We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Snowmobile Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goosewing Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goosewing Ranch
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Snowmobile Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2010

My son and I came to Jackson mid-February of 2010 for a week of snowboarding and other activities. I had booked with Goosewing to do an all-day Snowmobile trip, we ended up going on the Togwotee trip, just us and another experienced couple. We had a great time, covered a lot of ground, and came back thoroughly exhausted. Well worth the money, and Lefty, our guide, was absolutely great. Patient, Personable, and Knowledgeable, he freed our sleds in no time when we did something wrong and got them stuck. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank p0rkch0p365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    12
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

We went snowmobiling with Goosewing in Jan. It was very cold! They suited us up and gave us hand and foot warmers and let us take our time getting out in the morning because of the cold -30 in Yellowstone (actual temp) But our guide Dave was great and you could tell her really enjoyed his job. What a great company-first rate.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
Thank dscStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Just got back from Jackson Hole for a weeks R&R. Took a snowmobile trip, then a dog sled trip and then four days at the Four Seasons.
The two day/one night snowmobile trip into YellowStone Park was one of the highlights of our trip . We saw Old Faithfull on my birthday ( 72 years young).

AMY was a great guide , very professional, and informed about the park. We were happy that we went in the beginning of the snow season and thus it was only the guide and us on two snowmobiles.Many outfitters would have cancelled our trip due to only two customers. Gooswwing did not. They get 5 stars.
Weather was every thing possible. Sun/cold/snow/ blue sky and nice coditions in general. It has not snowed for many days in the Jackson Hole area. This is becoming a problem. The mountains have about 5 inches of new snow when we were there. Down in the vally (JH) there is no snow!!!!!

The equipment worked well at all times. The organization of the trip by GooseWing was outstanding!

Every thing was on schedule. The very early pick up at the hotel was on time.,the fitting of the gear went smooth, and they made sure we were dressed for the occasion.

We highly recommenf that you take the two day trip . Lots more time to see and enjoy the park.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainBobKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.E. Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

My daughter cried when we had to leave. We all missed our horses and our new friends. I would highly recommend Goosewing Ranch to anyone wanting to experience the beauty of the American West and who enjoys horseback riding and wild life viewing. It's a Dude Ranch that balances western flair with greenhorn accomodations. My parents, sister's family (4) and my family (4) stayed in the Guest House. It was clean, had a beautiful porch from which we viewed an amazing meteor shower and basic amenities including a refridgerator. The food was delicious, and the cook was very accomodating to my fuss budget children (PB&J on request). The staff was wonderful and the wranglers were very entertaining and helpful. The trail rides were spectacular. The most unexepcted surprise was the extent of the international flair. Many of the guests were French. The supplemental acitivities filled up the spare time when we weren't riding or cooling off in the pool or relaxing in the hot tub. Reading some of these reviews makes me suggest that if you don't like rugged adventures, horseback riding and family style accomodations perhaps a Dude Ranch isn't the right vacation for you. The Goosewing Ranch Staff rocks! Our wrangler on the last day even snagged a really cool elk skull that we mailed home for our son. Awesome! Thanks so much! We want to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAWesternWonabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler0090890
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

I traveled to Goosewing with my parents (67 and 70) and extended family. We had children from 9 to 14 and everyone had a wonderful time. Everyone at the ranch was very helpful. The food was wonderful, rooms were comfortablel and activities everything we could ask for in a vacation. We learned to fly fish, road horses, enjoyed a bon fire, went to Yellowstone and just enjoyed Jackson Hole. If you want the perfect vacation book Goosewing Ranch. I am a travel agent and have traveled the globe. My family always stays in 4 or 5 star resorts and this was prefect. It is for the laid back traveler. If you want to enjoy a horse ranch, great people, and get away from TV and being plugged in book your escape to Goosewing.
I am trying to find a way to get back out there and know I will come up with something.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler0090890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, ny
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

This trip was a birthday gift from my family. My daughter planned this trip because we enjoyed riding together and she knew I'd always wanted to go to a ranch. We decided to make it a family vacation so my husband and son came along even though they are not avid riders.
One of the reasons my daughter chose Goosewing was because our time was limited and Goosewing was one of the only ranches that allowed half week stays She was a little apprehensive having chosen it based only on reviews on the internet. . She needn't have worried as Goosewing exceeded all our expectations! The setting was breathtaking! The log cabins were cozy and charming. The horses were beautiful, the food was top notch but most of all the staff was excellent. Everyone from the cooks, servers,wranglers, Paula, the manager, and Francois, the owner strove to make this an enjoyable experience.On the day we had to leave my son needed to take an earlier flight than the rest of us. Francois got up at 4:30 a.m. to drive him to the airport! Then because it had been raining and the roads were muddy, Francois was afraid our car wouldn't make it down the mountain. He loaded our car on a flatbed, and he and Eric and Amy, two of the wranglers, drove us down the mountain! (Thanks guys!)
Every effort was made to attend to all our needs during our stay. It truly was an awesome experience and we hope to go back again, this time for an even longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetplanet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ky
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2008

This was my second year at the ranch, it was even better than last year, if that's possible. Francois, Paula, Wayne, and Amy went out of their way to make it a great trip. The riding was fantastic, and thanks to Kevin and Ron everyone enjoyed gourmet dining. If you want a genuine ranch experience in a beautiful setting this is the place to stay.

Dane & Patti
Ky

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PattiVKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
26.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
24.7 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
24.6 mi away
Huff House Inn and Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole Hotel & Suites
25.2 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
25.0 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goosewing Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goosewing Ranch

Property: Goosewing Ranch
Address: 650 W Broadway Ave, P.O. Box 4084, Jackson, WY 83001-8643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Goosewing Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Our Jackson Hole, Wyoming Summer Vacation Guest Ranch!Here at Goosewing Ranch, we combine the lifestyle of ranching in the Wyoming wilderness with many of the modern refinements that make your visit with us especially enjoyable.At 7,400 feet, the valley is the host to some of North America’s most spectacular game: elk, moose, mountain sheep, antelope, bear, eagles, geese, cranes, and much more, not to mention fantastic scenery. The Gros Ventre River, home to native cutthroat trout, runs through the meadows of our historic ranch.Our Jackson Hole dude ranch offers comfortable lodging in eight private guest cabins and three larger 2-bedroom cabins for bigger families. Complimentary wireless internet is provided throughout the Ranch. With its large stone fireplace, the main lodge serves as a central gathering place for dining or relaxing. A loft with a pool table and television overlooks the main room. Fireplaces, wood-stoves, a hot tub and swimming pool add to the cozy atmosphere. A large selection of beer, wine, and liquor compliments an eclectic, seasonal menu.We invite you to come share this corner of North America’s wildest country just as it has been for over a hundred years – a working ranch reborn as an isolated retreat deep in the Gros Ventre River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goosewing Ranch Hotel Jackson
Goosewing Ranch Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing