travel destination. Breakfast, included, is awesome and professionally prepared by kitchen staff (not toast and croissants as in Venice and Paris), wine cellar is supreme. worth the trip -- they pay attention to detail. This is an adult getaway, not disneyworld!

  • Liked — Arriving, and the reading room on the second floor, cookies at 4 pm
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank traveltoomuchToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2006

We recently had a family gathering before the holidays in Jackson, Wyoming and chose the Rusty Parrot for all to stay. We have been in Jackson Hole area many times and have stayed at a wide variety of places between downtown and the Teton Village ski area. If you want to try staying in town for the convenience of shopping and restaurants, the Rusty Parrot by far exceeded our expectations mainly in the level of service they provided to us as visitors.

We had difficulty (as many do) getting into Jackson in the winter months making it necessary to drive in from Salt Lake vice the flight we expected to take. Not only did the front desk give us the best directions and weather enroute, but had a lovely bottle of wine and fresh fruit waiting in our rooms upon our late arrival into Jackson.

The rooms were exceptionally comfortable with down comforters and fireplaces making a winter trip there even more enjoyable. The room includes breakfast each morning in their fabulous seating area off of the lobby with a large river rock fireplace blazing away each day. The chef that we had mainly was "Edmond", and he was fantastic. Besides the specials available to pick from, he would make anything asked to accomodate your appetite that morning. The breakfasts were superb and the hospitality of the breakfast wait staff impeccable. Although we did not take advantage of dinner in the restaurant, it is lauded by all locals as one of the best places to eat in the town for a truly gourmet meal.

We did use the spa services, which - while not as "fancy" as the services you'll receive up in the Teton Village at the Avanyu Spa or others - were very convenient and relatively cheaper than most boutique spas for the services provided for great massage and therapy services.

Concierge and bell staff provided outstanding services by clearing cars on snowy days prior to our departure and arranging and recommending a large variety of activities....some at a much better rate than you could get on your own. What more could we expect?!

The only problems encountered was that one of the rooms occupied by our family was on the top floor, but still above the kitchen -- when in operation, it could be noisy as it appeared that the kitchen shared the same flue as our fireplace flue when the ventilator over the grill/oven was turned on (this was room 301 -- comfortable room, but had this issue between 6/7AM and restaurant closing). Now to become independently wealthy to become a full-time resident at the hotel!

The Rusty Parrot has it over all the others for the level of service provided in a western quaint and very comfortable environment.

  • Liked — Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for room on third floor to minimize noise heard from others in hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank holwin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.4 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
0.2 mi away
The Wort Hotel
The Wort Hotel
#11 of 40 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
8.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa

Property: Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Address: 175 N Jackson St, P.O. Box 1657, Jackson, WY 83001-8521
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#3 Family Hotel in Jackson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The standard of the lodge industry, it is located in downtown Jackson, a stroll from all the touristy, but feels almost like country living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rusty Parrot Hotel Jackson
Rusty Parrot Jackson
Rusty Parrot Lodge And Spa Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing