We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous scenery”
Review of Spring Creek Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spring Creek Ranch
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We returned to SCR 30 years after our previous visit when it was newly built. We stayed in the Inn rooms, the 4 unit hotel cabins (there is really no hotel except for the Amangani which is not a SCR property). Our upper level unit 2207 was located cliffside with the spectacular view of the Grand Tetons (when they weren’t clouded over). Our balcony overlooking the valley below could intimidate someone with a fear of heights.

We arrived by car very early at 2:30, not realizing check-in was at 4:00. After going unnoticed in the lobby for quite a while, we were finally assisted by Kathryn. There was no problem being so early, and just for asking she made an extra effort to obtain the room with the view. It was good to arrive in daylight to find our way around the property.

The room was a bit of a walk from our parking lot on sometimes icy paths (if you can find it, there is a cart along the path to haul luggage.) The Granary restaurant was a short walk. We started our stay with drinks and a snack in the bar, where we met Ben, the bartender and also our waiter that night for dinner. He even gave us some helpful alternative dining recommendations.

It’s true the room has probably had few updates since we were there in 1984. Fixtures and décor are worn and dated, and could use some basic repairs like a loose towel rack and shower rod. The big stone woodburning fireplace was a nice amenity (although even with the flue open, the smoke set off the detector for several minutes until we aired out the room and smoke found its way up the chimney.) The room was spacious, but the bathroom/closet/mini “kitchen” was tight. Our king size bed was not that comfortable, and a comforter would be an improvement over a heavy brown bedspread. We stayed 4 nights, and it took that long to get the hang of adjusting the heater control for a good sleeping temperature.

If you can’t tolerate a little inconvenience and rustic feel, you might not appreciate SCR, but you’ll miss out on some awesome views.

I rate based on value for price, which varies by season. With our online Travelzoo deal in winter we basically paid $600 for 4 nights, with a total of $150 in property vouchers. The view gets a 5/5 rating, and I downgrade to overall 4/5 just because it isn’t in top condition, but good value for our price. I hope to come back again before 30 years.

Tip for skiers: check into shuttle service to Teton Village. It’s convenient and saves parking fee.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JorieLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    142
    82
    35
    20
See reviews for
198
237
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at Spring Creek Ranch. It is a really nice comfortable place to stay with fireplaces in each room. We had a beautiful view of the valley below this time and things were really wonderful. Each time we have stayed, we had a downstairs room in a 4-room cabin. Next time we may try to get an upstairs room only because of loud neighbors returning with ski boots stomping on their floor/our ceiling. The bar and restaurant, Granary, was excellent with very friendly service and delicious food. We had the breakfast package with free breakfast each day - nice selection of breakfast items to get you ready for a good day of skiing. They kept the road well plowed and sanded which really helped us get up to the Ranch since we brought our front wheel drive car. We will definitely return again soon. Thanks Spring Creek Ranch!

Room Tip: Rooms on West side over the canyon have a great view; upstairs rooms would be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Spacious, newly remodeled condominium (choate) on the rim of a butte with unobstructed views of the Tetons, abundant firewood to keep a cozy fire roaring, wildlife sporadically meandering through the yard (or taking a nap on the porch), an excellent restaurant, the Granary, a short walk away, a nicely equipped gym to work off the delicious food, shuttles available to transport to/from town and the ski resort, and friendly and efficient staff doing everything possible to make your stay enjoyable...what more could you ask for? We have stayed at SCR many times but this time we treated ourselves and stayed a little over a month. Hated to leave and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

First trip to Jackson Wyoming and what a gorgeous surprise from our hotel window. A beautiful view of the Tetons Mountains. We chose a unit with a kitchen and washer dryer since we were there to ski. The ski mountain is about a 20 minute drive and the town with shops and restaurants is about 10 minutes. We chose to rent a car but the hotel does have shuttle service.
Our unit had the typical western decor and was very clean. There was a cleaning service that came to clean every day but we never saw them. They did a perfect job of keeping everything clean.
We had a wood burning fireplace but we did not use it. There was amble wood outside for our use.
The concierge was very friendly and helpful. We borrowed some of their snowshoes one day to go snowshoeing and they also helped us to ship out some gifts from their gift shop.
We ate at their Granery restaurant on Friday night because they have live Jazz on Fridays. No reservations are taken so you need to show up early to get a good table since it is a small place. The Jazz was incredible.
They have a nice gym inside the reception building with enough cardio machines and weights although we did not use it because we chose to snowshoe and ski instead.
Our friends were on the breakfast plan and we joined them one morning to see the gorgeous views from the restaurant windows. Breathtaking.
They have a spa where you can get a massage
This place seems to have resident elk which we saw basking in the sun daily and we were told that the elk are protected so they seemed like a relaxed bunch.
We had great wi-fi in our unit and it was also very quiet since we were so far away from any main roads.
We would and will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Ok first, yes, the rooms aren't super polished and are a little dated--we had some crumbling grout in the bathroom, etc. But it was spotlessly clean, and large. Loved the fireplace and THE VIEW. So gorgeous. Loved seeing elk from the room. Staff was super friendly, especially the concierge and most of the shuttle drivers (we didn't rent a car and found it easy to use the shuttles to get to/from skiing at teton village and to/from town of Jackson). The restaurant was delicious--if you get breakfast included, do it--so yummy! And the servers were all incredibly friendly and interesting. Also nice to have the amangani right on the same property, so you can drool over the lobby and think about how, even if their rooms are nicer, you're paying about $1k less a night for the same view! Was nice to have drinks and dinner over there, though--beautiful space. We booked a snowshoe hike with the naturalist, which was great, and did the winter wildlife safari (saw big horn sheep, moose, did sleigh ride through elk preserve). Wonderful to have these options. All in all, I'd definitely choose SCR again, even now having seen what's on offer at Teton Village and in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebwbikegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our week stay at SCR! Stayed in a 1 bdrm condo complete w full kitchen and fireplace! Comfy furniture! Beautiful views of Tetons! Granary restaurant served delicious food and provided great service! Front desk staff and concierge (Cindy) were very helpful and provided excellent service! Cindy made arrangements for all our activities - winter wildlife safari, snowmobiling and a trip to Yellowstone - all were excellent! Dress for the weather if you go in winter - layers and waterproof boots! Highly recommend SCR!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pattylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

The place is very nice! The service is on a great level. And of course the view over the Teton mountains which words can't express! We stayed in a one bedroom separate house, with the magnificent view, chimney inside the room, wood provided. The bad was soft and comfy.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.2 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
2.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.4 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
6.5 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Creek Ranch

Property: Spring Creek Ranch
Address: 1800 N Spirit Dance Rd, Jackson, WY 83001-8096
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#6 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#12 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Creek Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Creek Ranch is located on a wildlife sanctuary almost 1,000 feet above the town of Jackson and has the most spectacular views of the Teton Mountain Range, including the world famous 13,700-foot Grand Teton. Our luxury resort gives guests the choice of Inn Rooms, Condominiums, or Mountain Villas to provide the right accommodations to suit your needs. Whether exploring Grand Teton or Yellowstone National Parks, or testing your skill on the Snake River Fly Fishing, White Water Rafting, or many other countless recreational opportunities, Spring Creek Ranch is a destination luxury resort for any type of guest. Enjoy the western cuisine at the DiRoNA award-winning Granary Restaurant with floor to ceiling windows to view the sunrise or sunset over the Grand Teton. Disconnect from the outside world and rejuvenate at the Wilderness Adventure Spa with a High Altitude Hot Stone Heaven Massage. Spring Creek resort is the proud recipient of the prestigious Conde' Nast Traveler Gold List designation. We pride ourselves on our tradition of integrity, innovation and our ability to provide services that exceed expectations. Spring Creek Ranch is described as "luxury with rustic flair surrounds guests in authentic cowboy country," according to the Robb Report of the Top Ten Family and Corporate Retreats in October 2004. "Panoramic views of the Teton Mountains, verdant wild flower meadows and endless blue skies quiet the mind and enable us to live in the moment." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spring Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Creek Ranch Hotel Jackson
Spring Creek Hotel
Spring Creek Resort
Spring Creek Ranch Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing