We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beer selection in addition to great burgers”
Review of The Bird

The Bird
Ranked #21 of 145 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Located South of Town Square. The Bird provides one of the most fantastic views in the greater Teton Valley, with panoramic mountain vistas offering a brilliant sunset. A favorite watering hole of local legend Colonel Angus, it is a neighborhood pub atmosphere with rustic wood interior. Great for all but beware, the late-night scene can get quite rowdy and may not be suitable for families with young children.The Bird prides itself in offering a unique "local" experience whilst offering great cuisine. Not the place to be pandered to but if you wish to let loose, eat right, and escape the standard tourist trap come on in!
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Nice beer selection in addition to great burgers”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were happy to see a nice selection of German beers here we have a difficult time finding anywhere else in addition to some fine local beers. Our burgers hit the spot and service was there when we needed it (empty glass lol). We watched a gorgeous sunset here and would come back when in Jackson.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndiS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    152
    52
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindstrom, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“3rd visit, still, love this place”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Came here again. Beautiful afternoon, sat on the deck. Great view!!! Good service by people who are not stuck up. Burgers are good because the meat is good and fresh. Good beer selection.

Helpful?
1 Thank Innga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“If You Equate "Excess" with Quality...”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

...you'll like this place. The burgers themselves are really no better than Five Guys, Smash, or the other "gourmet burger" chains. They just pile on tons of dressing and other ingredients. The buns are weird, thin, tasteless English muffin-like things. Fries are a little above average. Great deck for outdoor dining, if it's nice out, at least. They pile on attitude, too. The menu kind of warns you that service will be bad. It's correct. And like everything Jackson, stunningly overpriced....$15.95 for a burger.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcolius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Burgers Ever!!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family decided that this might be our favorite place to eat in Jackson. The burgers are incredible - and I usually don't even like burgers! Wings and sandwiches,too, but the burger are the reason to seek this place out - so many choices and all of them good. This was one of my favorite meals on our New Years ski trip.

The Bird is a few miles south of the main part of town, but it's really worth the drive. The menu is very entertaining and really sets the tone - this is a great local bar/restaurant with a fun loving and friendly staff. No kids menu, but kids are welcome - although this is definitely a neighborhood bar. Expect pool tables, amazing food, loads of local beer on tap, lots of locals stopping in to meet up with friends. Very cool place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family tried this place last week... my husband and I got burgers and my son tried the wings. All food was really good.. I thought my burger was a little underdone for medium well but it still tasted good. My son enjoyed his wings. The parking was inconvenient, most spots are marked indicating you have to have a permit so we ended up parking alongside a dirt hill. Also, no hostess, you just seat yourself..which was a little odd. The deck was closed due to rain so I am sorry we didnt get to sit out there for our meal!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alilspunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bird also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing