We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot with a view”
Review of The Bird

The Bird
Ranked #21 of 146 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Located South of Town Square. The Bird provides one of the most fantastic views in the greater Teton Valley, with panoramic mountain vistas offering a brilliant sunset. A favorite watering hole of local legend Colonel Angus, it is a neighborhood pub atmosphere with rustic wood interior. Great for all but beware, the late-night scene can get quite rowdy and may not be suitable for families with young children.The Bird prides itself in offering a unique "local" experience whilst offering great cuisine. Not the place to be pandered to but if you wish to let loose, eat right, and escape the standard tourist trap come on in!
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great spot with a view”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a great little spot off the beaten path south of Jackson a few miles - while we were on a trip with our family, our kids wanted to stay back at the hotel and eat pizza, watch movies after several nights in Yellowstone without so my wife and I decided to head here. Never one to miss a chance at a great draft beer selection and good bar food this place does not disappoint. As a father I kind of appreciated the direct approach in the menu of making clear that this place is not a family restaurant (though they don't mind families - and we did see a few there). The food was great - burgers were solid though there are some other good options as well and they do have a pretty cool beer selection, albeit pretty heavy on the German beers. The back deck is a nice place to enjoy your meal though the sun, especially close to sunset, can get a little tough. The service was friendly - seemingly a cooperative effort as the server we started with was not the one who brought our check, but overall it was seemless, good value for the money and a fun dinner. Definitely would recommend - though if you have young children, may be worth considering elsewhere (read the menu first - I laughed while I read it because I can certainly appreciate it).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    153
    54
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Bird”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I ate here after the Jackson Hole Shooting Experience (which is right up the road). It was a gorgeous day so we sat outside. The view was amazing, the service was great, they had several different German beers to try. I had the Texan burger with the fried egg. The bun was a biscuit, which was different but very tasty! Very laid back place as you will pick up quickly when you read the menu! Great afternoon lunch!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good value, in comfortable atmosphere, without all the frills.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hamburgers are the best. Lots of different choices. The fries are good. Wings are also very good. The prices are reasonable ($9 for small burger and a few dollars more for larger size ). Good beer selection. Nice view from the back, as long as you look straight ahead. Nice place for families.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWoldIsNotEnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best deals in Jackson!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went here during our annual man week ski trip. This was the perfect place. They had daily specials and a variety of beers. The menu had quirky statements trying to discourage patrons from committing the cardinal sin of eating well done meats. The Bird had a variety of wing sauces, and just to warn you, the "medium" ones had me breathing like a dragon. The special of the day was Schnitzel. When it came out, it was so big it didn't fit on the giant plate. None of us could finish. For the chuggers, you can take the Boot challenge in which you have about 5 minutes to drink about 5 pints out of a boot. We witnessed a close call, but ultimately the boot won. They play German Oktoberfest music during the challenge and everyone was cheering. Really fun place with awesome food and lots of beers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Friendly service, irreverent menu, good selection of beers, though I wish they had had more local ones. I had heard that the veggie burger was excellent and it was, but I wish it had had some kind of sauce. Appreciated the pool table and the fantastic views from the patio.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulianaQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bird also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing