We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views, but disgusting, dirty and not remotely family friendly room(s).”
Review of Spring Creek Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spring Creek Ranch
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Spring Creek Ranch: July 24-29 2 BR unit 3203 (2nd Fl)
Incredible views with friendly staff, but room itself was dirty, dangerous, and very uncomfortable so I wouldn't recommend the hotel or room 3203. Perhaps other units may be nicer?
The positives first:

1. Friendly and helpful concierge (Deb). Deb patiently went over excursions and activities that could be booked by the hotel; she also cancelled an activity after we decided to use another organization.

2. Beautiful scenery. We were on 2nd floor and had a great view of the Tetons mountains and valley from the room.

3. Room was a quick 5 minute walk (up hill) from reception/main lobby.

4. Heated pool.

5. Good food at the Granary restaurant; it also had incredible views.

The negatives:

1. Run down unit. I expect a ski area hotel/condo to be a little rough around the edges with some wear, but for about $500 a night it should be clean, comfortable, and no glaring problems: unfortunately none of those three criteria were met.
a. Carpet in master suite was stained every where (soda or beer explosions) and made it look like a frat house donated their old carpet. It was strange because the carpet on the stairs up to the unit was new and far cleaner (perhaps it is considered a common area and covered by the Condo association?)
b. Comforter and fake fur throw on master bed both had bodily fluid stains on them. Since we arrived late in the evening I hand washed a portion of the comforter and took it off the bed for the rest of our trip and placed the throw in the washer and drier. Motel 6 and other cheap motels/hotels have figured out the need to wash/replace comforters or at least inspect them to ensure they are not soiled, so this hotels' failure to do so is inexcusable.
c. Transition area from master to bathroom had an eight inch by one inch gash of carpet missing leaving the exposed and rough/chewed section of the plywood sub flooring exposed. We placed a towel over this area so no one would step on the area and get splinters or cut their feet (we did advise the on site manager of these problems the first night we got there and he said he would let the owners know, but offered no assistance. I take it the hotel management does not deal w/ condo owners' rentals or attempt to resolve any of these problems?)
d. Room 3203, a second floor suite, was very hot in the 80 degree days and even during the 50 degree nights. There is no AC, and even opening the sliding door and windows located on the opposite sides of the suite there was no cross breeze to cool us down. On the last day we did discover 2 fans in the closet of the smaller bedroom.
e. Master bed mattress was very uncomfortable even with the 1" eggshell foam top put on it. I was in the military and have traveled a lot and this bed was one of the few I felt was really uncomfortable.
f. Mini fridge was under the bathroom sink but it was very loud and generated a ton of heat and noise. So much heat that it didn't seem safe to close the counter doors around it so we just squeezed by the opened doors when trying to move in bathroom or enter/exit it.
g. It is not really a family friendly room or really a suite at all since there are no tables for eating on, and there is only one bathroom and toilet. Having a half bath for the smaller bedroom and a small table in the master bedroom would have been great. If it is a "condo" then set it up as such: w/ a refrigerator, oven or at least a microwave, small pantry, table to eat on, etc! If it is a hotel then make sure it is very clean, things work, etc! Neither requirements were met.

2. Granary restaurant was expensive for portion size and quality (a few times food ordered was not made as requested: eggs made with cheese when requested without, elk was very well done rather than medium, etc. but they did replace orders quickly and offered a free drink).

3. Pool was used by kids eating giant plate sized chocolate chip cookies in the pool and dropping large chunks in it. I don't need a life guard for my family's safety, but someone occasionally supervising the pool would be nice especially when there are 10 kids all under the age of 12 getting wild and using it as their personal dining hall. There was an employee in the little shack directly in front of the pool, but that person took food/drink orders and said nothing to the kids.

Bottom line is that I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone because of the disgusting and dangerous room conditions. The two things that stand out for the Ranch are the views and the Granary restaurant: both of which are readily available in Jackson if you stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't reserve/book a room w/o first getting confirmation on the condition of the very unit you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MerkUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We came to Spring Creek Ranch for the views, which were unfortunately spoiled by the poor weather we encountered during our stay here. That is a gamble that you take if you choose to book here. On clear days the views will take your breath away.

The property is well situated, but needs updating. The outdoor pool area is ugly and uninviting, particularly when compared to the incredible pool at the Amangani, which is adjacent to SCR.

Service was great and we enjoyed having breakfast at the Granary. The condo we stayed in met our needs but had a tired, outdated decor. I expected a lot more for the amount of money we paid to stay there.

Room Tip: Request a unit with unobstructed views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BillDFarmingdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Last September my family and I stayed in a condo here with a lovely view from the deck. In the early morning it was particularly stunning. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We also enjoyed the restaurant. Such good food!

Future guests may want to be aware that the Murphy bed frame, such as we had, was heavy metal and stuck out along three sides of the bed. Whoever made the bed prior to our arrival put the Murphy bed down, threw a white sheet on the mattress, and covered up the bed frame with the sheet. Beward to a future guest! A broken toe may result. It happened to me the first night within one hour, because I did not see the frame underneath the sheet. While management at the time said this type of accdent is very, very rare, my husband encountered another woman on the property the next day or two, and she had also broken her toe on her Murphy bed frame!

In addition, the lighting at the front door was dim. A maintenance man came one evening after dark to fix the shower. While he was leaving, my husband said he fell off the front porch because of inadequate lighting. This gentleman said he was going to report the issue to management.

After we returned home from our trip, I wrote a letter to the manager of the resort to explain what had happened. I never received a response. "Deep-sixed", I suppose. My sister, who was staying with us for a couple of nights, has many years of experience as a safety manager, and even she was not impressed with the safety hazards at just our condo.

Aside from the safety problems, I would otherwise recommend this resort. The views are just beautiful, the area can be relaxing, and the wildlife is a plus. Just wear steel-toed boots and bring a floodlight!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginni16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

While our memories of past experiences at this hotel are positive, this stay indicates a sharp decline in concern for customer service. The check in procedure was a disaster with feeble excuses ("understaffed") for the long delay. Then our rooms were not what we believed we requested. We did not want shared baths but that's what we got. We did not want a murphy bed in the dining area but that's what we got. We did not want a very small kitchen but that's what we got. We did not want to go downstairs at night to use the bathroom but that's what we had to do. Two lights were out in our rooms, housekeeping failed to pick up the trash,the door key didn't work well, and the internet service was very weak. Management has not responded to our requests for either a discount or relocation to the rooms we thought we booked. They're good at saying "I'm sorry," but short on resolution. All four couples in our group will not stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for specific floor plans for room you are booking. Don't count on wifi working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

a beautiful setting high atop with wonderful views of the mountains. Very peaceful and surreal rooms are well appointed and very. Wildlife is abundant, we were 10 feet from moose. nice amenities however the check at the restaurant needs updated.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coast2Coasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The view, the view, the view. I could hardly take my eyes off it to enjoy the rest of the facility! The fabulous view was only equaled by the welcoming staff. Every person we met (from check-in, to maids, to waiters) made it there business to make sure we were tended to and happy. Our room was cozy with its own stone fireplace, terry cloth robes and covered deck. Many extra excursions available from travels with the staff naturalist to horseback riding and cook outs. Check their web page. Love this place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9191traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This review applies to room #3166. As the rooms are privately owned the quality and finish of the room you get is largely determined by the willingness (or otherwise) of the owner to invest in its upkeep.
Unfortunately we lucked out. This room was old and tired with appliances and fittings that were at least 20 years old - if not older. The carpet was worn, the bathroom ancient and the kitchen straight from the 60's. On top of that the bed was uncomfortable and I shudder to think how long the mattress has been in use. As this room is on the lower level you can also hear every step taken by the people in the room above.
What makes it worse is when you check-in at the modern reception area it raises your expectations then you enter the room and the disappointment is hard to get over.
I would not stay at this property again unless I was assured the room being allocated had been updated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyTraveller356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.2 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
1.4 mi away
Rusty Parrot Lodge and Spa
6.5 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jackson
Hotel Jackson
#3 of 40 in Jackson
587 reviews
6.6 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
716 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Creek Ranch

Address: 1600 N East Butte Rd, Jackson, WY 83001
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#5 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#12 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range: £107 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Creek Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Creek Ranch is located on a wildlife sanctuary almost 1,000 feet above the town of Jackson and has the most spectacular views of the Teton Mountain Range, including the world famous 13,700-foot Grand Teton. Our resort gives guests the choice of Inn Rooms, Studios with Kitchens, Two Room Suites, Townhomes or Mountain Villas to provide the right accommodations to suit your needs. Whether exploring Grand Teton or Yellowstone National Parks or testing your skill on the Snake River Fly Fishing, White Water Rafting, or many other countless recreational opportunities, Spring Creek Ranch is a destination resort for any type of guest. Enjoy the western cuisine at the DiRoNA award-winning Granary Restaurant with floor to ceiling windows to view the sunrise or sunset over the Grand Teton. Disconnect from the outside world and rejuvenate at the Wilderness Adventure Spa with a High Altitude Hot Stone Heaven Massage. Spring Creek Ranch is the proud recipient of the prestigious Conde' Nast Traveler Gold List designation. We pride ourselves on our tradition of integrity, innovation and our ability to provide services that exceed expectations. Spring Creek Ranch is described as "luxury with rustic flair surrounds guests in authentic cowboy country," according to the Robb Report of the Top Ten Family and Corporate Retreats in October 2004. "Panoramic views of the Teton Mountains, verdant wild flower meadows and endless blue skies quiet the mind and enable us to live in the moment." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Spring Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Creek Ranch Hotel Jackson
Spring Creek Hotel
Spring Creek Resort
Spring Creek Ranch Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing