We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pony Express Motel
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here over night, but would have been comfortable for a week. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Good location, nice pool and good laundry facilities. Cute little yard area with picnic tables and swing. Very close to stores and resturants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allipisula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    166
    56
    16
    16
See reviews for
158
201
28
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Robinson, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

When visiting Jackson during the peak summer season, I expected to pay well over $200 a night, but we found the Pony Express and lucked out to get a room for two nights in a row about 6 weeks before we traveled! It was clean, quiet and had everything we needed. We BBQued on their grills and swam in the pool while visiting the sights around Jackson. It was exactly what we expected except the price! We were pleasantly surprised by that!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
181 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

From the airport, you have to drive through the town of Jackson to get to the Pony Express, It's located at the intersection where you turn off to go to Teton Village. This intersection also has an Albertson grocery store, so is convenient if you plan to stay several days and buy your own food. The rooms come with a mini fridge and a microwave. The rooms are clean and while there is no hairdryer in the room, they will loan you one. The bed and bedding are very nice. It's definitely a "motel" dated from the 60s, but it's a good location for both the town of Jackson and the Teton Village area. It's a good value if you can't afford a nice hotel in Teton Village.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Accommodation is expensive in Jackson, and taking this into account I think the Pony Express offers good value for this area.

The rooms were clean, comfortable and very well equipped. We had a full sized cooker and fridge, and plenty of crockery and cutlery. Although I washed dishes every day housekeeping very kindly put them all away for us. I also accidentally broke a wine glass but when I told Clint while checking out he dismissed my concerns with the words "don't worry, accidents happen"

The pool area was a particular favourite of ours at this motel. Comfortable pool furniture to relax, a clean pool just at the right temperature to be able to cool off, and such lovely cared for grounds.

There is a huge Albertson's supermarket just across the road, and when we arrived I walked across to stock up with bread, butter, cheese etc. so we were able to eat breakfast in our own kitchen. Rather nice to be able to sit at the breakfast bar eating toast in my dressing gown rather than having to go out to eat.

There is also a bar called Cutty's just a few minutes walk from the motel, very safe to cross the road as there is a pedestrian crossing. Here we ate very good pizza and Philly cheesesteaks sitting on the outside decking area, and also enjoyed a few beers sitting at the bar chatting to the very personable bar staff. This is a real bonus for the motel, especially for people with children who may not want to go into town, having somewhere to eat and drink so close to their front door.

I only have one issue, otherwise I would have given the Pony Express 5*, and that's the wi-fi. As we were on a road trip from the UK a wi-fi connection is a must as it allows us to easily keep in touch with friends and family (they like to know that we've safely travelled from one place to another) and the only time I could get any type of service in our room was very late at night (after midnight). I also went and tried sitting outside the office, and although I could get a signal, it wasn't real strong enough to be usable. Luckily we did manage to pick up someone's unsecured connection while in Cutty's Bar. However. that is my only complaint, and to some people it wouldn't matter anyway.

All in all we had a lovely stay and really enjoyed our time in the Pony Express

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We found this to be a nice decent basic place to stay. Nice friendly staff. If you rather not be in the middle of everything, you'll value the location. We did not find outside traffic noise to be an issue (maybe because we had the air conditioner turned on?). The room was nice. The kitchen with full size fridge - a big plus. Bathroom was decent as well. The only thing missing was a closet. Instead there were some pegs on the wall. The only other somewhat bothersome thing was that there seemed to have been some kind of plastic covering over the mattress that made an otherwise comfortable bed somewhat less so. But overall, not a bad place to stay. We would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodchopper48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironton, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I spent 4 days in July vacationing in Jackson, WY. It is a beautiful place. The morning air was crisp and the afternoon hot with no humidity. The sta yat the Pony Express was nice. I thought the pool was supposed to be heated but it wasn't. I had a queen bed that was comfortable and a full size furnished kitchen. The room lacked and iron and ironing board. The cable tv was good. House keeping was wonderful. They even did my dishes. I felt safe. Getting in and out of the place can be difficult because of traffic. I thought it was a little pricey but I suspect every place is. If I return to Jackson I will try a different place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprunner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I took 7 days trip in GTNP & YSNP in early Jul, Pony Express is my choice in Jackson, I stayed 2 days for GTNP visit, then another night after YSNP trip, as I have to take my early flight from JacksonHole airport. We got warmly welcome, good room setup and upstair location as I required, also great staff's help to arrange the taxi for the early flight. The staff are nice and ready to help, my kid is happy with his stair bed, good sleep. Frankly speaking, it's much better than the high priced BestWest hotel in west Yellowstone.

Room Tip: If you have a big & heavy luggage, you'd better stay at the ground floor, no elavtor for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lliu8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jackson hotels
2.6 mi away
Elk Refuge Inn
Elk Refuge Inn
#26 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#18 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#8 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
1.0 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#30 of 41 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Property: Pony Express Motel
Address: 1075 W Broadway Ave, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001-8650
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing