We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Boys Loved It!”

Bar-T-5 Covered Wagon Cookout
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Our Boys Loved It!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I will confess that no one in my family of four wanted to go to the cookout the night we had tickets. I had purchased them ahead of time and because of the busy day, we were all tired and ready to go back to our condo and relax. However, because it was our last night in Jackson Hole and we had already paid a fair amount for the meal, we decided to drag ourselves to the cookout. Once we arrived, my husband started making fun of the situation because there was a senior citizen bus that had arrived. He told me that the cookout was probably something that my mom and dad would enjoy (ages 76 and 78). {Keep in mind he loves his in-laws...so it was said jokingly.} They enjoy shows, which are not usually our thing. To our surprise, by the end of the show, our 11 year old son was in tears. No, not bad tears, but tears from laughing so hard...which had my 13 year old son and the two of us laughing hard. My husband looked over at me and said....."I'm so glad we came. This was definitely worth it." We had a great meal and plenty of laughs... yes, right along side those senior citizens. Obviously with age comes wisdom.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    95
    20
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fun western outing”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

You gather at their main location, ride in a covered wagon up to picnic area (tables with roof) in the woods (complete with 'Indian attack') on the way. Food was so-so - BBQ chicken and I guess roast beef, corn, beans, blondies; with a western show with some audience participation. Yes, the whole thing is a little corny, but still fun, and an unusual adventure for my suburban kids. I was a little concerned it wouldn't be 'cool enough' for teens, but they enjoyed it too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3Vic3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Seemed like a good idea.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Sounded good, chuckwagon drive, barbecue dinner and western entertainment. But none of it was good. food could have been a lot better, entertainment was fairly hopeless, singers couldn't sing, and you couldn' even have an alcoholic drink and ignore it. Couldn't wait for it all to be over. A few days later we went to a similar event in Bryce canyon , which showed how it could be done.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So .... So”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Chicken was moist and delicious .... the rest of the food was just so...so. It was a little cheesey ..... I guess it's something to do once and experience it. The show was so ... so.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SHUM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
334 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great fun, good value and an amazing evening!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this if you are in Jackson. Wagon rides are memorable, food was very good, entertainment is fun and family friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar-T-5 Covered Wagon Cookout also viewed

 

Been to Bar-T-5 Covered Wagon Cookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing