We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Patio view is sweet!!!”
Review of The Bird

The Bird
Reserve with OpenTable
The Bird is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 144 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located South of Town Square. The Bird provides one of the most fantastic views in the greater Teton Valley, with panoramic mountain vistas offering a brilliant sunset. A favorite watering hole of local legend Colonel Angus, it is a neighborhood pub atmosphere with rustic wood interior. Great for all but beware, the late-night scene can get quite rowdy and may not be suitable for families with young children.The Bird prides itself in offering a unique "local" experience whilst offering great cuisine. Not the place to be pandered to but if you wish to let loose, eat right, and escape the standard tourist trap come on in!
Star Valley Ranch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Patio view is sweet!!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Love the wings and turkey tueben. Service is consistently good. Live in Star Valley and it is my favorite on the way home stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank realredwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    149
    51
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denham Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
792 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Best meal and bar in Jackson”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

As we were leaving town, we came across this place (it was recommended) - SO GLAD we were able to make it. Quite worth the stop. Big menu and cold beer, excellent! View is great and staff is very friendly. Food is very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LSUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curlycue
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“No hostess, no seats...”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

OK - so last week my son and I decide to check out The Bird. While I'm sure the hamburgers are great, the hospitality is not. It was a rainy day so the deck was not an option. We walked in and every table and bar stool was taken. There were a few people awkwardly hanging around, hoping to see a waiter or someone to take names and get people seat - no one was there at all. There is not even a hostess table so I guess we were supposed to scramble around and try to tackle a seat. My son and I looked at each other and agreed that The Bird was, the pits and we left to go downtown to a friendly place with seats, hosts and a welcoming attitude.

I get it that this is a local place for young people to hang out but even in most dive bars, someone will look at you, acknowledge you, and welcome you. Not so at The Bird. As well, I read the diatribe on the menu lecturing customers on how to behave, eat a hamburger and what things they better not do. I found it offensive, and once again, condescending to the customer. I'm quite happy to eat burgers at Local, Trio and Kitchen - all delicious and in warm lively atmospheres. By the way, I am not a tourist, I live in Jackson -

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank curlycue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food, location, staff and views!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The burgers were fabulous, as were the fries. The schnitzel was also really good. The staff were all very welcoming, friendly, and service was great. Honestly, at first, I wasn't really sure about this place, but I am really glad we stopped in. The other impressive thing was that one of the burgers wasn't supposed to have onions - it came with onions. They apoligzed, took it back and made a fresh burger - no charge for the meal. I haven't had that happen in a long time. Excellent place to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cam64basur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Intersting location, amazing food!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I would have never guessed that there was a restaurant in the building where The Bird is located. We heard about the place online and wanted to try their Schnitzel - we could not believe how HUGE it was! Not only was it cooked perfectly, the crust was delicious as well. My husband was impressed with their beer selection and loved some of their German beers. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinMuellenborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bird also viewed

 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing