We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps Best Hotel Ever Experienced in 60 years”
Review of Amangani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amangani
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We only stayed two nights, deciding to try it out over the Four Seasons. In a word, we wish we had stayed the entire trip. This was our first experience in an Aman but it will NOT be our last. The decor, service and food was world class and the staff excelled at everything. The peace and tranquility and small (40) number of rooms makes it one of, if not THE, most relaxing we have ever experienced. Would highly recommend to family,friends and our most valued business associates. Will try out the only other Aman in the US, Amangiri in Utah soon.

Room Tip: Top floor affords majestic views, but all rooms probably have very similar. No wifi or parking char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ritzytopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just wonderful, though unpredictable weather...well,that's Wyoming!
Staff were all delight, welcome, and it was like at peaceful home. We'll come back definetly again in winter time, and this will be our start to Amanjunkies!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank sam0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Beautiful Hotel in Beautiful Setting. For a quiet getaway this is it.

Room Tip: No bad rooms, all have a great view of the Tetons!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My husband and I recently took our mothers to Jackson for Memorial Day weekend, and we finally stayed at Amangani, where we had dined 5 years ago while skiing and staying at the Four Seasons. We have since stayed at numerous Aman properties, but this is the one that first made us recognize how special the Aman experience can be.

We stayed in the Grand Teton Suite, and our mothers stayed in the adjacent Superior Suite (organized with 2 adjacent twin beds). Our suites were both wonderful. The Grand Teton Suite has a spectacular wrap-around balcony offering incredible views of the Tetons from the top floor of the property. The suite was supremely comfortable, and the heated floors on the outside balcony and near the bath/toilet/shower were very nice, considering we had temperatures well below freezing and even had a full day of snow! The fireplace works wonders, so you need to be sure to adjust it and your thermostat so you don't overheat your suite if you prefer otherwise.

The pros:

(1) Aman service. You can just can't beat it. The staff was incredibly friendly, conversant, and engaging, and always trying to help. We brought wine with us, and when we brought the wrong bottle to dinner, a server offered to bring it back to our Suite and bring back the correct bottle. They stored some of our bottles in their refrigerated wine storage, as well. They offered to run into town to pick up specific beers that my mother-in-law likes. Housekeeping always managed to clean our suites while we were out without any hint of disturbance. When we mentioned our wireless internet was a bit haphazard, a maintenance man installed a wireless router specifically for our suite, which completely solved the problem. (Of course, there should already have been a wireless router in our suite, it being one of the most expensive in the hotel!) Another reviewer commented that the staff was too friendly, something I find entertaining--I suspect that reviewer is never happy.

(2) Aman authenticity. The resort is a Zen like merge of Western lodge and Asian retreat. It looks and feels at home in the Tetons, while offering a more serene and modernist take on the standard high end mountain lodge. It feels much bigger than its 40 suites would suggest, and the views from its lobby/lounge are amazing. It has a spacious yet intimate feel, quite unusual in our experience.

(3) DINING was extraordinary. Never had a bad meal with 3 breakfasts, 1 lunch, and 1 dinner. You can actually eat any meal at any time of day you want, which is quite the luxury, too.

Breakfasts. Other reviews have mentioned this, and we can't reiterate it enough. The breakfast menu had so many choices we wanted to try, there weren't enough days. Over the course of our 3 mornings, we together sampled just about everything--and it was all delicious. Amazing selection and quality considering it's such a small property. Service was at times a little slow, but we tend to dine like Europeans, so it wasn't an issue really for us.

Dinner. We had dinner here on our first evening (dining the next nights at Snake River Grill, which was incredible, and Wild Sage, which was good but not outstanding). We very much liked the menu, though it did not have the wonderful variety of the breakfast menu, to be fair. Service was outstanding, and all of our meals were fantastic. We considered dining for dinner again, in fact, on our last evening, because we enjoyed it so much.

Lunch. We had lunch on the Sunday when it snowed for most of the day. Fantastic, again, with great service, as well. We considered ordering again from the breakfast menu, since it's so amazing, but had lunch to see how it was. Outstanding.

(4) Spa. Our mothers enjoyed 2 complimentary massages as part of our package through Andrew Harper. They said they were the best massages they've ever had, though to be fair they don't typically travel in this luxury segment like we do. Still, they were very pleased.

We had a few hiccups, in that our underfloor heating once was accidentally turned off, and the internet was a bit off in our suite as mentioned above, but a single call and these were handled promptly and efficiently. If you let Amangani know you have an issue, they will handle it better than almost any property anywhere. This has been our experience at every Aman at which we have stayed, in fact--a nice thing to note when you consider other Aman properties.

We loved Amangani. For outside ski season, we know it will be our preferred property in Jackson, one of our favorite places in the US. For ski season, we still prefer the slopeside location of the Four Seasons, but that would be the only reason we would not stay at Amangani at that time. We love it so much that we might opt to try Amangani during ski season, too, to see how the slightly distant location from the slopes impacts skiing. On the other hand, we were surprised to realize how close to town Amangani is--just 10 minutes drive, at most. A real plus.

We've now stayed at the Four Seasons (3 times), the Rusty Parrot Lodge, and Amangani in Jackson. Unquestionably, we like Amangani the most. The FS can be as good, but has been more uneven in service, and its dining is not as good as that at Amangani. The Rusty Parrot Lodge, for the money and in-town location, is a more affordable option, but we were underwhelmed with their Wild Sage restaurant, supposedly one of the best dining options in town. All in alll, you can't go wrong with any of those options. But if you can afford Amangani, it makes all the difference for us!

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views...but if it's windy, these same rooms are more exposed and a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This is our 5th time traveling to Jackson Hole for winter skiing. We usually have a group of friends traveling with us but this time it was just me and my husband. We decided to 'upgrade' and stay at the Amangani. We have always heard such great things about it and wanted to see first hand if it held true to all of the hype. I can personally say that Amangani takes 5 star service to a different level. This place has the entire package plus some, from the landscape, views, decor, spa, customer service, etc. We were blown away. We have stayed in other 5 star resorts but nothing can compare to the Aman resorts. They treat you like you are family. I am on a gluten free diet and they went out of their way to accommodate my diet restrictions for every meal. Gluten free meals can be quite drab but the chef made the best meals I have ever eaten. My husband who is not gluten free enjoyed every single meal as well. We chose to eat at the hotel for basically every meal because it was so delicious and also because we loved being able to eat next to the fireplace for breakfast, lunch, and dinner while looking at the Tetons. It was truly romantic. The wait staff were always on point, especially Michael. He always went out of his way for us and made our meals that much more romantic. The rooms are amazing. The floors are heated for those cold and windy days. Our bathtub was was amazing. I filled it daily and gazed at the Tetons. After skiing all day we always soaked in the hot tub and then went into the steamroom. The spa is beautiful and and has a very tranquil feel. They picked us up from the airport in a BMW X5 and was offered hot hand towels that were soaked in essential oils. The hotel had a snowboard rental company meet up at the hotel for fittings and then they took them to the amangani lounge so we did not have to lug around anything. We took the shuttle to and from the ski lifts every day. The lounge is right next to the main lift. They have hot tea, cocoa, water for free. If you want a beer or wine or snacks they have a menu you can order from. It can get a little busy in the lounge during peak times. The bathrooms were always clean. The shuttle only leaves at certain times so sometimes you have to sit and wait for 30 min plus in the lounge. We were always used to walking straight to our ski in and out hotel. But when looking at all of the extras and the atmosphere of the Amangani... who cares. :) It is truly an amazing hotel. We now are looking into other aman properties to visit. It is pricey but you definitely get what you pay for and then some.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This is one of my favorite hotels anywhere. The rooms and design are gorgeous. It's isolated but worth it for the view. A lways a heated pool even in the snow. Lovely spa. DELICIOUS meals and beautiful common spaces. One of the most gorgeous rooms I've ever stayed in, with a wrap-around balcony and views from the tub -- you can't help but love this place.

Room Tip: Since the trip is a splurge already, splurge for the nicest room you can get. We had a large room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

The setting is almost as beautiful as the facility itself. It's just enough rustic to be in Jackson
Hole and just enough perfect to be a 5 star, 5 diamond facility. The views of the Tetons, the view of the infinity pool, the impeccable and friendly service, the phenomenol spa -- all make this as close to perfect as can be! Comfortable, warm, with your very own fireplace -- you'll never want to leave!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STB424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
6.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
6.3 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
6.4 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Wort Hotel
The Wort Hotel
#9 of 40 in Jackson
592 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amangani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangani

Address: 1535 N East Butte Rd, Jackson, WY 83001-8727
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#6 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#10 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: £702 - £1,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangani 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangani (peaceful home) clings to the crest of East Gros Ventre Butte, some 2,135 metres above sea level, and affords magnificent views of the Grand Tetons and Snake River Valley. The resort evokes the atmosphere of the American West, from its redwood panelling to its blazing logfires. Amangani is an all-season resort. The winter highlight is skiing, while in spring, summer and fall the surrounding wilderness areas of Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks are amongst the many attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, MrandMrsSmith, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amangani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangani Hotel Jackson
Amangani Resort Jackson
Amangani Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing