We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Way to see Yellowstone!”

Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures
Ranked #15 of 73 Tours in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures offers world class guided tours through Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Park. Spend the day exploring Grand Teton National Park under the spectacular Teton Range looming overhead at 13,770 feet. Hear stories of fur trappers and mountain men that came into the valley to make a living and decided to lay down there hats in Jackson Hole and make a life in this sometimes harsh but beautiful climate. Make sure to keep a keen eye, there is nothing like being the first to spot one of the animals that reside in the Greater Yellowstone Eco System. Catching a black bear high up in a berry bush or spotting a Pronghorn, aka North Americas fastest land mammal, sprint through a meadow before your friends will definitely earn you some bragging rights on your trip! We will provide binoculars and your guide will set up a spotting scope so that you can see every little detail of these animals from a grizzly bear’s claws that can reach up to 4 inches long to the super soft velvet that cover the antlers of a moose’s paddles in the summer time. Or head up north into Yellowstone National Park and take in some 10,000 thermal features. You will see geysers that erupt 100 feet over your head and bacteria mats that are so colorful they rival fine art. Don’t worry about missing out on the animals listed above, they also call Yellowstone home and love to make an appearance on our tours. If you are lucky you could witness a bison taking a dust bath to keep away the bugs or watch a grizzly protect a fresh kill in the Hayden Valley. Americas first National Park covers an impressive 2,221,766 acres, so we want to make sure that you are well fed and comfortable throughout the 10-12 hour tour. Before you leave Jackson we will fuel up at a local coffee shop or market and just when the first tummy grumbles your guide will make a beautiful gourmet picnic lunch in one of the many pretty spots up in the park. We searched far and wide for a super comfortable ride to take our VIPS on tour and we landed in Ohio, home to the Explorer Van. Each of our Vans have leather captains chairs and raised roofs leaving you feeling like a million bucks at the end of a full day of touring. Yellowstone is like no place on earth making it a must see on your trip to Jackson Hole, Wyoming.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Way to see Yellowstone!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I were deciding how to tackle visiting Yellowstone when we came across Grizzly Adventures. We were happy with the tripadvisor reviews so we booked our 12 hour trip. The reviews were spot on! Our guide, Kris, arrived on time to our hotel. He was friendly and accommodated my husbands request to ride "shot-gun" instead of in the second row. To our delight, we were going to be the only passengers. Their minimum amt. of riders is 2 and maximum would be about 7 (at least in the SUV we were in). The SUV was big, clean and pretty comfy.

As we left town, we stopped by the local deli to pick up our picnic lunch. As we got close to the park, he started filling us in on some basic plans and our options for the day. Apparently there is a number to call to see "about" when Old Faithful would erupt. The time was close so we hurried to get there. We arrived with about 8 minutes to spare, got a front seat, and enjoyed the show. He dropped us off close and then he parked.

All throughout the trip he filled us in on info about the park, the animals, etc. His driving was safe. He knew exactly where to go and the best route. When you only have 12 hours to visit, this is definitely the route to go!

He worked really hard to make sure we saw the creatures we wanted. The one animal we missed was the grizzly. He tried so hard and visited so many spots, but it wasn't our day. He was really disappointed he couldn't deliver for us. We know that no animal sightings are guaranteed, but we appreciated his extra effort to find one.

Our picnic lunch was by a little creek on a picnic table. He had a table cloth, deli meat, fruit, and drinks all ready for us. He was great about providing RR stops along the way too!

He also brought along a high-powered telescope to observe wildlife more closely. (they had regular binoculars for each of us too!) This really worked out when we saw a moose and when he showed us two Osprey nests. Very cool! We even think we saw the heads of some wolves that were "bedded down". The best encounter was a small group of Bison that decided to surround the SUV on their way across the bridge. He even helped me get some video of it!

All in all we are very pleased we went with Grizzly Adventures. Kris was fun to be with and very accommodating too. If you have limited time and want to see the "best of" Yellowstone, I highly recommend giving them a call. You won't be sorry!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pmhorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    5
    2
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
1 review
“The Teacher Becomes the Student”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

'Amazing' isn't a big enough word to describe the day my students and I had with Jeff and Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures. We didn't just see the Tetons and Yellowstone, we experienced them. Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures provided everything we needed to transform a single day into a lifetime's worth of memories. They had powerful binoculars waiting for us on our seats and a spotting scope to put us onto pronghorn, elk and bison, sandhill cranes, trumpeter swans and heron, osprey and bald eagles. As a professor on the tour with two students, I certainly appreciated how our guide, Jeff, had such a wonderful command of the flora and fauna, of park and area history, of Nez Perce and Shoshone lore, and of the geology and geography of the landscape. His engaging, informed and intelligent, easy-going personality was much appreciated. My students and I did some reading about all of these things prior to coming to Jackson, so Jeff's knowledge and ability to communicate effectively helped reinforce most, if not all, of our major course concepts. And at the same time, there was an older couple on the tour with us, and Jeff and Grizzly Country were able to perfectly accommodate their needs and meet their expectations as well. I would recommend Jeff and Grizzly Country to anyone and I'll definitely partner with them again on my next trip to the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Trip to Jackson Hole, WY & Visits to the Tetons & Yellowstone”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Wow! I must say our multiple tours with Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures was, once again, perfect! In December, 2011, we had a tour with Jonathan (owner). During that 2011 tour at Christmas time, we found buffalo, big-horn sheep, tons of elk, a coyote, lots of moose (a.k.a. swamp donkey), fish in a hot spring & Trumpeter swans. Jonathan also showed us beautiful views and took a Christmas card photo of us in front of the Moulton Barn, which I had blown up and framed.

Of course we once again booked with Grizzly on our recent trip from May 21-28, 2014. We met Chris for the full day tour and were pleased to learn we had him all to ourselves. We had a great "private" tour and logged many animals including Momma Grizzly #399 & her two cubs, buffalo and baby-buffs, a multiple bull elk with a great set of all-new antlers (already), prong-horn (no horns)(a.k.a. speed goats), swans, ground squirrels (a.k.a. chislers), chipmunk-looking animals (forgot the name), and even an elk carcass that was neat to see- cycle of life.

While the great weather made the tour even more enjoyable, our guide Chris was prompt, knowledgeable, and all-around easy going. He was a pleasure to talk to and despite our mild objections to be in our own photos he really got some great shots of us, especially at Oxbow Turnout and in front of the multiple waterfalls in Yellowstone. Our photos really made the trip much more memorable and I an thankful that we have them. I also wanted to mention the geo-thermal features and Chris picked the best ones to see including Old Faithful. He knew we wanted to see animals first and foremost, but he managed the timetable and attractions and we had an awesome set of photos by the end of the day. We had breakfast snacks in town, lunch at Yellowstone Lodge, and were treated to snacks and drinks in the tour vehicle.

We also booked a 1/2 day sunrise tour and met Howard. Once again we, in effect, had a private tour. It was the "shoulder season," but the weather was perfect (lows 40, highs 70s). We had absolutely no rain and spotted a prong-horn carcass that had been possibly attacked by a mountain lion due to the nature of the bite/kill wounds. We tracked an elk carcass felled by a wolf a few nights before and watched an eagle picking a carcass along with a large raven (crow). We spotted an osprey, blue bird, big-horn sheep, swans, pelicans, and even visited a beaver home.

Each guide had honest recommendations for other activities in and out of town and were most helpful. Binoculars, spotting scope and other equipment were provided for our use and we even enjoyed trying to determine which animals were nearby after examining their prints and scat! We learned so much we confidently used our knowledge to strike out on our own around the Park.

We could not have enjoyed our own self-guided tour had we not learned what we did from our tours with Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures. This is what you need a professional for. After seeing winter and summer, we can't wait to come back in the fall and we will book again with Grizzly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
“Spectacular!!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

By far the best experience my partner and I could've asked for! Our guide, Jonathan, was extremely knowledgable and helped us check off some bucket list items, like seeing a grizzly bear! Jonathan informed us that the bear we saw was a subadult grizzly. The day started with two different couples but by the end of the day we seemed like one big happy family, it was great! I highly recommend Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures if you are planning a trip to Jackson Hole, you will not regret your decision. We are trying to plan another trip to Jackson and plan to book a scenic float with Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures. =)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent day!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Spent the morning with Jeff looking for bison, antelope, bears, and whatever else we could see. No bears but great tour none the less! Thanks Jeff, for a great day in the wild!

Helpful?
Thank JayneticMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Grizzly Country Wildlife Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing